Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

HEDGE HUNTERS

by rohin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS: ARROW KEYS (That is all)

WARNING: Pushing random letters on your keyboard will most definitely crash the game!


Hunters capture you and put you in a hedge maze. The hunters can now call themselves the Hedge Hunters. Unfortunately for you there is no escape and you will die. But you might as well make the hunters happy by surviving for as long as possible.

If you take a magic pill you can temporarily escape your harsh reality and jump into a new world where the hunters are medics and they will heal you.

See if you can get a score over 2,000!

DANGER: Hunters have guns and can shoot you whenever you are within their line of sight!

Game written in C++ using the Cocos2D-X framework. (http://cocos2d-x.org/).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2075Coolness14%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:35am

Sorry, no OS/X.

rohin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50am

I will try and upload a Windows build in the next few days.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:28pm

I couldn't play because of the OS/X requirement, but your artwork looks really good. Nice work.

headchant says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Crashed on me (mountain lion) when I pressed a.
Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x00000001cb0aadec

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38pm

OS/X kinda sucks, please consider Windows or Linux :/

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39pm

But the game looks good, I really want to try it :)

rohin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:28am

Thanks for all the feedback everyone! I'll definitely need to make a Window's build soon! And I'll try and get that crash fixed soon. In the meantime try to avoid touching any keys from a - z while playing.

miwuc says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

I really like your take on the theme! Changing the enemies into healers is innovative and fits well.

However, there are a couple of problems with the gameplay. First of all, it starts really slowly. It takes a long time for there to be enough hunters that you can't just hide in a corner. There should already be some hunters scattered when you start the game.
Second, the collision with hunters doesn't work very well. Most of the time you can just run past them and nothing happens. Also, there should be feedback of some sort when you get hit.

All in all it needs some work but it's a great effort. Keep at it!

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:21am

At first, the game is a bit boring, I just had to stand in a hard to reach corner. Then after a while the game becomes way too difficult, because there is a hunter in every single corridor. Still, nice game!

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:35pm

I really like the maze and packman esque mechanics, I think this has real potential with just a few more elements - first on my wish-list would be a goal to win the level and second would be a way to turn the tables on those sneaky hedge hunters and give them what-ho, if you know what I mean ;) +1 for hilarious blurb

DarkCart says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Interesting art, slightly weird "pressing random keys will crash the game" bug...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]