Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

juxtapose

by zillix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

four small travelers have found themselves stranded on mirror worlds. discover the different way their stories unfold.


-----OBJECTIVE-----

discover all 8 endings.
interact with the world by talking to the travelers and using the orbs to power the various systems.


if you get stuck, the travelers will usually have a helpful hint to finding an undiscovered ending.

I've also included a link to a full walkthrough of the game


-----CONTROLS-----

LEFT / RIGHT - move
SPACE - interact
DOWN (hold) - switch worlds
+/- controls volume

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#9Theme4.33
#14Mood4.18
#48Graphics4.22
#71Overall3.84
#97Innovation3.89
#125Audio3.55
#422Fun3.20
#480Humor2.44

Comments

Ysty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36am

That was really neat. I love the look and mood of the game.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11am

Fantastic. The theme of the game is perfect. The sound and art fit the game extremely well. I love the design of both worlds.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44am

I love the graphics and look of the game. Nice :)

phaser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44am

Really cool. Didn't understand most of the story/world but that did not disrupt the fun and curiosity. One of the best I've seen

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47am

really neat aesthetic, great use of theme

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47am

Great game, tho i wish it was a little bigger, haha!

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48am

Yeah I love the audio and graphics in this game, the text went off the screen a bit though. Really good, thanks for sharing

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Really interesting game with very interesting interactions!

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:43pm

A liked the game a lot , and you nailed the atmosfere

kyru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Very nicely done, kind of weird which is good too.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:41am

Amazing artstyle, interesting idea. Great job :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45am

Wow, mega-atmospheric! I admit I was a bit lost and couldn't pin down the interactions between the two worlds, but that didn't change my opinion of it :)

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:50am

That was great.

I got totally sucked in and confused, but found my way bit by bit inside the game without needing to look at the comments.

I can't believe this was made in 48 hours. Amazing entry.

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:51am

Great aesthetic! The contrast of the two worlds was really well done. Honestly it was difficult to understand what was going on at first, but after I got the hang of it I had a great time trying to find all the endings!

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:10am

Such a neat little game, cool interpretation of the theme. I mostly liked this pixel-art with limited palette, looks great!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:47am

Game is extremely well done. Graphics and overall atmosphere is incredible!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52am

Really neat presentation; moody and strange, but in an interesting way.

Lasty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:01am

Multiple endings for re-playability, nice.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:16am

Hey this is great. Love the atmosphere, it all comes together very neatly.

jerombd says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Nice art! I wish you made more endings.... and more explanations about what's going on to these two weird places.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:08pm

The aesthetic is superb and I love the mysterious atmosphere.

Josh H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I love the style and mood to this game, although it was tricky trying to figure out what I was supposed to do. Well done!

igoramendola says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Wow, so good! I really like this kind of game. I found 6 endings so far, and I don't want to see the walkthrough haha. The art and animations are pretty good. Awesome game... one of my favorites :))

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:46pm

What a strange good mood game...

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Ohh, moody. Nice work!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:22pm

The game has a very nice look. And the story...well, awesome entry.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:00pm

This game is strangely nice. Great atmosphere and mood.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Really good game!
I managed to get all the endings, though I had to use the walkthrough for the last two.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

perfect for mood, you really nailed it!
as always, wish it was longer

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Loved the audio on this one think it worked really well with the visuals and setting the atmosphere. Also nice use of the theme.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I'm not really sure what I was doing there, but it was pretty cool and eerie, and really absorbing.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:04am

Very different, good mood and use of theme.
I get Tend, Abandon e Resing and I suspect have one more but I didn't get how get these.
Nice and simple, GG!

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:22am

Another very interesting LD game from Zillix. I'm happy to say that I reached all 8 ending on my own. It's remarkable how you manage to create entire worlds in 48 hours. I also enjoy how you've linked your recent entries together.

So about the game. It was one of the best implementations of the theme that I've seen. The graphics and animations were simple, but fit perfectly. I never felt as if I was at a loss to do. Each time I played through, I got a hint, or came up with an idea, for the next play through.

The audio was the only thing that bothered me. After playing through ~15 times, that audio loop became a bit repetitive. Other than that, I thought it was an excellent experience.

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

A small and curious world to explore. I'm always enjoying your entries since Endeavor.

I like a lot the spheric design and how the rotation align everything.

Not a total fan of the music though.

(I have to take a look at the walkthrough a couple of times :P)

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

had*

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:34am

+mood

Completely didn't understand what I was doing, but it felt involving and I seemed to irrationally care for the blighters even if I was completely perplexed by the goals ;)

Phaix says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:30am

Really cool. I love that style, well done.

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:52am

Strange, intriguing and captivating, while it lasts

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:45am

Masterful - this is why Ludum Dare is so great.

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I was very lost... but it looked and sounded amazing!! Very polished.

steve says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Interesting game, very atmospheric.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Impressive little game, got all 8 endings, really worth the time.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:13am

Didn't get what to do and text is a little too fast but I like the mood, audio and graphics. Fit well to the theme.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:42am

Like slyle and mood of the game. So wierd %)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Great entry, got four. ^^ The mood is set really well with those graphics and the audio, well done.

Dans17 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Very innovative entry!

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:44am

Nice mood. Puzzling.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Arrggh! I love the aesthetic, but didn't get the gameplay at all. I sooo wanted to though!

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Simply awesome! Gorgeous. Moody. Discoverable. Replayable. This little game has everything in a nice little package.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:10am

Great entry, loved the graphics and the theme connection!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:16pm

nice idea here, congrats on the entry!

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

The atmosphere is absolutely wonderful *-*

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]