Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Welcome to WorldCo Airlines

by siat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

All of the fun of being stuck at the airport, now in game form!

Objective: find a way to get from New York to Boston. You have the ticket, but the only direct flight has been cancelled so you'll have to find an alternate route. Buy, scrounge, or beg tickets. Who knows, maybe the help desk will take pity on you?

Keep track of the routes you found so far by consulting your notes in the upper right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Humor3.50
#350Innovation3.43
#355Theme3.52
#534Mood3.00
#543Overall3.22
#714Audio2.40
#715Graphics2.87
#850Fun2.70
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29am

I made it to Boston!

robbd7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30am

I enjoyed it, definitely got stuck pretty early on but it is a well done game. Good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

I can imagine that if this game were in development for 7 years and had a huge budget it could be amazing. As it stands, cute graphics nice feel good writing not much gameplay.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33am

Solid effort! Simple, but there's nothing let getting given a near infinite supply of money just for being smelly.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35am

Wouldn't it be nice if you could find plane tickets in the trash IRL? ;) Nice job. I enjoyed it.

zillix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43am

I did it! Very cute game :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46am

It's a nice idea, but not a very fun one. The objective isn't made obvious in-game, and honestly it feels like if I spent the time to find the right flight it would basically be like traversing a maze.

MaddeStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Very fun! It took a while, but I made it to Boston!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

That man is very generous - he keeps on giving!
Fun game :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52pm

It was nice that the ladies room had shower facilities after all of the rummaging in the bins.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I liked this a lot.

It was funny, the graphics work really well with the game, and I only had to get all smelly and beg twice!

flatgub says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:57am

I found that if i just went to the help desk and spammed up i could get an infinite amount of money, and i found myself muting the music early on, but its a cute game, good effort!
-Flatgub <3

bluewizard says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:18pm

coolest game sofar!

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:50pm

This would be great to expand on. Generate dynamic "quests" to get somewhere, and have the player solve them each time. Regardless, great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]