Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Duality

by LemmingSurvivor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two worlds. Two stories. One grand adventure!

Welcome to Duality! This is a text-based, interactive fiction game where you type in actions for your character to perform.

Right now, only the first chapter is featured. Strangely, not due to lack of time, but rather due to lack of energy; burnt myself out on writing the script. Just happened to be the wrong weekend for this. Still, what's there is feature complete, and meets my standards.

Anyway, stay tuned for more!

------------

CONTROLS

Write commands (typically a verb followed by an object) and press the Enter key or the Execute button. Rinse and repeat.

For a more detailed explanation, type 'help' in-game after having entered your name.

------------

LEGAL

All sources and assets within this project are property of their author (NIGIC - me) and may not be used without written and signed permission.

Basically: This is freeware, but NOT free software.

------------

UPDATES

26-08-2014 -- Updated page description. No change to game files.

------------

SCREENSHOTS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#6Theme4.41
#19Innovation4.23
#192Overall3.61
#217Mood3.42
#286Humor2.82
#456Fun3.15
#1165Graphics1.94

Comments

chartinboy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:33am

What an excellent idea! Great use of the theme, and the story is looking interesting.

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25pm

haha! SOOO GOOD! gj on respecting the theme

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Well done, really surprising theme usage.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Great interpretation of the theme. text based format is really fun, actually!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Game was a little hard to get running, but I've never played many graphical adventures. Found myself scrolling up and down constantly to see what was available and what were my actions - maybe a semi-graphical UI would have been useful? Was interesting and mysterious as a setting, though.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Pretty short but I liked what was there. Love the use of the theme. I think in the future though it could use more spots where you need to rely on the narrative of one world than the other. Also as a suggestion, it would be cool if there were situations where taking an action in one world would positively effect one world but negatively effect the other. Like you have to choose which world you favor almost.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:45am

Thanks for the feedback! Was honestly expecting somewhat more negative considering how niche the genre is (or seems to be).

@Stepwise: Of course it would! That's pretty much why text adventure games are irrelevant nowadays; it evolved over time into basically what we call WRPGs now.

@AlucardX60: We think alike, friend. We think alike. Also, nice idea on the tradeoffs thing; would be a pain in the butt to keep everythin sync-ed, but it would be so worth it.
Actually, there's a little easter egg that's somewhat related to the idea if you put the "sofa" to the torch. Completely pointless, but it could lead to bigger things!

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:46am

Been forever since I played a text adventure. Takes me way back! Cool concept trying to play two text adventures at once. Feels like it'll get tricky. I'm already stuck trying to find my keys and a weapon to defend myself. Oh well. I'll have to come back to it!

Nice work!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Very great usage of theme! And I love text-quests <3

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Text games are fun because they put the power in the player's hands! Interesting take on the theme. Nice work!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Very nice and impressive, managing to write two parallel stories!

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Very cool game! :)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:25am

haha love the word game

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:30am

Really nice! I'm not very good at text games, since when I started gaming it was already niche thus I've never played many of those :/
But your interpretation, and the work you've done, is excellent!

bobombe says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I couldn't find the keys but just the wallet, maybe I will try again. Good idea anyway !

Benjamin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:24pm

I could not get very far in the story probably ecause of my poor english level I could only get the wallet/torch and coudl not use it anywhere. Anyway this is a very nice idea. Must have beens a lots of troubles to make those two stories work together.

SK16Games says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Very nicely done text-based game :) And nice use of the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]