Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ostrich: Just In Time

by dungeonsoffear - Jam Entry

A time rift has caused the past and future to become intertwined with the present. Only Ostrich can save the day.


NOTES ON SOUND:
Music can be turned off if you click the game and scroll down; it is hidden for some reason.

Sound will not work in IE because it doesn't support OGG

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1985Coolness20%

Comments

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

I don't even know wtf is going on but that's exactly what I like.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47pm

cool :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26am

Very interesting. I couldn't get my controls to lock in on the window inside the browser, so every time I jumped, the whole page moved up? That's probably just my bad though. Very cool premise and a lot of fun.

oranebeast says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:23am

I don't even

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42pm

All hail the OSTRICH. Anywayz, funny game. Though the biggest problem is when i press up or space, the window scrolls down or up. It gets annoying but the game is pretty fun :D

slakhorn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Whoever makes it further than the first couple obstacles deserves an award.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Hi everyone, thanks for playing our game.

If I find the time, I will put some event.preventDefaults() in the code to prevent all the scrolling issues people are having. I did not consider how it would play different on GameJolt than just as its own page.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

So ostriches are really a fad now in games? Good going and fun too!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:20am

I got the same issue with controls where it moves the whole page when I press up key. Nice game.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:42am

Nice.
You should stop the key event from reaching the page, everytime the ostrich jumps the browser scrolls vertically.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:09pm

It kept losing focus as I jumped, making it very tricky to play. Unless you are intending both the keyboard and mouse to be used at once.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]