Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Swordman

by iSamurai - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-- Introduction --

The game is about swordsman who became blind and alone, faces the revenges of his foes. Will he die? Or will he reborn?

Updated:
- necessary UI to help the game flow

IMPORTANT: To explore part of the game the player needs to be killed...So if you are too skillful, try suicide...


-- Control --

Movement - WASD
Dash - double click any of the WASD key (tips: you'll need it a lot)
Sword direction - mouse scroll
Attack - left mouse button

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#163Graphics3.82
#271Fun3.41
#324Overall3.44
#407Humor2.55
#494Mood3.06
#568Audio2.70
#741Innovation2.91
#798Theme2.88

Comments

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:09am

Oooo I like this one. Reminds me a bit of Nidhogg.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07am

The sword fighting is really fun! It feels great to attack and do a quick dodge.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Nifty combat mechanics, good sense of weight to the hits. Nice!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Really nice combat! The glow on enemies before they attack + dodge was a great system to create strategic combat. The pixel art is really neat and so are the sounds and music. Is there anything I can do when I become a ghost except for just waiting to go down to the underworld thing? Seems it is not possible to attack at least.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

@Robinerd thank you for your warm comment!
Currently the ghost state is more like a hint that the player is dead, and the inability to attack is to make the player to walk into the house (the netherland). But your idea of controlling the ghost to do something different is cool!

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I like that dash animation, it really suits combat and theme. I'd love to see it with addition to some crazy anime sword fight (you know with 'energy slashes' and so on).

Nice graphics, but... is all I can do in first level is just die? :(

alaslipknot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28pm

i *LOVE* the graphic style, so simple and easy to make but very beautiful and just done the job right, the gameplay is cool too but i found a bit hard to get used with the aimine, it's somehow inverted lol
Good job man

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59am

5 stars on graphics! The battle is a great fun to play, attack, dodge, attack...
One small suggestion: I found myself forgot to click the mouse after reading text, an auto-dialog may be a good addition.

BTW, isn't the swordman blind? I could see enemies clearly in combat :D

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29am

@Konrad Zegis, Thanks for your warm reviews and cool suggestions!
I updated the UI a bit so that it may help to progress the game :)

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34am

@alaslipknot, Oh, I should have considered that, some of the players prefers inverted aiming. Thanks for your suggestions!

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

I thought about Zatoichi. Cool gameplay

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59am

The visuals work great and I really liked the input feedback. Well rounded experience!

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25am

Cool graphics, nice game.

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14am

Combats are really fun ! I love to dodge around, and the graphics are good too.

Good work :)

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Really lovely graphics and sword fights! I found it a bit hard though may be I'm just not good at it. Would be nice to tell the player they can only take 4 hits because there are no indication for it. Really nice work overall :D

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Are there only 2 screens? It's a bit repetitive but there's a nice weight to your attacks. Nice artwork.

Phaix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:47am

Really Nice. I like the artwork and the feel of the game.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Awesome entry! Love the visuals, though the music gets a little repetitive :P

Xadjim says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:06am

is fun to play. music sux though :D

ruerob says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I like your entry. The music and the graphics are good and the gameplay was fun. Thank you for your game.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I really like the feedback from the attacks and their animation. It took a while to get used to the delay when attacking, but after a while it grows on you. The game was a little too hard for me, and I didn't fully understand what was happening when I died. Was I supposed to keep dying, or not? It almost felt as if I was progressing when I died(as I got to the house).

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:46am

Really like the overall look and feel but I dont understand what the constant delay in the player attacks is bringing to the gameplay.
Dialogues should be skippable too imho.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Music was pretty annoying, but other than that its a fine job for a compo entry. Would've liked a counter or at least a block button to make the combat more varied instead of only being able to bait attacks and then attack, or attack while they're walking towards you and dodge instantly after that.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]