Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Satellite;

by dylanigan - Jam Entry

Satellite is a 3D first person complex space simulation game that was made in Unity3D in ~30 hours. This was my third Ludum Dare. This game has AZERTY and QWERTY support!

Story : "In the distant future humans live on two different planets, these two worlds are connected be only one thing, a single satellite. When this satellite breaks NASA repurposes a spaceship<2> to go deploy a new one, before it is too late..." You play as the single astronaut on the spaceship, you must pilot the ship while repairing broken systems, navigating, and trying to stay alive.

Player Controls: WASD to move, Mouse to look. Walk up to something to use it. E to repair things. M to eat, drink and energize.
Helm Controls: M to cut engine power. N to use the booster rocket. Up and Down arrow keys to increase speed, Right and left to increase turn speed.
Satellite Controls: M to deploy Satellite. Arrows to move satellite, Only deploy when the engines are stopped.


<1> This is a complex game with many different controls and
functions. To play it at it's fullest take the time to go through the tutorial (and by go through I mean listen to every clip and go into every room.) Please don't rate the game if you didn't at least skim the tutorial and read the mission details
<2> With faulty Ion engines, as you will see.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#278Innovation(Jam)3.21
#374Audio(Jam)3.09
#382Mood(Jam)3.09
#506Theme(Jam)2.88
#553Fun(Jam)2.73
#604Overall(Jam)2.88
#634Graphics(Jam)2.73

Comments

TideS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Good idea and a nice realization for 72 hours format. I'm sure you should work to make the game much better.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Good game. Very nice intro. :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Good job! looks like it was fun to make. My only complaint is I kept getting stuck to the walls. Next time consider making a material with no friction for them.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Like the intro! On my linux machine mouse speed is extremely fast, can't control game well. Maybe, fault on Unity side.

dylanigan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:34am

Sorry! That is completely my fault. I forgot to completly add mouse sensitivity settings! I will fix this ASAP.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Good game, nice audio. GJ.

torvik88 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Wow, nice game you guys pulled off. Loved the fact that you could go through the ship and just manage all.

dylanigan says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Thanks to everyone who has commented, I just want to point out that I did this by my self in 35 hours. It is jam because I use 3 days and music from opengameart which is credited in the game.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Nice! A solid entry.

sephyka says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Interesting entry. It's cool that you added AZERTY controls. I love the design of your asteroids. ^^
It might be better with more polished user interface and visual feedbacks.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]