Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Little Beetle Saves The World

by local minimum - Jam Entry

The world has separated onto three planes. Scattered piecies of what once was a comforting and predictable whole have become a dangerous place to live in. Little beetle scurries between the emergent worlds. There still are a few connections between them.

Now it is up to you to help little beetle reach the beacons in a daring attempt to bring the worlds back together as one.

This is a fast arcade game with 20 quick levels, some of which are truely challenging.

Enjoy and have fun!

Edit
----

Remade Lvl3 to be much easier so people don't get stuck early. (9h berfore Jam timer is over so I think that change is fair).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#389Humor(Jam)2.41
#435Fun(Jam)2.94
#466Innovation(Jam)2.89
#498Audio(Jam)2.74
#500Overall(Jam)3.04
#577Mood(Jam)2.72
#621Graphics(Jam)2.77
#640Theme(Jam)2.38

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03pm

It was alright but on level 3 I couldn't get from the first line. Every route I tried just didn't work so I kept dying over and over again and got boring quickly.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

A pity, well those that have a different shade than the others are the ones that bridge the worlds. Maybe it got a little too hard too early.

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48pm

A very challenging game, I keep dying! ^_^'

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

That countdown... I just stack on level 5.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Yeah lvl5 requires some daring, it is quite possible (just did it with 25 shards left)

FGM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Cool concept. It's a little bit hard to know where the "crossover" tiles are. The colors seem too similar. Hard but fun.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Funny game and quite tricky. The music is a bit annoying, but actually fits the game quite well.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

The game is way too easy. Your movements aren't synchronized with enemies, so you may move as much as you want per their 1 turn. That actually reduces the puzzle to simple clicking =(

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23pm

@43iscoding that was surprising to hear, most other players seem to be having a lot of issues with even the early levels and I know the later ones e.g. lvl15 I find quite hard myself.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

cool graphics, quite challenging

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Great concept!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Nice game

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Nice little puzzle game

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I really enjoyed this the frustrating gameplay really got to me but it was also fun. The puzzles had great design. I started making a puzzle game a while back where you could only walk between certain colours like in this I cant believe I didn't remember it when I heard the theme >.< .

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:05pm

I agree that the crossover tiles are hard to spot, I also wasn't too fond of the sound, but the rest was really well done! Nice! :)

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Nice mechanics ! The theme is well executed here. The music is...absolutely tetris-like (still got it in my mind and I played 5 min. ago).
Like the way you teach the mechanics, though :)

Raphy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Interesting mechanics and kindda addictive game. It is quite challenging as well I have to say, but maybe because I suck! Restarts aren't that frustrating though so it did not bother me that much.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

Love this entry - haven't seen a maze/puzzle game quite like it. Unforgiving enemy placement gives it a bit of a dark souls feel (in a good way), and the timed aspect means patience won't always work. Great work on this!

Linusson says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:20pm

The color of the tiles was a bit hard to distinguish but other than that it was a fun and challenging little arcade game. :)

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Very fun arcade game. It's difficult, but that's expected. The connected platforms need some more distinguishment, perhaps connected lines.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:00am

Level nine SERIOUSLY kicked my ass. No trouble with platform connectors here, but I did kind of feel that one level was too hard--I sat there, memorized the patterns, and no matter how much I spammed the movement keys I couldn't get anywhere :< SFX-wise that one slide flute sound was both way too loud and, well, annoying. It was fun, though, and I thought playing as a beetle protagonist was a really cool idea. Thanks for the game!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Love the hand drawn feel. Nicely paced and challenging puzzles.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Very addictive game. The later levels are pretty tough but thats a good thing ;)
Good job!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:48am

Cute little game! I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fQEfK1MQqVU

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:27pm

The visuals were a bit jumpy when moving but the mechanics were good. I figured out that the light and dark panels could only be crossed through with a medium tinted block but it was still hard to see them when rushing through a level to avoid the enemies.

Hope you keep developing it! :)

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I've continued development in secret (hopefully) adhering to all those very true critiques so far gotten. The one thing that unfortunately is quite hard to do anything about given javascript is the smoothness of the game, I think I'd have to rewrite it somewhere more efficient.

OFF says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Disturbing, the mechanismis are really smart, with the path that could be activate at certain point, but i can't understand the link with beatle (but i'm french maybe did i miss something ;) )
Maybe having a more graph theme (computer, map).
The main issu is about understanding how it works, and why i die sometimes.
Actually there is an opposition, the hand made graphics create something poetic, and smooth, but the gameplay is really fast, time based, arcade.
Actually i think that with an other background, or maybe an other graphics, the game could have a more readable path for each level, and also be more consistent.

Actually i think that your game could be really better with an orthographic view, like Monument Valley. It could explain the lack of lisibility in your game path and could maybe became more poetic (if graphic like Monument Valley), or arcade oriented(like any retro aracde game but with beetle) :D

But it's still pretty fun, and easy to play.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:17am

@local minimum: Having worked with javascript/web for years I can say that yes, it takes a bit of planning to make sure everything runs smoothly. But it is totally doable! Good luck :D

local minimum says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:35am

@OFF: You have some new very valid points in the conflicts between different aspects of the game not working towards the same goal. If I decided to redo the game I would probably do it isometric (was thinking of it when I scribbled the tiles), smooth and more alive with low-key effects. But as always with LD, it was time that caused it to become what it became. The jumpyness from inefficient code hogging the computer resources, a little worked story and thus little coherence in the aesthetics.

@Cake&Code I guess I need check some benchmarking tools for since this little beetle almost requires an i7-cpu to run smooth. I'll google around some, but any tip is welcome.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:56am

Nice little game although level 4 was for me a bit of a downer. I didn't understand why I was dying, even when I didn't collide with the enemies. Maybe you should add more visual and audio feedback.

local minimum says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:28am

@Oddly Shaped Pixels: I did some seriously bad feedback which made (almost) everyone miss that the shards in the lower right corner are ticking down and when you run out of them, you die. So the game is also a game of speed, not only to outrun the enemies. I have fixed that though in an updated version. But I'm not a fan of posting post-jams while voting is still going on, but I'll do that as soon as its over.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Shard timer and the enemies give a hard time to the player, however the core concept is easy to understand and results in a fun to play reflex puzzle. Liked it.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:22pm

A charming idea. Would have been nice with smooth movement; at the moment its rather jerky and distractingly flashing.

Took me a while to work out the way the colours worked and how to go from gray to brown tiles.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]