Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World Mosaic

by sam1373 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a very short puzzle game. To complete levels, you insert pieces into the world, connecting parts of the level.
All levels can definetely be completed.
Made in c++ with opengl.
P.S. IMPORTANT: there's a bug where sometimes some of the text doesn't appear. Can be fixed by restarting the game or (sometimes) by completing the level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#120Innovation3.83
#327Fun3.31
#438Overall3.32
#452Audio2.85
#568Mood2.97
#581Theme3.22
#679Humor2.15
#723Graphics2.86

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42am

Very good idea. I like it!

A real problem is the lagging mouse cursor.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:58am

The idea is original, but the game is not very intuitive and too difficult for me. The lagging cursor was also a problem for me, and the window could be smaller.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Not valid for win32

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Im not on my computer and it gives me error Not valid for win32 so sorry.

b5cully says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

This is a full match in theme. Very original idea as well. Good game!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Great idea. Gets frustrating when you lose a level multiple times in a row. It's hard to learn from mistakes.

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Very interesting concept. Some stuff requires hardcore time-precision though, but when you got the idea, everything is awesome. Great job. :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29pm

It's all in the timing. The gravity is pretty interesting, although hard to get used to. I'll be coming back to this game for sure.

jonask says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40pm

This is a very cool idea

SenorDiablo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Really fun gameplay, Interesting and fun to experiment and not fustrating due to the quick restart and easy self restart button no to mention fantastic design.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33pm

This might have crashed my pc ha... not sure

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Short and sweet game with a fun game mechanic :)

Would have liked to see even more levels!

dvdking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:03pm

cool game, but it is really hard to figure out how to complete a level

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Interesting concept :)

CrefossusJam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

I liked how fast you could restart which was essential in me playing so long.
I liked the art style of pixelation. The win screen needs to get fixed!
Audio plays the same sfx for death and dirt falling but would be good to mix it up.
It might be nice to force the player to drop something on an enemy as the only thing they can do so that they can use that strategy for another level.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Awesome concept! Very well executed! The enemies could have been a little slower, which would put the game's focus more on the puzzling than timing. Other than that, I want to see more levels! :D great work!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:56am

Great ! Love the idea :)

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:48pm

interesting concept, loved it :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]