Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Life VS

by donut345 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-Arcade Puzzle Game
- 12 levels
- Touchscreen Friendly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#81Innovation3.94
#412Audio2.94
#422Fun3.20
#534Mood3.00
#613Overall3.16
#695Graphics2.89
#820Theme2.84
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34am

Fun to play for a few minutes, but I didn't feel like trying to figure out all the ways to beat the opponent with the Game of Life rules. Also, you can't delete units after they're placed, and you can place them on top of each other.

donut345 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

sometimes you just have to do without thinking ;)

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Neat and fun to play.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Best I could do is get both types to infinitely spin around in circles, which made a really cool extremely annoying noise. Nice play on the theme, I love it.

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54pm

The basic ruleset is either explained in a complicated way or is such. I found myself just placing blocks at random and looking at the seemingly random results. Great game when you get the gist of it and great fun for a while mostly thanks to the great design and look. Pretty innovative.

donut345 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

^ i found thats the easiest way to play and eventually win

jawm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

fun for a while, not the strongest connection to the theme, but still a good game!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Game of life duel is an interesting idea indeed, but there is too much infinite cycles, stable cubes here, and it keeps going on and on

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Really fun implementation of the game of life.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:45am

It gets a little frustrating watching a 3 minute battle grind to a stale mate. As weaponized games of life go this is pretty good

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:00am

Very difficult and a bit random, as it is almost impossible to predict outcomes from the onset. However, I must admit it is something else being able to create some sort of game from the game of life. Very well done!!

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Nice use of the game of life algorithme ! Congrats

rjhelms says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:58pm

I have no idea what I'm doing here, but this is an amazing idea.

A tutorial showing some simple entities in the Game of Life and how to use them in "combat" would go a long way to making this more accessible.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]