Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Terrorist Hunter 2D

by nilstastic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: WASD + Mouse to aim

Tip: There are two endings but to get the good one you need to behave.

Tip: Pay attention to the mechanics.

The idea is to put light on the complexity in fighting fire with fire, that "evil" does not always spawn spontaneously and that dialogue always is an option.

Note:
Since the first day got messed up, this was created between 20:00 and 02:52 on sunday evening (8 minutes before the deadline).

Regrets: Should have added blood, but no time. :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#695Graphics2.89
#755Audio2.30
#823Mood2.68
#840Fun2.71
#903Innovation2.68
#927Overall2.81
#1178Theme1.71
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

hypp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06am

Nice work! Glad you made the deadline.

Suvidriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07am

Nice :)

Somehow got stuck at the bottom of the screen but was fine as long as avoiding that :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53am

Such minimalism.
Got sucked in...

lightsoda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Took me a bit, but I eventually got the horrible/good person endings :)

Tommislav says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32am

When other people struggle to make games in 48 hours (or in my case 72), you manage to make one in 8. Thats worth some respect =D.
And I really like the sweet/abstract nature of this game that still handles a serious subject.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Decent effort. Nothing like being on minutes at the end of a jam haha :)

I managed to kill some civ's just by starting the game. might want a different button to start.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:56am

Good work, was fun to play it.

Boberro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:04am

It's possible to fall out of the area. Still extremely fun.

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Woah, so minimal! :D
But hey, it's fun to play!

TowelKing says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Even though the graphics were very simple, they looked crisp and I liked them. I like how you had to be careful with your shots or else you'd damage civilians.

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Really neat concept, however, having to click the left mouse to start always fires a bullet or two and hits blocks, causing other blocks to become red. Is that intentional? Otherwise, had a fun time with the game. The music was cool, too. Nice work :)

Toubib says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:54pm

i like the concept to be careful about your fire, started to ram a lot on my browser.

nilstastic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

whilefun: yes, the shooting in the beginning is intentional and is meant to be the spark that starts the fire. =)

Njord says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I like the idea, but I didn't play for very long at all ... I'm colorblind green/red ^^

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Really cool mechanic I haven't seen before, I had many 'aha' moments.
Given it's short development time, it feels very polished. I also really like the music.
I just have no idea, how I'm supposed to get a good person ending... ^^

Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:24pm

I got stucked at the bottom of the screen and a right click crashs the game (under Firefox). I wished you had more time :)

Fanttum says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Not an easy game.
Also my first try I ran out of bullets and never got any more :/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]