Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hermes Express

by jojocanard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with haxe/openfl (+deepnight plateformer template)
sfrx for the sound effects and a bit of Bosca Ceoil for the "music"

First try on a plateformer. The controls are a bit awkward but it should be playable.

Arrows to move and jump, space to activate the magical shoes.
-------------
Answers to the comments : thanks all.
Sorry about the very bad difficulty curve. Last time my game was so hard that no one reached the end. This time I was so afraid to meet the same problem that I made it too easy and repetitive... and no one reach the end because of this ! This is also why the thin platforms behave like one-way platforms => coming back from the underworld was a pain. One day I will find the right tuning !

Sorry also about the bug who got people stuck while flying. I corrected it the 27-08 (the rules allow this right ?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#295Humor2.80
#494Graphics3.18
#632Theme3.16
#691Audio2.45
#791Fun2.78
#868Overall2.89
#908Mood2.56
#1029Innovation2.42

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Good solid platformer. I like that you've linked "connected worlds" to classical mythology - not at all obvious.
:3

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47am

Solid platformer! Nice work with the asthetic :)

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:53am

Good job jojo ;-)

deepnight says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Nice platformer! The controls are smooth and it's very cool to play (which is rare enough!). Some collisions seem to be ignored, but I'm not sure if it was intended: the thin platforms behave like one-way platforms.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Les différents mondes sont agréables à visiter. J'ai un peu l'impression de faire des aller-retour sans trop comprendre pourquoi, ça manque un peu de challenge pour un platformer et les déplacements sont un peu rapides pour un jeu d'exploration. Je ne peux pas voir le bas de l'écran de jeu sur mon pc. Mais un entrée plutôt réussie pour un premier platformer, je ne l'ai pas fini mais je vais retenter.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Lovely graphics. Awesome audio.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11pm

The artwork was really nice! I thought the music for the Sea world was a little daunting. It's good to be immortal and I will be more careful next time ;P

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Game is beautiful

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:12am

Good theme idea.
Characters are fun (but a little more animations would be nice)
a little repetitive (could become more harder faster) and the connexions are a little weird (if you fail a jump to go to the sky from the surface, you arrive in the sea...).
The music remind me some lucas art games...

Citsua says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:16am

Really fun game! I liked the gods' comments :).
I had to stop playing when I got stuck in the ground when I stopped flying :(.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Lovely take on the theme, I liked it! I played until I got stuck in the walls after flying. I often 'died' to get to Hades quickly. ;) Nice artwork as well!

torvik88 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:00am

Nice platformer, also liked that you worked out the theme pretty well. I would have liked to have more obstacles or enemies patrolling the platforms but overall you ahve achieved a nifty game :)

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

Well it was good, but got boring after level by level, and the shoes flying stuff was not working for me no matter how much I press escape! :(

Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Your game looks nice, it would be nice to see some more variation tough.

Razoric says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Cool game would love to see a more polished version of this!

igoramendola says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Cool!! Pretty interesting idea :D
Sometimes I couldn't read some (large) dialogs because they disappear with the same controls to move the character (and they appear at the same time that I'm playing). But this is just a little detail... what really matters is that at the end they had a party! Yeeey \o/ Hahaha

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Funny quest. Sometimes one person or god gives more than one quests. Fun game too.
There is a bug in the Underground where if you use a speed boost and go to the left wall, you'll get stuck.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]