Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fear - Friendly Extraterrestrial Assembly Robot

by Erkberg - Jam Entry

~ Story ~
Whole worlds are cracking and falling apart.
Who you gonna call to reconnect the pieces?
There's only one robot for this dirty job.
It's your Friendly Extraterrestrial Assembly Robot!
His friends call him Fear.

~ Instructions ~
Move with WASD or arrows, use turbo with Spacebar
Reassemble the shattered pieces of the worlds, don't let them fly off (only happens in HC)
Avoid black holes and don't let "her" troll you
Toggle minimap with M and get a hint with H
Quit to level select with Esc

~ Credits ~
Thanks to my brother Mirko aka ketzerbeorn for testing, to my friend Dirk for help with the basic idea and to my bro Danny for general awesomeness

Timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0l_gBoRCUfM

I had a lot of fun creating this game, I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#179Audio(Jam)3.49
#246Innovation(Jam)3.28
#287Humor(Jam)2.64
#295Theme(Jam)3.36
#444Overall(Jam)3.13
#465Fun(Jam)2.89
#526Mood(Jam)2.83
#587Graphics(Jam)2.87

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13am

Nice concept, also great music! Good job.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Nice game

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Nice idea, it will be best if everything move a little faster. It will make it more fun. Congrats!

chipcaramel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Her.... HER... Ugh.... I liked this game :D
I found it to be really difficult, but enjoyed it!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Interesting game. Fitting in that last piece is always a chore. Maybe make the pieses snap in place easier?
Also the menu was confusing... Hardcore mode Checkbox should be more visibly different from the level buttons.

And I hoped so much, that completing every level in HC mode would make something special happen. Why did you make me hope for something? :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Wow! quite liked their mechanical puzzle.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Original concept, funny alien girlfriend, terrifying living black-hole and insane puzzle system! That would describe the game pretty well :)

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:43am

Great game, that was fun.

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Nice game, it is hardd :D I like it!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:36am

For some reason I really, really liked this. The art was kinda simplistic, but the character design made the whole physics aspect much easier, and quite satisfying. Great use of physics.

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:20am

interesting idea, well done

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Neat idea, and well executed! I love the music, it is really good! I like that you implemented several levels introducing various concepts and different challenges. The graphics are a little so-so imo, but I like the character design. The thought of a smiling moon-sized robot is awesome! :D

AdricZero says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Liked the music. Found it way too difficult.

banana4life says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:18pm

It's really difficult and with safari you haven't sound and music.

Cheshyr says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:47pm

clever and cute. nice work.

cstudios says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:58pm

first i thought that i had to precisely place the planet together. Maybe some "construction simulation" mechanism would be cool. Like you could grab the part... insert it to place and weld it together. Also: interesting take on the theme

whalebot says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:29pm

I can't even imagine hardcore mode on this... Nice game!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Nice physics!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I failed miserably. But good game, the concept was very interesting. Well done!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Very nice game, and a good interpretation of the theme! Congratulations!

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:48am

An interesting game, but I don't know if I found it fun. More frustrating, really. :P But I still played through it.

Feedback on your UI: The Hardcore/Regular selection was a bit confusing. Maybe it would be better to have something like

- The Beginning -
Regular - Hardcore

Where clicking on the beginning did nothing but clicking on regular or hardcore started the game.

Just stuff to think about for your next LD!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Great game , music and idea. I dont really have bad things to say about it, so cheers! :D

John Drury says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Quite challenging. Loved the music and physics!

Wertle says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:50am

Nice work! I liked how weighty this felt with just physically pushing things around and trying to overcome the angular momentum and such. I had one moment where a piece was spinning across the space and it looked like it was going to spin right into the last slot, but it just barely didn't make it. If you can detect cases like that, I'd cheat them in because it would have made me feel like a badass :D Nice polishy touches like the shooting stars in the starscape, etc.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]