Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Wanderer

by StuffBySpencer - Jam Entry

Code & Art - www.twitter.com/MyNames_Spencer
Music - www.soundcloud.com/1u_2d

CONTROLS:
---------
Arrow Keys - Move
Z - Dash/Roll
X - Shoot
While Holding X Use The Arrow Keys To Aim

For my second LD, I decided to enter the jam and get some help with the music. I hope you guys enjoy, and please let me know of any bugs, as I'm sure there is quite a few. Thanks for playing!

:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#170Audio(Jam)3.50
#248Mood(Jam)3.33
#254Fun(Jam)3.26
#282Humor(Jam)2.65
#289Graphics(Jam)3.59
#294Overall(Jam)3.35
#501Theme(Jam)2.89
#596Innovation(Jam)2.63

Comments

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12am

Nice game. Reminded me of Blaster Master for the NES.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:06am

I really loved everything about this game. I hope to see more of it in the future.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46am

Neat game,
The music was really good and graphics was cute
Good job.

And Thanks again for playing our game on your stream it was a bless!

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49am

Really nice game. I like it!

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:02am

Great game :) Nice dune-like worm too

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:05am

Lovely game dude, the music is awesome and the graphics adorable

snade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07am

Very nice game! well done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09am

Z & X keys not responding on Mac...

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:10am

That thing was too hardcore for me! =)
Graphics is pretty simple, but there's something adorable in this minimanistic style.
I liked music the most. This ambient is really moody!
Good work guys!

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24pm

I like the graphics and the mood! Please make a mouse aim + WASD move control (qwertz keyboard here) :D

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Nuclear Napalm: Weird, I'll have to look into why this isn't working, thanks for letting me know!

BitOfGold: I'll make sure to update the controls on a post-compo release in order to accommodate more peoples arrangements, thanks for the feedback!

And thanks to everyone else's feedback so far. Glad you all liked it! :)

Njord says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Well it took me quite a few deaths to get past these 10 first seconds of action :D

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Beautiful game which handles extremely well.

trekapp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Nice job, really liked it - but x and z is really an awkward combination on qwertz ;)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Reminds me one of my favourite action films when.. you know when! Really nice! great job!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21am

Great work. I couldn't get past the sand boss though. :( but your gameplay is spot on :)

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:44am

Good fun. Make more, I love it.

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I got eaten by the worm, and still shot it.. Other than that, looks cool, sound is good... Nice work..!

Altourus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Dat worm was sooooo hard

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

Though short, this game feels polished, and it seems like you have a nice engine to build on.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:15am

hm that was alright. it was a little buggy but still fun

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:27am

Nice game! Takes a bit to get used to the aiming though

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Realy nice shot !
Absolutely fan of the art, btw !

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:23am

It's a fun game, cool sound.

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

Felt insanely frustrating to have to restart after being one-hit-killed, but the roll animation was perfect!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:53am

Very cool game. Music was very good. I'd like to see more of this game. :)

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:14am

I really liked the creature design and the graphics! This game has some nice tunes too. That flippin wormy worm is so unforgiving, I couldn't get past him! D: I could probably get past him if I had lives maybe...maybe

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Great entry - rolling and shooting felt really smooth, and the visuals were simplistic but very fitting. The hitbox on the worm was little punishing though :P

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:34pm

very nice :)

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Thanks for your comment and stream earlier :) I took notes while I play so here they are:
- There is no need to make loading bar 3D if it fills up in 3D :)
- I liked the story at the beginning, nicely written.
- Not very necessary but you could put a little shadow under creatures.
- I loved the gameplay and boss mechanics together with the graphics. They need more work but they have a style.
- The game is quite short for 72 hours in my opinion.

This reminded me of Titan Sould a little :) Very good entry!

DrCicero says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:08pm

WTF the 3d loading bar is loaded 2d!

Nice story intro, made it feel more like a real game (instead of an arcade game like most games here are)!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Cool concept, nice graphics! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/02vIiZyi3-c

Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:01pm

psssst... you are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDBSLwhAohI

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Pretty cool! Thought it looked very nice, especially the animation was cute.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Great work :)

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Well-done graphics and sfx and cool music! I like the fact that it had boss battles - not many LD games do that. I wish it had a bit more variety of enemies - everything before the boss is really easy. Those little critters latching to you are unintendedly adorable though, haha.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]