Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Solar Collider

by Integershift - Jam Entry

Solar Collider : by @Integershift

In Solar Collider you control the sun and use the connected worlds orbiting around you to protect the sun.

Other planets and meteorites increase your planet's size and gain you score

Rockets decrease your planets size

Enjoy and put your high scores in the comments

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#189Humor(Jam)2.96
#295Fun(Jam)3.19
#327Theme(Jam)3.28
#393Innovation(Jam)3.00
#473Overall(Jam)3.09
#559Mood(Jam)2.77
#571Audio(Jam)2.34
#621Graphics(Jam)2.77

Comments

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:54am

Got to 78 and then died chasing after the space pizza guy, thinking he would give me bonus points or something. Cool little game, simple but effective.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:13am

Cool! 55 HS

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36am

132 :) Also, yay for space pizza!

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:58am

Its like asteroids except the planets are getting revenge on the solar system. Not really a fan of having to watch an ad to play your game though.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01am

Cool little game! I got to 50.

Integershift says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02am

Sorry about the ad maxium its a game jolt thing cant seem to remove it.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05am

Pretty good! I love the space pizza :P

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09am

Small, yet fun. I liked the idea since you took the jam's theme to the literal.
I liked that meteor shower part you added to spice up the game.
I just think it is a little weird that the Sun is defending itself with planets. Isn't the Sun stronger that the planets in real life?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04am

Played this on my stream. Cool game, it was satisfying to whack a lot of asteroids in one swing of the planets. Maybe that could be an angle to work with if you keep working on this?

Like, maybe making the movement of the sun affect the planet's orbit speed could make it even more satisfying to knock a lot of em out with a swing. THWACK

I think I reached 96 points.

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51am

Good game, I was playing it for about 10 minutes before I had to stop or else I would be playing it all day. Also, I got 72

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Space pizza!! :)

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Fun little game. I got 189. :D

A restart button would be nice. :)

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Got a measly 38. :(

I like the concept. It's well executed, and got the makings to be a very addictive game with some more polish and a bit more variation (the meteor shower is a great touch!). :)

Damnit, now I crave pizza. :D

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:22pm

addictive game :) super fun, but the sound was a bit repetitive.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:54am

great job, it was pretty fun to obliterate things, way to go :)

stoz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:24am

Decent concept, with a pretty good execution! The font at the outset was quite hard to read, though...

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:43am

Good work. I suppose I would make for a poor solar system, haha.

SoulGame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Good concept, it's a nice and original way to destroy asteroids. Your gameplay is fun but the realization is a bit cheap at the current time. The audio are not very good and the planets sprite are very low quality.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]