Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flicker

by PapaCheech - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are blue, a spirit in the ethereal plane. You exist in one world. You exist in all worlds.

You are stalked by echoes of yourself through time and space.

Can you survive?

WASD or arrows to move.


I made all the sound effects with a MicroKorg synthesizer.
Made the song using Audacity, the synth, and a little ambient guitar as well.
Graphics done with gimp, developed in Unity.


All sounds and music are in the same key to make a holistic audio visual experience, so please play with your headphones on or speakers turned up.

Developed by Dan Forstinger
Twitter @danforstinger

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#8Audio4.20
#14Mood4.18
#32Overall4.04
#92Fun3.75
#105Innovation3.88
#115Graphics3.96
#468Theme3.37
#641Humor2.20

Comments

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:27am

Nice job, I like the ambiance, and the gameplay, once I understood it's turn by turn and I stopped to rush :D

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02am

Love it! I love the sounds and the atmosphere

acehk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40am

I love the music and audio! It really tied together the overall mood. Great job

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42am

Wow, this is really fun to play and tuned so well. The sounds are great as well.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44am

Cool concept, and a great atmosphere!

abeing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47am

yup this is a fantastic experience. the sounds are really nice! my score is 15!

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19am

The lighting effects in this entry are really impressive, especially for being done in so little time.

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:41am

Love the pretty lights and trippy audio.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

OMG this is so cool!
Audio, visual, and design are top notch!
the story really explained the mechanics in a cool way, too.
When I realized what it meant by "being stalked by your own echoes" I realized how cool this was. (I was a little worried at first, because I've encountered a lot of really nice audio/visual entries on here, but their mechanics are boring).
My only complaint is that I wish you could have had it fit the theme in a more interesting way.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

Yeah the whole concept was that all the paths you walk in one universe have an echo in the next... just wasn't able to get in as much of the cinematic elements to portray that idea better.
Thanks for the feedback!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52am

Love it! :D

maloki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00am

Love the concept & the atmosphere is just great! :D Good job! :D

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

Really great! What a fantastic idea and really well executed. Well done!

Aaants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19am

Cool game. The graphics and audio combine really well.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:21pm

That was pretty good! Excellent ambiance and a very inspired mechanic! Nice job!

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Nice sound and atmosphere. I like the concept. I'm very interested to see where you go with it!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Good one but not for this theme =)
Gamplay looking fresh despite it's simplicity.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Really great audio and funky art. The game play is original and makes me think of snake in multiple dimensions. Great job.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Love the integration of sound and visual to fit the theme

igoramendola says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Awesome sounds which contribute to give emotion and simultaneously create tension. Also, nice background animation. I felt it a little hard, but I'm getting better haha. My best is 15 so far.

brian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42am

nice job!

C_Walden says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34am

Wow! This was really a lot of fun! Got a score of 30.
I loved the audio. The sound effects were perfect. The sounds of the red thing caused great tension and increased the likelihood of rushing and making a mistake.
I did manage to understand how to play right from the start; I felt it was very intuitive, unlike my own submission perhaps, haha.
Excellent work, especially in 48 hours.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59am

Nice turn based game. I like the idea.

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:52am

great game, also audio and graphics are really fitting

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Great graphics! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/LbmZDYffwi8

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:20am

Part 9 take two - Now with sound - http://youtu.be/lmQkJ525PNo

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02am

Thank you for your game. It was really fun to play and to think about what I have done some rounds before. That's good for the brain, I think. The atmosphere is great, too.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:26am

Great game! It's interesting that your past selves are against you instead of for you, like in so many other similar games.

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:21am

Great audio and visuals, created a nice ambiance. I found the gameplay a little boring, though it seemed like it got more interesting as I got farther into the game.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:23am

Very attractive, good graphics. I like this innovative concept. Music and sound are brilliant. Thank you, good game.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Hell it's frustrating. But pretty fun :)

local minimum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Absolutely stunning entry. I'm glad to have tried it out. Don't have anything more constructive to say than: keep it up! Maybe try implementing controls that work on mobile and release it?

Raphy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Great concept and great mood!

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:31pm

wow thanks so much for all the feedback everyone! Really appreciate it.

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Really fun and atmospheric, love the rogue-like turn-based system!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Wow I actually really liked this game. It actually had a meaningful game mechanic and wasn't a generic game. Very well thought out and very original :)

rantt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:15am

loved it, great job :)

Macocco says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Interesting take on the theme. The movement of the black dots is however less predictable than I'd wish it to be for some reason.

goosetickler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Great style & audio. Gameplay was fun and I addictive (and also really hard) but I didnt really get the connection to the theme. Regardless its a cool little game that looks good and most importantly is fun.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Actually, the black dots follow the paths that you previously walked between the lights. So if theres a part of the board you've never been to, you wont get attacked. Also, if you try your best to move in straight lines, it will be easier to predict their movements.
Thanks for playing everyone!

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Nice game, congrats!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:31am

What a fantastic way to have free AI in game. I'm so impressed. I'm glad you're gonna expand it.

glbs says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:53am

Okay, that was great, I didn't quite figure out that the black dots were my echoes at first ; this adds a lot to the experience (and relates to the theme).

The graphics and music/sounds create an intriguing atmosphere that evolves with the introduction of competitors and real time stalkers.

The increasing difficulty and the movement of enemies that is predicted but easy to forget make your game challenging and interesting. Congrats !

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:24am

Very interesting idea, pulled off in a way that is very fun. Amazing atmosphere too.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:05am

What a neat idea for a game! I didn't get the 'echoes from the past' thing until after I died and read the comments - suitably embarrassed. Nice work PapaCheech :)

skiddings says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Excellent work!

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:49pm

The idea is very innovative. I could reach 18 at my first attempt, I guess it's not that good :)

Piscythe says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:20am

I love the audiovisual environment here, and I think this concept works much better as a turn-based game than in real time.

panurge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:46am

Beautiful sounds and a really great concept - simple but elegant. Excellent work.

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:21pm

very polished game!
Loved the audio / visual combination that worked well together
Gameplay was very addictive

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:03am

5 star innovation! Awesome sounds, music, graphics, and gameplay! Really original and fun. Fantastic job overall!

t4u says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:58am

Enjoyable action-puzzle(?)

runvs says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:15am

Nice Entry. Awesome graphics, really like that! Some tweening for player movement (not just the fixed grid positions) would have been nice.

TKia_ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:59pm

That was absolutely beautiful. Gorgeous lighting and graphics, gorgeous music, yet the gameplay was still fun, simple, and action-packed. Doubtlessly one of the best games this LD.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Nice entry!

It would be cool to have some kind of replay when you loose, to see how close you were to loosing at some point :)

Also, I am not a super fan of that little red thing following you: It should make a move when you make one, not move by itself. The way it is, it adds unnecessary stress to the player. The game gets hard quickly enough :)

Lythom says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Hi there, here's some feedback.

What I liked :
- Atmosphere (lightings and music)
- Neat and intuitive gameplay

What imo could be improved :
- More depth in gameplay. Moving an orb to a target while dodging enemies is pretty basic, and the connected worlds spirit background didn't create the illusion for a long time. Time-based enemies and light plays give some innovations but it was insuffisiant for me to feel a real innovative gameplay.
- For the web version, a different background color on the webpage or an ingame background border would help to distinguish the game area bounds.

Overall a neat entry, good job ! Thanks for the game =)

bentog says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:27am

Amazing concept, awesome experience!

someone says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:11am

Interesting idea and excellent atmosphere.

goerp says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:25pm

The music for this game is fantastic. Although visually it's good too (the way tension is build up) the music is even better.
Nice simple gameplay and difficulty gradually building up: Good game.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:02pm

A like the audio and the mood you create with it. That's a pretty cool concept, anyway!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:23am

Nice game. Fun to see how you moved after each round and block yourself :)

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Really great idea

Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:36pm

This is as perfect as a LD game can get. Damn. I'm impressed.
Great ambiance, great looks (the background and lighting effects go extremely well together), interesting but manageable gameplay. The types of enemies were great - the red one really mixed up the style of play, which was great.

I'm also a little impressed at my own 28-streak: http://i.imgur.com/fGTSbXk.png :D

Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:39am

Hi there, I put this game on my recommendation list as my favorite game out of 100 games this LD: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/13/5-1-games-of-greatness/
May the stars of ratings rain upon you! :D

martim00 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:21am

Great game. Congrats!!

mrexcessive says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:15am

Hi there. Really attractive entry. Love the sounds and visuals. The 'ching' on level success is perfect. Nice atmosphere. The gameplay itself, specifically the AI of the reds, is not challenging enough - at least up to level 8. Perhaps making it a race with another player would probably fix that, as it would make players careless. Good job!

Larzan says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:23am

Wow, great idea + execution, was a lot of fun to play, good music + gfx. Although the principle was very simple it was very captivating!

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Extremely accomplished for 48h, the polish and atmosphere makes this a compelling experience, really nice pace and well-readable visuals. This really sucked me in more than many other entries this LD, to the point where I nearly jumped out of my skin on one occasion when I died, great work! :)

X-0r says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Great visuals and audio! I also liked the enemy AI variations =)

mechabit says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:32pm

nice audio and atmosphere. I like how your shadows are turn based but the enemy is real time. my best score was 11 and I can see a point where the board would be saturated unless you hung around the edges and always moved clockwise.

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:39am

Great job !

everystone says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Great atmosphere. never made it past #10. Good job

sephyka says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Very nice and interesting experience.
I died at 9!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]