Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

War of the Connected Worlds

by jinxly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are playing a single soldier on a mission to eliminate an alien threat that are travelling to earth through a portal connected to their homeworld.

Made with Java + Libgdx using Pyxel Edit for graphics, JFXR for sound effects and FL studio for music.

DOWNLOADS ARE EXECUTABLE JAR SO IT IS PLAYABLE WITHOUT UNZIPPING OR INSTALLING. ANY REFERENCES TO POPULAR MOVIES IS PURELY INCIDENTIAL ENJOY :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Fun3.42
#327Audio3.11
#361Graphics3.42
#454Overall3.30
#885Theme2.72
#1022Innovation2.44
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

WillysJerry says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Good game, well done

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nice graphics, good game.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Wow that difficulty ramped up! Awesome job!

4sap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Good game. Character looks a bit like a certain classic capcom character...

sai_aya says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Pretty fun, well done !

The efficiency of your weapon is pretty reliant on how fast you can mash the space button...

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Like the teleport-in effect!

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:24pm

When my daughter heard the music, she started to dance directly :). Nice and nervous game, I like it.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Not too hard, not too easy! Good luck :)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Yay, I won~!
The graphics kinda remind me of Megaman, especially the main character, even though I've never really played Megaman 1 through 10. ^^" I got bored with music somewhat quickly, so it's a good thing the game didn't last much more.
Also, I didn't like how enemies damaged me by appearing at my position; I'd like to have some long enough warning time to stay away from them. I got 3 health points at some moment because of that.

Overall, rather decent entry, though not one of my personal favourites.

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:06pm

I really liked the teleport effect but found the timespan from seeing it to being damaged by anything coming through it to be too short to get out of the way. Nice progression through the waves, but tuning the combat a little more would help it be less frustrating.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:06pm

A nice, short game! I got to the end. I liked the controls, and the waves were just the right length. The only thing I'd change is that enemies spawn on top of you without warning, which didn't seem exactly fair; most of the damage I took was completely out of my control. Maybe the game was tuned that way and it was supposed to feel like that for the experience, but I found it really frustrating.

Thanks for the game!

JNyknn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:59am

I think the graphics need more shading / more contrast between the colours and there was a bug that made the player character walk automatically, but otherwise this is a good game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]