Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

DUAL Adventure

by reidrac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I couldn't finish the game and because of that the connection with the theme is not clear at all, but at least I managed to put together some pixels and a so-so platformer.

Although unfinished, the game supports gamepads. Just press any button so the game can detect your controller!

Controls: left/right arrows to move, up to close text, Z to jump (and make text go faster).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#237Graphics3.64
#498Humor2.41
#636Audio2.56
#667Mood2.86
#850Fun2.70
#897Overall2.85
#1145Innovation2.07
#1146Theme2.00
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:41pm

nice! i like the color palette. had some problems with jumping though, some fishy behavior on the edges of blocks

reidrac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17am

I couldn't adjust properly the jumps :( I'm glad you like the graphics.

There's a short and a long jump, but in practice is a little bit to difficult to use and you may end hitting your head with the ceiling.

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:23am

Colors are very nice indeed

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39am

The mechanics work well and the artstyle is pretty!

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:43am

nice , I like the art style and animation .. hope you finish the game afterwards :)

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04am

Very nice graphics job there. Jumping is quite difficult in borders. Not bad for a non finished game.
I'd like to know what was your idea to connect with the theme (as the game is unfinished I can understand the theme have not completely taken into account)

joppiesaus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:07am

Very nice!
but I am on a 144 Hz monitor, so everything goes 144 FPS instead of 60 FPS... Everything is so dayum fast!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:07am

Very simple little platformer, but nice visuals. Jumping did feel a bit sticky, but managed to reach the end after a few goes. Good job!

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10am

Nice graphics, maybe the pink man is a little over the top with the pink background. I love the low-res style, the parallax and text!

reidrac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10am

Posva: I was playing with the idea of a "pink" world and a "blue" world. You're "a pink", and hence the contact with blue things hurt you. Going down the pit I was expecting to include enemies and kind of explain via conversation with NPC that the blue world was leaking into the pink world and eventually you find a way to correct the situation and then "become a hero".

Well, obviously it was ridiculously ambitious for a 48 hours challenge, but overall I got pretty far. I didn't have a specific plan for some of it (eg, what is the interaction with the enemies?), or how to play the "dual" idea of two worlds and the problems of them "connecting", and what is more important: why?

I'm glad you all seem to like the graphics. That means I'm improving my skills :)

reidrac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12am

joppiesaus: ha! the update loop is independent on the draw loop, but the updates run on 80 updates per second. That's really interesting, I would have expected it to work just fine!

Could it be an issue with requestAnimationFrame implementation in your browser? Thanks for the feedback!

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:58am

nice entry!

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice visual style. Jumping from a place where you have a ceiling right above you doesn't work as well as it should.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Nice graphics :)

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Jumping is not responsive...nice color palette and cool graphics

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32am

Fun to play! Too bad there weren't more levels!

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:48am

short and sweet! I like the idea of a world where water doesn't belong and simply kills you :D

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Your level design has a lot of unfair elements, like drops that send you directly into water that you can't see before the drop. You wouldn't know to dodge left or right until you had already been killed once, so it becomes trial-and-error and without checkpoints that gets frustrating. There are also tight corridors that the game expects you to leap out of, which the jump controls don't really support. On a positive note, I thought the art direction was nice.

reidrac says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:26pm

KevinZuhn: thanks for the feedback! I totally agree with all your points.

The game engine supports checkpoints, but at the end I didn't use them because it would have been too easy. The jump needs adjustments (eg, being more forgiving when jumping from the edge of a platform, issues with collisions, etc), and I couldn't implement a proper camera allowing the player to look up and down.

The game is not finished so I tried to make it a little bit of a challenge so people could play it for some minutes. It is scary when you must jump into the void not knowing if there's water waiting for you at the bottom, isn't it? ;)

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Nice game, congrats!

Jiyambi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Fun little game, I really like the pixel art for the environment. Would like to see the finished version you had in mind, but even as is, it's fun! :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Takes more than some water to stop me! Nice little game :)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:23am

Love those colors (purple baby) and a platformer is always fun. The jumping is difficult to time I feel, on the edge he doesn't jump for me sometimes. Hope you continue to work on this, great start.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Sweet graphics! I like it! Only jumping with Z didn't want to merge with my fingers but that may just be my german keyboard :) Well done!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:09am

Nice game but on Chrome I had problems with jump+direction key

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Nice game but I think the the connection with the theme is very superficial.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]