Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Universal Love

by sbarrio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Spread the love throughout te cosmos!

... or maybe just send some missiles and blast your neighbour!


In Universal Love you control a planet inside a solar system, where others planets like yours coexist. You can either send them love, which will boost up their vitality or you can crush them with missiles in order to destroy them.

But be careful, because they can do the same thing to you!

You need to receive love to grow stronger. The higher your health gauge goes the more love/missiles you will be able to send.

Other planets will react to your actions, if you love them they will probably love you back and if you attack them they will surely retaliate, so you have to plan your strategy carefully in order to achieve the stage goal.

- CONTROLS -

LEFT/RIGHT KEYS - choose attack/love and target.
SPACE KEY- confirm selection.
ESC KEY - cancel selection.




By the way, if you like this dont hesitate to visit my web page and to follow me on Twitter, thanks!

WEB: www.strandedsoft.com
TWITTER: @strandedsoft



P.S- Note to self, "add some awesome music".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#160Humor3.13
#228Fun3.47
#263Overall3.51
#360Innovation3.42
#451Mood3.11
#475Theme3.36
#494Graphics3.18
#636Audio2.56

Comments

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I love how love cancels missiles!

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Wow! I can just love everyone and everyone loves me!

But then two of them started a fight, but they still both love me... So how do i win? What are the winning conditions?

sbarrio says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Thanks!, I'm glad you are enjoying it :)

The winning conditions vary on the scenario. They appear on the top left corner of the screen right when the scenario begins.

For example, on Newb Nebula you must obtain full Health to win.
On BodyGuard Cluster you must protect Monen adn defeat WoodStoick 69 to win.

I don't have time now but I'll try to make the scenario objective more easy to see on future fixes.

Thanks a lot for your feedback!

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:50pm

GAH! Top left corner - found it. Think of the small screens :) I neither saw the objectives nor my own health bar, both outside my window...

sbarrio says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Yeah, I know. The desktop version runs at 640x480 by default, but I had to increase that a bit for the web version. Another fix to the list I guess :)

Thanks!

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54am

You can learn something from this game: The only winning move is to play. ;)
No... i mean: Love is stronger than war!

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54am

Great game !
I like the idea !
But, how can we level up ? I'm still blocked at level 2 >.>

sbarrio says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:37pm

You need to receive love to gain health. When your health is over a certain level your level will go up and so will the amount of hearts/missiles you will be able to fire at once :)

Also, if your health level drops your level will also go down!

elemel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I think this was pretty different and well executed. Nice work!

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Interesting idea... had fun playing it.

Esenti says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Great game! Gotta admit I've also missed the objectives info when playing for the first time.

draxov says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Love the political play this game encourages, I love the simple mechanic forming such an emergent gameplay of bluffing.

Dissapointed there was no end game, the newb nebula just kind of continued when I'd killed everything, so just had to quit. But still a great little game!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:07pm

This is an awesome game. Very fun, great idea, well executed. A little easy but I enjoyed it a lot.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Great themes. Great novelty. Great fun!

Shmarah says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:30pm

I got so addicted to this! Make love, not war!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:30pm

There was more strategy to it than I thought at first! I won the affection of my neighboring planets to fuel me a lifeline of hearts so that I could crush another planet. But then we both kinda sat there and he wouldn't love me or attack me.

Really neat game, cool use of the theme!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:39pm

On mission 3 I was able to win just by reaching Max. I didn't destroy the one planet yet.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Awesome game, nice graphics! I found it a bit too easy at the end (both planets are very close to victory and you can just wait until the other planet sends you love to win). Otherwise, great game.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:06am

Power of love. Loved the dog :P. I like the game, when sending love everything goes better. Nice...

Trilby says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:09am

I love the references.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:21am

Interesting take on the theme. Pretty sweet graphics, good fit with the sounds.

c023-dev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:07am

Bernte says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:13pm

This game is pretty nice. I love the visuals and the overall style. Fit's the theme very well :)

Shide says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:14pm

That one really cool idea. Got through every scenario and it was a lot of fun. I like how I can destroy missiles by love just coliding them, especially when they are on different routes. And I really wonder how did you get the idea to make a game about love in space

Skyfish says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:27pm

First game I have played to completion, because it was fun and functioned 100%. I love this simple concept with love vs rockets and the mentality in it, would be fun as a party game with people and AI in same game.

goerp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I made a game about love and planets and was curious if this was similar. I started without reading instructions and was pleasantly surprised.
I like how you the use of tacics is involved.
original game, this

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:15pm

I've been playing it for the last 15 minutes, a good game here. A sure way to win is to send love to all planets, get to level 3 and turn your enemy in an asteroid belt with x5 missiles. I would like to see a little more challenge here but it's a trivial matter of balance. Overall, a top entry, congrats on it.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:09pm

It got such an old schooly feel to it! Many interesting planets. So space. Wow.
Nice work! :D

MaesK says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Great idea! Reminds me of board games, when there is love at the beginning until people takes sides and missiles fly everywhere :D Good graphics and mechanic.

But those damned Metroids stopped giving love as soon as Corneria was lost. Then I couldn't win that scenario, which required complete love saturation.

sbarrio says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:04am

Sometimes the AI gets somewhat "stuck", sorry about that!. I'll try to fix it ASAP.

Glad you liked the game anyway! :)

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:30am

Interesting idea , I think you could develop it further, add more gameplay ,etc... I win by only sending love more or less at random I don't need to attack :D

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Buen trabajo! Love beats missiles. Nicely balanced mechanics, though when I achieved the goals set for my scenario nothing happened. Great job with HaxeFlixel, I though you were going to use Unity judging by what you wrote on the blog. Keep it up!

sbarrio says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Thanks a lot!, actually it's two of us writing on the blog and it's my partner who loves Unity. I only have eyes for HaxeFlixel <3

Which scenario did you have problems on?

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:12pm

The moral of this game seems to be love everyone, then stab them in the back when convenient. Very fun to play. :)

t4u says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Some times you get a kiss, sometimes you take missile to the face. It's great that such complex idea was exposed in such easy-to-understand game. It's nice that game provides 4 different scenarios - gives a clear target to the player.

Next time communists attack I will send those evil bastards 5 tons of love!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:36am

Nice concept. Woodstock was not very nice though :(

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:49pm

I really like the graphics, reminds me somehow of the game Megalomania. The game also has a nice strategic layer hiding beneath simple gameplay. Great entry :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]