Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Final Novel

by @TeddyNashor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Basically this is a combination of Cookie Clicker, and some silly Social Experiment. The game is my feeble 48 hour attempt at trying to make a social experiment game that feeds off of a skinners box so that people dont get incredibly board while participating in it.

The goal is to harvest materials, so that you can purchase words to type into the Global Story that is written by all the previous/current players. I imagine the story will turn into something terribly written, but thats the fun social aspect. Build Mines, Earn Resources, Recieve medals & Achievments, Write a Story With The World (or like the 10 people who will prob get far enough to write a word), Win!

I am currently working on a game called Trials Of Ascension. It is an Indy Sandbox MMO (I know right?, those buzzwords...) BUT its true, and hopefully I can turn it into something great :D! hopefully you will check that out too! :D!

do make sure you press enter as it says to remove that "help image" as you get into the game. (the gui still looks terrible, but if you dont close that it sucks more lol)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Innovation4.19
#100Theme3.90
#134Mood3.58
#191Humor3.05
#241Overall3.55
#407Audio2.95
#556Fun3.05
#965Graphics2.43
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:05am

Dont look at it yet XD, still using my last hour of the Compo XD

dinos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59am

Great idea! I like the "social experiment" part of it. I have already purchased 5 words! :D

Sargonius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17am

Just perfect! I really like this social part :-)

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:19am

Wow, this is a cool game! :D

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21am

Well.. it's definietly different type of game than a classic LD game :D (in a good way)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:23am

Brilliant idea. I'd like to subscribe to see what the hivemind comes up with :)

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25am

Neat idea, I like how you used the theme here. If this was expanded I could see it being a real neat internet thing where a bunch of people write something crazy.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27am

Good story, but where is the game? :)

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31am

Impressive to get network code running in that much time. Soundtrack is pretty nice too. Well done.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33am

OH! @vividhelix, I forgot I was going to accept people emails so that I would send them the result when it is all done... Ill add that in now :P... I have all the code for it, just not the GUI... derp

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:35am

Wow, that's a pretty impressive experiment. The story is really well done, and the music is very soothing. I do sometimes get "not enough resources" when trying to upgrade mines (and having more than enough resources).

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

OK! put in the email subscription if you want to get that info of the end result, just make a new account :).

@AndyBrown That prob means you are desynced with the server, just refresh the page, re-login and it should work. Thanks!

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

I fully expect to come back to this tomorrow morning and find something utterly bizarre written. It already has flaming dragons - not fire-breathing, mind you, *on fire*. Definitely keep developing this; I want to see where the story ends up.

One small, marginally ironic nitpick: there are a fair number of typos and misspellings in the intro text crawl.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:51am

Level 7 mine costs 20, but never have enough resources? ;-) You're welcome for the 'on fire', btw.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:53am

Sorry, I know you can't fix thigns like this now. I'm more amused by this than I expected, frankly. I said it before, but again... well done.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:01am

Thanks guys! Totally get in touch on twitter, I love keeping in contact with fellow gamedevs. And next ld I want a solid partner to do the jam with! solo is fun, but draining lol. twitter: @teddynashor

Also as for the lvl 7, it should cost 55000, not sure why it says 20... I think the client and server have slightly different formulas? I believe I can fix minor bugs, as I think that is allowed in the rules? Ill check, otherwise, wait till 50k to press it. :P

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10am

think the math might be glitchy. level 6 was 110k. either way, hive mind ftw. i was thinking of a network game in the coming months as well, so it'll be fun to see how this one turns out.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11am

A very cool concept. I wish I knew words were going to increase in cost. They're breaking my bank over here! I'm curious to see where this will go.

Lythom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

Hi there ! Here are some feedbacks.
What i liked :
- Big work achieved ! Very impressive.
- The idea of making a novel together.
- Everything is clear because explained when unfinished (no 'I don't know what it is')
What imo could be improved :
- Music (but I recognize the effort, it can be really hard to even have one xD)
- Remove unfinished work to achieve a more polished effect

Great overall, had fun reading (and writing :p) the novel so far !

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Looking forward to when you publish our novel! And I would love to see this keep on growing!

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Haha this is fun :) A bit lacking in actual gameplay features, but the social part is nice. Curious to see what story comes out of this in the end ! +1 for the nice, long intro.

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Fantastic concept! Just need a better look!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Hi there. I purchased one word... but it was quite time consuming although had 14 mines running. Quite cow-clicker in nature. The celloish music began to grate after a while, though it had a lovely tone. I think you need more gimmicks/rewards/flashing things in the non-word part of the game to keep people interested.

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I can never commit to cookie-clicker type games, but I can see people getting super into this. All it needs is the ability for different users to pool their resources together and you have a meta political drama waiting to happen.

TKia_ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Cool idea, with a lot lot lot of polish, I could see this becoming an actual project. There's been lots of collaborative-novel type stuff on the net that have all gone pretty well.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Very interesting and unusual concept. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]