Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spirit Bridge

by Kep - Jam Entry

Lost souls are wandering the graveyard and attacking the living!
As the Spirit Bridge, you have the power to sooth these angry spirits, then guide them to a resting place.

Move with WASD or Arrow Keys.
Jump with Spacebar.
Focus your lantern on spirits with the left mouse button.
Shield yourself with left control or the right mouse button.
Your task is complete when you return all of the spirits to tombstones.

Programming and design: Kep Amun, Hellscape Games
Sprite Art: Lisa Schmidt (my in-house artist/lawyer/wife)
Music: "The Pyre" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#316Innovation(Jam)3.15
#329Audio(Jam)3.19
#452Theme(Jam)3.03
#466Graphics(Jam)3.18
#473Mood(Jam)2.93
#520Humor(Jam)2.06
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#568Fun(Jam)2.70

Comments

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Nicely done. I really like the idea :)
Found the controls a bit frustrating.

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Camera movement is a bit annoying but except that i really like it, keep up! :)

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Hmm.. this was a bit hard, but lovely. The music is great, the game is connected to the theme, nice job :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Not sure if I'm just doing something wrong, but I can't seem to return them to graves.

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Hard to play, but srly fun.

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Thanks, all.

Yes it's a bit hard, but possible!
Be patient, use your shield, don't give up!

Gametery: I agree. I'm using Unity's new "CameraFollow" script, and it could use some more tweaking.

ChristmasBunny: Be patient. Stand still for a moment at a tombstone and the spirit will settle, then be returned.

FineSpun says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Good idea. But camera is annoying and i cant get the spirit to go to tombstone.

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I just got rid of the 'smart' camera that was pretty annoying to some. Now it is simply locked on the player. I hope this helps.

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:07am

Nice idea, good graphics and good physics but there are too many controls to watch for. However is a good game

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:03am

Interesting premise, but it was a bit hard to control.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16am

This a neat idea! The movement, specially the platforming bit, was little bit rough, but overall, you did a nice job. Thanks for the comments!

Jiyambi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:59pm

I really liked the graphics on the character. Interesting idea, fun! :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:30pm

PLAYER ANIMATION IS PAR, GAME IS DECENTLY EXECUTED, I ENJOYED RETURNING SPIRITS TO THEIR PROPER REALMS AND FREEING THEM OF THIS HUMAN EXISTENCE.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:50pm

I really liked the concept, but I couldn't get a single spirit haha. D: I suck at this game!

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:15am

Wow, I was terrible my first time around! But I tried again... and still sucked ;D Nice entry nevertheless, keep it up!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice running animation(btw, my wife makes grafic for me too :D), I like the concept of having one light with switching attack/shield. I don't like controls, jumping was quite hard. Music fit very well.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:22am

Really original and the character is lovely!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:22am

Pretty challenging, but the collision box messed me up quite a bit.

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:56pm

I tried several time but couldn't capture a single spirit. I suck. :|

I would have liked if the "flashlight" would act as the "shield" (or spook them away). Maybe.

I couldnt get the logic behind spirits turning red/blue, that would have been helpful.

With just bit more explanations and easier play, I think this would have been more fun.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:22am

Controls are a bit awkward (do you have 2 collision boxes for the main character?), and there is a lack of feedback when fighting a spirit (like a health bar) which made it hard to understand how I was supposed to capture them.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]