Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Marbles

by Lokarunith - Jam Entry

My second Ludum Dare
A story based game about a couple with a special connection.
There are 3 endings.

Arrow keys to move,
mouse to advance trough the dialogue

If you're having problms playing the web version, the desktop version should work fine.

- Game might not work well in firefox! -

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#111Mood(Jam)3.69
#223Theme(Jam)3.51
#325Innovation(Jam)3.14
#371Humor(Jam)2.44
#398Graphics(Jam)3.35
#544Audio(Jam)2.54
#550Overall(Jam)2.96
#743Fun(Jam)2.09

Comments

TideS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11pm

creepy

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12pm

WebGL crashed after the start screen!

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Really difficult to know what was going on.. Interesting story for the theme, but it could use a bit more game to be a game.. one time it was just text and then the menu came, the next time I moved a marble quickly then menu again.

enteagd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Interesting and unsettling take on the theme. The controls were a little unresponsive but the mood and atmosphere made up for that.

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I'm not sure if I saw everything. Had to restart few times, because at first after "click to start" I had a freeze, and at seconds try I started at one of the endings. On third try I had one clicking even before the ending, not sure if that was intended.
(Kontregate build, mac, chrome)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I got to see the menu, but the game lagged terribly and I couldn't really start at all; sorry. >.<

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Hi. Pretty weird story!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20pm

nice, very unsettling

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:11am

that was quite the experience! could have done with a bit of audio. but it already sets a mood. great theme implenmentation.

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Game lagged and crashed Firefox. :(

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Hi, sorry for the technicall problems, if you're having trouble playing in the web, please try the desktop version, it should work just fine.

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:11pm

I saw the various endings and had no technical problems.

I dig the surreal 3D models.

It is confusing when the controls switch from mouse to arrow keys... it didn't immediately register with me as a "platforming" level.

I enjoyed this, but it's pretty bare-bones in terms of gameplay... maybe a playable version of the marbles game described or something could've added more immersion.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:33pm

I like the extruding faces and crazy wireframes.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

Wow, this was pretty disturbing, like a weird art-school movie you watch in a museum. I appreciated that you did something experimental! Top marks for mood. I got all three endings. I felt confused about how to control the "kiss" part, but I found that clicking fast would take me to the "marble" storyline, so that was enough for me. :)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:16am

Lokarunith: I tried both Web and Windows versions, and both lagged to me to the point of Ctrl+Alt+Deleting it. Sorry, I've no idea what causes it. :<

LaFleur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Disturbingly wonderful! Great job!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:46am

Super weird game. Loved the art and the concept.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:22am

Crashes on me after the start screen. I'll try it again later :)

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Firefox crashed after start on kongregate :( Chrome worked but there was only a cinematic and no gameplay at all (apart of clicking to skip the dialogues), apart of that, creepy & interesting story :)

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:43pm

No problems playing the web version on chrome. The surreal and slightly disturbing graphics really helped to make the mood. Really interesting dialogue kept me hooked. Played all three endings :)

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Hehe, this was crazy. I like it! You get a few extra stars just for making something completely unlike the other games :)

I had trouble with it as well. The web version crashed Firefox and the downloaded windows version lagged a lot between scenes.

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Didnt really understand what was going on or what I was meant to be doing... good job on creating a creepy atmosphere though.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Weird...
I had problems in Web version.
The game is really different, with an intriguing story and plot.
The controls is difficult, and layout didn't help with understand the game.
But, good job!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:40am

Cool, but weird game. All in a good way of course :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:34pm

This one's the weirdest entry I've seen so far and it's awesome!

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Weird game and story, it felt a little laggy sometimes. Took a while before I saw the quick time event, maybe try and make those clearer?

Benjamin says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:33pm

nice arts, this is a very unique entry. I would like more interraction, but the storytelling is very good and counterbalance this.

banana4life says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Web version crashes safari and doesn't work for firefox and chrome too.
App for OS/X doesn't work either...

frogcheese says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Using Chrome on Macbook here, getting a WebGL crash on the web version at the fadeout after clicking start. The OS X version doesn't start up at all. : (

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:23am

This game freaked me out. I like the idea of having different paths to choose. I felt like you tried to do something 3D but didn't have enough time to finish it. The story is interesting, making me want to know more about it. Unexpected entry. Good job!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:57am

Web version crashes my browser after the start screen and the PC version is deemed as malicious by Chrome :/

Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:36pm

fantastic, often disturbing, atmosphere! your art style is unique and very powerful, and the music works great with it. interesting and thought-provoking entry.

and thanks again for playing and commenting!

cardboard says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:07pm

You have crafted a very unique game. The story/stories were interesting and the art style is superb.

fisholith says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:49am

Very cool interpretation of connected worlds.

I don't know if I happened to get all three endings in the perfect order, but it was really interesting that each one shed light on the imagery and themes from one of the previous endings.

The surreal and fractured imagery fits the theme and mood really nicely.

I was going to mention that I liked the dynamic main menu, and then when I went back to look at it again, I just realized what the menu was! :D

It's awesome that you worked so much hidden meaning into this. The backgrounds. The recurring motifs of certain objects. (Don't want to spoil anything.)

This is one of the most unique entries I've seen.
Keep up the good work. :)

Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:23pm

The game kept crashing for me for whatever reason. :/ I included it in part 27 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/DOSk1bi234E

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]