Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World 255

by jimmymcmillan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a young boy far from home, lost in the 8-bit multiverse!
It's a short story based adventure with various adult encounters that are above and beyond the young boys thoughts. With no understanding of the real world you do dark things in order to get home...

WASD to move.
Yellow wormholes are free to move through. Purple ones cost a token which you get from helping the poor people out!

Extract the files to a new folder and run the .jar. Requires Java 1.6. Tell me if there are any OS related issues!
Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#273Humor2.83
#436Theme3.41
#615Graphics3.00
#667Mood2.86
#729Audio2.37
#844Innovation2.78
#862Overall2.90
#957Fun2.57

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08am

This game is pretty nice.

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11am

Unfortunately doesn't work on Linux for me: "java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: Method org.lwjgl.openal.ALC10.nalcGetString(JI)Ljava/lang/String; name or signature does not match" thrown from com.beefdrippinggames.ld48.Game.init(Game.java:174) in your code.

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46pm

What you end up doing is pretty funny, good ending too :P good job.

jimmymcmillan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20am

@sftrabbit I think i was missing some natives. It should work for linux now. But I have no way to test it!

spotco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:04am

interesting game and a cool way to connect rooms

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53am

Nice. I thought the lighting was cool. I don't like it when I have to do things of dubious morality though ;)

camlang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56am

Good game. Everything is very balanced and looks amazing

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Looks nice, just the 4 squares bar is a but too big.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Nice lighting :) World 255..hmm 8 bits and stuff :D Good game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Nice game, just needs to be more developed and you gotta fix collision, i managed to get stuck once.

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Nice game. I liked the whole premise of the game going through worlds and discovering them. Although I didn't like doing the shady stuff and was trying to see if there was a choice.

It was funny though at times. Though I didn't really get the ending with flashing text that disappeared quickly.

I think with polish this could turn into something really cool XD.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:48am

Man... please fix the collision detection. I had to walk over each wormhole like a billion times. Also, your UI doesn't need four boxes, if you can only hold one item at the time! You could declutter the screen pretty easily, I think. SFX are good.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:12am

Nice! The exploration of morals was interesting, although I was a bit sad that I wasn't given a choice to refuse. The player's collision box seemed pretty weird, but otherwise it was smooth and nice. The ending was also cute :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:04am

Pretty good, a few bugs but good job on the dialog.

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:41am

Liked the effects on the menu buttons and the lighting effect was neat. Managed to get stuck at one point though and had to restart.

Hairein says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

A very nice short piece with a few surprising twists. The idea came across very well and it was a fun distraction, so thanks for that! GG!

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:16am

I would have liked to have seen more depth to the puzzles. It was very straight forward.

Lighting effect was nice. Dialog was a nice touch.

kyru says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Fun little game, graphics fit well.

hungyg says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Really nice narrative. I'm so glad that man got his necklace back :) Audio was annoying, but I really liked the game overall! (I did mute it though... xD)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Funny concept. I enjoyed it. Shame it ends so quickly. I like the lighting.

arzi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Nice shadow effect. The colour of the portals was a bit confusing, as the portals where you needed the tokes were purple and the free portals were yellow as were the coins.

caranha says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:59pm

That was short but sweet. I like the many different visual effects you put into the game -- specially the initial menus. It would be nice if there was some sort of choice involved in some of the scenarios.

Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]