Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connect

by RedPanda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Connect is a Space Strategy game made in less than 30 hours. (I gave up on it for various reasons, and just fixed few bugs and added menus at the end)
You need to connect planets to earn cash from them. Also you want to control
more than 75% of galaxy to win.

Sorry for pop ads, on my own site, I quickly got free hosting, because for some reason my Google Drive didn't let me host a web page. Sorry.

Controlls:
- WASD or Arrow Keys to move around.
- Mouse Wheel to zoom in and out.
- H to move to Home planet.
- Click on planet to select it as starting node.
- Then click on other planet to connect it to previous one.
- You need to have sufficient resources to do it.
- Each planet produces production.

Tools used:
- Game Engine: Unity Free
- IDE: Visual Studio 2013
- Art: Paint.NET and Inkscape
- SFX: sfxr
- Music: sunvox

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#295Theme3.60
#346Audio3.06
#568Mood2.97
#663Graphics2.94
#692Humor2.14
#704Innovation2.97
#724Fun2.86
#816Overall2.95

Comments

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01pm

nice sound, not especially sure what i can and can't connect to

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Good game with nice atmosphere. (The music reminded me of good old games like Ultima7.)
I reached a stalemate, at least. Or is that a loss? ;)

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:11pm

The game wasn't as much about resource management as I'd hope.
There were also some cases were you couldn't connect to a node because it was too far away from any planet.

RedPanda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Sorry to disappoint you all. I gave up on the game on 2nd day, but decided to upload it anyways.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28pm

The linux version(at least on GameJolt) have the extension .tar.gz, but its a .rar

RedPanda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

@r0x0r fixed

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Despite not being finished, I thought it was fun. Cool music and atmosphere. I think it would be fun place more emphasis on resource management than speed.
I hit a bug after my first game where restarting a new game from the menu created an unresponsive game. I had to refresh the page to start over. This is on Mac/Chrome.

RedPanda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:33pm

@stephenhaney it's a chrome bug with Unity player

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I wish you had kept making the game on the second day, I think the idea has potential to be a lot of fun. Some more visualization on what your resources did and how much of them you had would would help clarify what is happening in the game. But connecting my planets together and seeing my production go up was fun.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Nostalgic music, really really good. Good game

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Very well done. keep working on this! It could turn out to be a very cool RTS :D

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Very nice music and interesting idea - good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:31am

Hi there. looks interesting but currently don't seem to be able to do any actions. Nice SFX.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]