Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World Swap

by Turkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is World Swap! The point of the game is to solve each level by swapping between 2 worlds! Some things to note: the beginning tile is safe on both worlds, so you can freely swap between worlds on those tiles. Hope you guys enjoy the game! Time Lapse coming soon!
Some help full tips:
Pressing shift in the level select will unlock all of the levels if you want to play them that way
There are also a few Easter eggs! See if you can find them!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#546Theme3.27
#642Fun2.95
#802Overall2.96
#959Innovation2.57
#1135Graphics2.05
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

Rufdawg says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:57pm

AMAZING

Rufdawg says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:57pm

9/10

MJRLegends says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:35am

Nice work :P its a good game

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Really like the concept of your game! nice puzzles.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02pm

I've seen this game concept a few times this Ludum Dare, but this is easily the best executed.

TBSHRichard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Gameplay

(Positive) + Fun puzzle mechanic that seems fairly difficult at first.
(Positive) + I do enjoy good puzzle games, and there is enough challenge in this game to make the player think a little bit.
(Negative) - After realizing that it's possible to just switch back and forth until ready to move on, it's easy to tell where to switch next. Perhaps making it so the player cannot swap on the same time in a row (would have to do something slightly different for the start tile), or even have a timer that automatically switches every few seconds.
(Negative) - The hit box for the character is a lot larger than the character; this was the cause of my losing some levels because I thought I was fully on the tile but was not.

Graphics

(Negative) - There is not a nice transition between all of the graphics. There are clear seams in the world where each tile begins and stops, and it breaks the immersion. They don't have to look nice because of the time constraints, but I feel it's important for everything to look as if it belongs in the world.
(Positive) + The graphics look nice if they were isolated from the other graphics, however.

Overall a very good game; congratulations!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:12am

The idea behind the gameplay is quite good. But I really wish there were some hints or something, because remembering where to stand and then instantly dying can be a bit flustrating.

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:25am

Really liked the mechanics! With some polishing it can turn into a great game!

kyru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:49am

Similar idea to some others I have seen but still well done. I like how simple and straightforward it is.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Good use of theme. Would be nice if it was a bit faster or there were checkpoints maybe.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Pretty simple and sweet game, got easy once I figured out I could use my mouse cursor to mark safe spots when switching between worlds. At that point I kinda started losing interest. Maybe it would be helped if the player couldn't see the entire map at once (i.e. fog of war or similar) and you introduced a sort of "echolocation" mechanic were you press a button that shows hints of nearby safe spots in the other world?

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice game. I played the first 6 levels or so until I died. You could improve it by forking the roads, so it felt more of a maze and less of a single path between two worlds. You could also give more than one life or making restart in the same room easier (now you have to go back to main menu and then go to select level, and select the last level you were in when dying). But I liked the mechanic and it was great fun!.

Teesquared says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:29am

Nice take on the theme. I ended up just using the mouse cursor to mark safe spots. Hiding the mouse could work to fix that. Also on Windows 8.1 click the UI buttons seemed to not work well but I was able to play the game regardless.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]