Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds

by g_o - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Overview:
--------------------------------------
Comedy/mindfu*k game about a scientist desiring to explore
the neighbour world;
Yeah this comp was kinda weak for me but I still hope you
might find this funny and maybe entertaining :)
3 types of gameplay ^^

Warnings:
--------------------------------------
*A bit of bad language for humor purposes [very light; some censored]
*Implied sexual jokes

If you're stuck
---------------------------------------
1. The red things - these are lasers that push you away;
2. If you're about to get out of the screen - you won't
so just don't touch anything and you'll get back control
****SPOILERS****
3. The old dude - you have to ask the old dude question 3 and then ask again about 5 times
until he answers [you won't see any difference until he starts speaking]
4. Where are the golden wings? - In the left [where you started]
just kinda high.
5. How to reach them? - You can jump on the lasers ^^
[instead of pushing you aside they're keeping you from
falling - but you have to follow them when they escape from
the screen].

Easter eggs *SPOILERS*
-------------------------------------
*If you get close enough to the turrets in a specific area
it reveals a joke about who they are.
*All the soundtracks are the same track edited differently:
The first track is the second track slowed down + wah wah effect;
The second track is the original mix;
The third track is the second track reversed [Played as you arrive to the other
world]

Tools
--------------------------------------
Visual C++ Express 2010
DirectX SDK (June 2010)
Gimp
MS Paint
Audacity
My new Yamaha keyboard and [unfortunately cheap] cables for recording music

Happy Ludum Dare #30 ^^!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#204Humor3.00
#360Audio3.04
#755Mood2.76
#850Graphics2.63
#940Theme2.62
#1041Overall2.64
#1067Innovation2.35
#1096Fun2.26
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10pm

This was an odd one =)
I liked the hand drawn style, and the RPG type conversations.
The gameplay was a little glitchy though. But so was mine after only 48 hours.
Cool game, and nice soundtrack!

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Thanks ^^

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11pm

nice story line, really enjoyed it. you got a good sense of humor mate.

nice work!

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27pm

@randomvideo.com
Thanks ^^

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Hard to finish the game, but i'm fan of the start of the game, and the hand drawn style.
After that it's maybe too difficult because of the physics, and the collision, but still captivating, if it wasn't ludum dare (too many games to see) i will finish the game.

g_o says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:33pm

@OFF:
Thanks :)
Too bad I think the ending had the best track in the game ^^

skullum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06am

A pretty weird game, the movement isn't bad but when the lasers start pushing you back you can really get stuck on them.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27am

skullum:
Yeah it's kinda wierd but it was meant to be light and funny;
Maybe went a bit too far there lol
About the lasers - yeah that's kind of the point you have
to fold back and jump over or jump the others in order to move against the direction of movement.
If you can't [there are 2 blocking you completely] you just have to let go and it'll pass through you cause I don't want you to get completely out of the world ... :P

klianc09 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16pm

It took me a really long time until I realised that my goal was *NOT* to go as far to the right as possible... that was a long walk back.
I appreciated the joke about the turrets.
And I was nearly stuck at the screen after you get the wings back, because I forgot that I had to press Enter to advance dialoge.
Music was loud, but fit the atmosphere really well.
A really strange experience^^

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:40pm

kliance09:
Sorry I thought this stuff was obvious ...
I'm glad someone noticed the turrets joke :P
Srry the music was a bit amplifyed , turning the volume down fixes it.
Yeah I agree; it is strange haha
hope you still enjoyed it =)

slowfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Strange game indeed. Unclassifiable. It's difficult to understand the point of it.

g_o says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:47pm

slowfrog:
Haha
It's just for having fun ... the plot kinda comes accross the point and relation to the theme but it's mostly a light game - random 3 types of gameplay ... not one type as traditionally seen here XD
So yeah in that regard kind of "pointless", but who said gameplay has to be
consistent? I just wanted to have fun and while I'm doing it maybe giving a "different experience" to the player.
Actually this kind of games are classified as "mindfu*k" or "random" even though it got its plot [IDK if u got it XD] - the way of telling it is abnormal haha
Having some jokes about RPG guide conversations, being hit by a meteor cause why not ? And yeah ... it's not a complex consistent gameplay or traditional game but you shouldn't take everything about this game seriously that's all. [There are some parts you should actually think about, but most of this happens after playing cause I tried to give the game a comedic mood haha]

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:51am

Odd, but pretty enjoyable

g_o says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:29am

Nooner Bear: Thank you ^_^

Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I feel like I enjoyed this more than I should have! In it's extreme simplicity in gameplay and graphics, it has a lot of charm. Although I didn't feel much of a sense of achievement or being interested in what the goal was or how I was supposed to solve the problem, I really enjoyed it.

g_o says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:16pm

@little-burrito: Thanks I'm so glad to hear it entertained you ^^

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]