Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Light of the World

by Limyc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Not everyone is as alone as they believe.

Goal:

* Steal light from the 3 stars and then find the darkened sun.


Controls:

* WS - Move forward/back

* AD - Rotate left/right

* Esc - Quit game (standalone)


Notes:

* If you get lost, just keep moving around. You'll find your way. The game ends when the camera zooms out.

* I would say this turned out to be less of a game and more of an experience. Just pretend there's life-changing, philosophical text at the end.

* Ran out of time for music and sound :(

* OSX and Linux builds are untested.


Known Issues:

* Screen wrapping causes lighting on NPCs to instantly go black or change direction.

* The background looks all warped when you rotate due to the use of a skybox with an orthographic camera. Won't make that mistake again.


Tools:

* Engine - Unity

* Asset Tools - Shader Forge

* External Tools - Paint.net, Spacescape

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#236Mood3.40
#479Innovation3.26
#516Graphics3.15
#721Theme3.02
#776Humor2.00
#781Overall2.98
#860Fun2.69
#943Audio1.71

Comments

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43am

That was a very avant garde game. It took me a few minutes to tell what the point was and and then after I won, it took a few minuted to realize. The lighting effects were nice and I think this fit the theme well.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06am

A beautiful game, especially the final scene (I suppose it was the end ^^). The problem is that we don't know what we are supposed to do... It's a pity that there's no sound :/

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Very pretty... lovely to play, fun finding them. Found the giant (blue giant ?!) and nothing further seemed to happen.

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59pm

The lighting really sells the atmosphere! Really beautiful ending, and as someone said this would benefit a lot from some ambient type music. The theme also has a nice amount of room for interpretation. I like it a lot, great job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03pm

A very heavenly game, loved it!

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Nice short and sweet experience, but it definitely would have benefited from a touch of audio.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Very charming game, I hoped my star became bigger too when I absorbed others. Very lovely!

Limyc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04am

@MerlijnVH That's actually a great idea. I should have zoomed the camera out a bit and increased the player size as your own light grew.

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44am

I like this a lot. At first I was skeptical, but once I got the hang of things it was very interesting

Arowx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41am

Liked the way you can use the light cast from the stars to find them. Nice little game, needs a bit more maybe a backdrop, sound effects, and a few obstacles or enemies maybe.

villhest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:57am

I like the atmosphere!

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:04am

Very neat idea. Not too much of a game unfortunately.
Needs some soothing background music; also the starfield in the background seemed to behave very erratically.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:04am

Very interesting and special game. Very simple but ultra moody! Enjoyed playing it.

Teesquared says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:19am

Great use of light in game play. Cool ending.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:04am

A cool game idea - I like :-)
Good job!

Limyc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28am

@Endurion Totally agree on all accounts. I learned that skyboxes don't work well with orthographic cameras.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:41am

The natural controls, along with the artistic visuals and simple goal of discovering, made this game enthralling--and something you experience as you play. The ending was wonderful

Hempuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:52am

Enchanting, and very beautiful! The game concept was cool and intuitive, although after finding my first light I had to check that there's more to find. The ending was also very cool-looking. Ambient sound would work great with this, methinks. :)

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:01am

It's interesting the way you gave to your game, good job.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02am

very good lighting effects on the planets go round

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:06am

I think the game has a great mood I hope to see a post-dare version with some added music\sound.

It felt very easy and smooth, even if sometimes the different colors wouldn't properly "reflect" on planets.

Great job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:15am

Such a beautiful game. Too bad you ran out of time for sound, it would've added so much to it.
~funkeh

Limyc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:27am

@LostTrainDude Considering the feedback I've gotten, I'm definitely considering taking the time to build this game properly.

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:54am

Nice game. I restarted the game because i was not able to find the last light. I think that a relaxing background music is necessary to complete the experience.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:58am

Some really cool lighting effects, and the ending is pretty cool even without any philosophy! Nice organic gameplay made this a fascinating entry, with the light being the clue to location and becoming difficult to spot when you're emitting more light. Very cool, but a shame that it isn't used (not that I could see anyway)in the final star, which was a ittle frustrating to find. But it's one of my favourite gameplay ideas so far!

Limyc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:26pm

@Literal_Games Yeah, you pretty much just run into the sun by accident. Not ideal.

Thanks to you and everyone else for the comments.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Badly wants sound, in which case it would probably a very aesthetic experience. Perhaps add effects or stuff when the player absorbs stars... lots of potential!

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:35pm

interresting experience.
Movement of planets is a little weird, and maybe a collide detection for it would be fine...

gnuwind says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Beautiful game I think. Can you add a "auto" mode?

Limyc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:28pm

@gnuwind I'm not sure what you mean by an "auto" mode. Could you elaborate?

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Interesting idea. Is there a way to lose?

tatelax says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Cool game, I was not able to find the darkened Sun however.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:46pm

At first i was like....wtf is happening...someone really fked this game up, but then slowly but slowly like a moth to the flame i found the stars. Game would need an audio of some desolate sound to make it even more atmospheric and some collision for the smaller planets but very nice done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]