Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Playing Knight

by Yoni - Jam Entry

Billy is stuck having to clean his room. He'd much rather let his imagination drift to a far away land, though.
You control Billy and his favorite hero, Sir Awesome Man. Careful, though - the child and the hero are connected!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#16Theme(Jam)4.18
#106Humor(Jam)3.32
#154Audio(Jam)3.55
#236Innovation(Jam)3.30
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#315Graphics(Jam)3.55
#329Mood(Jam)3.19
#391Fun(Jam)3.00

Comments

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54am

Not to shabby, nice intro though.

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47am

Story's art and voices are great, the art of the game itself was lower than what the intro made me expect but whatever :D
The concept is there, but the controls made me uncomfortable because the players want to stick to the matrix of the level
Nice take on the theme and outro :3

yodamaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59am

Really good game! Fun to play and challenging.

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01am

Graphics is awesome, music is awesome, gameplay is awesome, nice entry :D

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10am

Nice game. Great graphics.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:30pm

the intro really sets you in the mood. and you will show that mean ol mom a thing or two about playing

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:30pm

This is an awesomely fresh concept and your production values are amazing. Gameplay is rather confusing though. Could use more action.

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Wow, the voice acting in the beginning was awesome! The controls felt a bit clunky and unresponsive (Tip form a Mac user: Don't use the Ctrl key. It switches between desktops if combined with an arrow key.).
I liked the idea of having to find items in both worlds to continue. I did not manage to pass the 4th level though. I wasn't able to jump to the key, even though I cut the pillows.
With a bit more work on the controls, I could see me playing more of this. Nice work!

markusfisch says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Awesome idea! Perfect match for the theme. And I really like all the graphics and especially that intro. Very well made!

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Artwork, idea, sound, humor - it's all perfect! It's really remind me about my childhood. One of the best entries I've seen at ld30.

Rustam says ...
May 5, 2017 @ 6:03am

Just follow our fantasy to have a unforgettable experience. http://pravomax.ru She is a frequent commentator on MSNBC, CNN, and PBS.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]