Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Demonicron

by Rothens - Jam Entry

My idea was about a Demon Lord, that the player controls. He has necromancers, demons, vampires, zombies and other nasty creatures. They live in a Demonic Plane, but they managed to open portals to the Human Plane.
Your task'd be to retrieve the Demonicron from the biggest city of the human world, so you can summon your demons without any resources. But the humans doesn't want this, so they send their mages, priests, demon hunters against you. Since you don't have Demonicron yet, you need resources. You need blood, soul and bodies (the body'd be the 'army limit' like in other games but.. hey, demons doesn't build cottages, do they?), and you need that from the poor humans. But if the humans manage to destroy your necropolis, you'll lose your power, so beware!

So this was my original idea. I've written the whole thing from scratch without using any library. I've really put many effort into this project, but I still only got around 2 days. And I'm not a very good in arts, so I messed most of my time for drawing that chess-piece-lookalike-necropolis.

A friend of mine, HavocS helped me, he made some real cool music. Sadly I didn't have the time to include it, but I'll finish this game later, I loved this project so much.

Anyway, here are the things I've managed:
- Procedural generated maps, with height information and minimaps (they are created as png files in the jar's folder)
- Placeable buildings (only the necropolis and the portal had graphics, so I only put them in the final jar)
- defineable collision area for the buildings
- two planes (you can switch with the TAB key)
- Selectable building with health (you can cause some damage to them with the backspace)
- Starcraft like 'damage-indicator' images for the selected building. (The hue changes from green to red based on the damage)
- Onscreen messages (if you try to build without sufficient resources, or put the building on an occupied tile)
- Animated tiles (like the water and the lava)
- I also made saturation change to the tiles, based on the distance from the water/lava, but I turned it off for performance issues. Maybe I'll fix that later.
- Command panel on the right.
- The portal will be checked against both dimensions before place. (You can try that out by going to the human plane with TAB, then press N, and try to place the portal on the spot of the necropolis) This is because the portal will be on both of the planes.

Controls:
ESC/Right click - Undo the building option
Left click - Selects/deselects building || builds the selected building
Tab - switches planes
Home - Jumps to the spawn necropolis, and select it
Backspace - deal 10 damage to the selected building
N - set portal as building option.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#538Theme(Jam)2.78
#580Humor(Jam)1.69
#644Audio(Jam)1.65
#649Innovation(Jam)2.46
#682Mood(Jam)2.27
#732Fun(Jam)2.16
#742Graphics(Jam)2.11
#755Overall(Jam)2.44

Comments

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:31am

Even though it's in a rough state, it has potential to be pretty cool and it sounds like you're going to keep working on it so Good Luck!

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:36am

@Cake&Code yes, I'm working on it right now too :) I want to make a 'post-compo' release. Thanks for your opinion. ^^

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47am

Really lovely to see ideas like this one. I love strategy games. I didn't see way to hover and get roll over with information about what each button does.

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:02am

@Tanser yeah, I've started that, but it's not finished, so I get it out :) I'll finish it later this afternoon, then I'll post a post-compo ^^

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40pm

I really like the idea! Continue working on it please!

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16pm

I didn't quite get it. But I liked the HUDs

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:13pm

love RTS :D

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29pm

As this game currently stands, I found it hardly playable (probably the fact that it lacks in-game instructions and I can't find my necropolis after a while have something to do with it), so I rated it rather harshly. Also, the graphics seemed a bit inconsistent; not to the extent of copy-pasting pictures from photos, cartoons and some pixel-art, but they didn't feel quite right, either. ^^"

That said, I wouldn't mind some good RTS while you would actually finish it. In the process you definitely should include some minimap so that players could easily navigate to different parts of the battleground, as well as find their structures. ^^"

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06pm

@Sunflower
I didn't have the time to add in-game instructions, so I only put them in the description :) You can also jump to the necropolis by using the home key. Speaking of the graphics: I am a programmer, and not very good in arts. :( Btw all of the graphics were made in GIMP from scratch :D
I'm on the way for finishing more things. :) Currently you only can view the minimaps near the jar file as png images, but I will add that to the game soon. :)

Knowledge says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

It is bad game for now, but it have big potential and it could be great game if you upgrade it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]