Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Die in another world

by Posva - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrows keys to move.
R: resets level
N: skip a level
P: go to previous level

Work on:
-firefox
-chrome/chromium (best choice)

Does NOT work on:
-internet explorer

WARNING: game becomes VERY difficult at the end and may be frustrating. It's easier than IWBTG and than Super Meat Boy. That said, all the levels are possible. I can guarantee you that.

Source is hosted on github

Thematic:
You play as a guy who can dies in different parallel worlds and use his dead body as a block to jump on it!

Updates:
- Fix typo + firefox

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#233Audio3.29
#238Humor2.91
#239Fun3.45
#297Overall3.47
#298Graphics3.51
#350Mood3.24
#500Innovation3.24
#790Theme2.89

Comments

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:12am

Really, really, really nice idea. i really liked your game.

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28am

Thanks!

arthuro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28am

A really funny game. Game levels are nice.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53am

wow I really likt your game. good job. animations incredible, music is good, mechanics.. omg!

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55am

Really nice, cool concept and smooth gameplay. Visual effects are quite impressive.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57am

Game looks really cool. Interesting mechanic and varied block types.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Bizarre but fun little platformer. Some fairly sadistic level design :p (Running along a set of exploding blocks to a dead end!) & nice particle effects!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Very nice game.
Only thing I didn't like much was the camera movement (the rotation on some explosions and the bounce effect after falling).

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Love the graphics, the music is great, and the gameplay, while difficult, is very fun!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Graphics and juiceness are strong with this one! Good job! :)

Posva says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Thanks for the comments! I really appreciate them. I always think my graphics are bad :(

@0x961h Look at your game! much glow wow so juicy! :P

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Great game! Love this juicy effects :)

tanjent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Feels very complete, impressive work for 48h hours. I could get right into it and play/interact with the game learning as I went along = very good. The level where you jump on your previous d00ds sold it for me! Had to look at the source to see if you had an FM synthesizer in there as well, but alas .. is ogg files :)

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Wow, that gets hard. Near the middle of the game I just had to skip every level :-(

Fun concept and great look and feel though!

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:48am

I beat all but the 2 hardest levels. At times, it definitely felt more frustrating than challenging. There are 3 things I thought were very good choices:

-The "replay/reuse" mechanic. It made things more interesting and strategic.
-The screen shaking when the bombs went off. I made the game come to life.
- Letting the player skip to the next level. Oftentimes, difficult games like this cause people to rage quite. Skipping levels alleviated that, and allowed users to see all the different levels.

Posva says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Thank you guys.
I'm rendering a video to show that the game is actually possible.
@tanjent your comment makes me happy ^^

@zatyka I knew it would get frustrating for some people :P But I'm glad you liked it anyways. The explosion shake is made to make the game a bit harder

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Really fun and great level design. All around awesome game, thanks for sharing!

Benjamin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Nice entry but I zqs stuck reqlly fqst on level 5 or 6 the one zhich stqrt zith tzo bo;b ceilings

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Man, that really is a hard (but fun!) game

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Really clever! Some quality level design as well. :)

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nicely done! I love the particle repellant effect. Gameplay's a little too hard for me though ;)

Posva says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Thanks for the comment! I actually didn't spent much in Level design but I really got enjoyed it.
Gameplay gets easier when playing more and more!

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Specifically I liked the level where you used your previous selves as a bridge. I thought that was neat. The space dust stuff was cool in general, neat touch. I had to mute the music though, I didn't care for that.

Tommislav says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:29pm

A very polished entry. Well done!

Razoric says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Very cool game. I like how you can use past gameplay to help you progress. I had a similar idea for mine!

Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Really nice concept and graphics! I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/oHxpkDX49XQ

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:14am

There needs to be a slight pause when the player dies and about to restart the level again. This is so the player has time to let go of any keys and don't end up hitting the spike near the start.

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Hohoho. This game is good !

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:38am

Really great mood and art style! The mechanic was interesting, which made it all the more fun and enjoyable to play. There's a good level of polish too, I thought! Great work! :)

Posva says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:44pm

@jprogman you're right. I realized later that it kind of ruin the gameplay and frustrate the player >.<

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]