Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Catalyst

by Glaydur - Jam Entry

Made for Ludum Dare 30 - Theme: Connected Worlds

Unfortunately we didn't finish the game. Fortunately we will finish it in the One Game A Month game jam! Stay tuned!

Made with C++, SFML, wxWidget.

Team:

Niño Mollaneda - Programmer and Animator
David Mason - Artist
Will G.J. - Game Designer

Credit to the following for sharing:

Alexandr Zhelanov - "Dark Hall" music
Paolo D'Emilio - "We're Doomed" sfx
StumpyStrust - Dark Button

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#231Humor(Jam)2.80
#333Mood(Jam)3.17
#341Graphics(Jam)3.48
#358Theme(Jam)3.21
#397Audio(Jam)3.03
#502Innovation(Jam)2.82
#583Fun(Jam)2.67
#687Overall(Jam)2.71
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

TD5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30pm

I think this game has really nice artwork, and the idea of having a limited amount of time to return to your body is really good. Shame the game is so short!

willza99 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22am

^ I'd made 5 levels and we even had an enemy come into the mix. However with time constrictions and the way it was set up it would've taken too long to program those levels.

But we're thinking about fully implementing those 5 levels for the OneGameAMonthJam.

There are also some bugs and mechanic issues that don't come across properly due to teh restrictions and set up of this sole level :(

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Agree with everyone else... Nice start. Looking forward to your OGAM entry :)

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Cool. Limiting the time out of your body is a good call. The parallax background is a nice touch, looked slightly odd sometimes though.

Glaydur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:26pm

@BinaryPie Thanks for noticing the parallax! Definitely something I am proud of for figuring it out and implementing in time :)

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Parallax! Nice!!! Fun theme, the outer-body experience felt reminiscent of lord of the rings when Frodo puts on the ring. Just a shame it wasn't longer! Good job guys!

horrorpen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Cool idea, it fits the theme perfectly! :)

Druid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Nice idea! I agree with everyone too!

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

You definitely managed to create a creepy vibe using very simple cues. Well done with that!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:28pm

it's so bad that the game is short, was very promising :)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:39pm

intriguing, the sound and the art gives a creepy atmosphere, well done, I'm looking forward for the next version.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:04pm

5 for mood - even though it was a bit... not finished, it had a realllly creepy feeling of switching between worlds - very satisfying. I kind of wish you could do a bit more in the disconnected state (not just "see ghost keys")... a lot of potential here though, I hope you keep at it!

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:29am

Beautiful art :)

(Slight glitch on the parallax when moving back and forth exactly where you start; for a moment it seems to move the wrong way)

Glaydur says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:19am

Thank you! We have already fixed the parallax bug and many others as we build the complete game :)

Tommislav says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I like the concept! Good entry. Give it a shot making a few more levels for it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]