Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Twin Bullets

by Kedume Bits - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an arcade game. The concept of connected worlds is in the fact that the action of the game happens in two different worlds. The player must stay alert of two world to survive...

==The story==

The aliens have created a portal between their world and ours. Something has gone wrong. The portal starts firing bullets into their world and ours, in the same direction there than here. We will have to dodge bullets and attract them to kill the aliens in their world.

==Controls==

[Cursors] Move
[Enter] Star Game

==Tools==

Code: Game Maker Studio
Graphics: Photoshop & Graphics Gale
Sound: Bfx
Music: Incompetech

==Author's stuff==

Code & Graphincs: Me (@KedumeBits)
Music: "On the Ground" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#55Theme4.00
#205Innovation3.64
#443Fun3.17
#482Audio2.81
#496Overall3.27
#514Humor2.39
#683Graphics2.91
#721Mood2.80

Comments

JTGaming2012 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:53am

Um... One of the aliens fled the arena... I couldn't shoot him ;(

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43am

It's a little buggy, but you can die to "solve" the problem :-S

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48am

Aaaah this idea is so simple yet so unique !!! I just wish the hitboox for the lava was less punishing.

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51am

When I got to level 6, the bullets on the aliens side would only shoot in the first direction it was fired from, even dying wasn't fixing it. But a great idea!

geometrix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20am

Nice idea, but quite buggy. Also, it's a pity that the music isn't original. Polish this up and you'll have a solid game :)

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44am

Thanks :-)

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48am

Little buggy but interesting idea!

rex64 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48am

Pretty interesting mechanics

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48am

Nice game, fun to play

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49am

Good idea but sadly it gets very one sided after a short while :)

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52am

Cool idea, fun and simple. One little note you're actually supposed to only use original music produced during the 48 hour period (with some exceptions allowed for things like drum loops).

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57am

I didn't know that i will extract the music in a while. I will put some music from fake generator music.

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03am

There is a bug sometime the second bullet don't follow our position.
Otherwise good idea !

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41am

Wow, this game is amazing ! Again, one of the aliens fled the arena too haha but anyway it's a great game : funny new mechanic, balanced, nice graphics, good progression, related to the theme. Great job !

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56am

Great concept + execution.

Larzan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Love the concept, well done!

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Great concept and very satisfying to play. I noticed the same bug as others have but it didn't spoil the fun for me. Nice polished feel and strong soundtrack.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Fun idea for a game, but there are some problems: Some enemies can go through the tiles and get stuck, so bullets can't hit them, and when the lava levels started the cannon on aliens side wasn't shooting the same way as my cannon anymore.

Makio64 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Become hard with the lava ! also sometime one alien escape from the top of the level XD
Nice ardcade game with nice difficulty !

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:17pm

I adore the pixel art in the logo, really nice. Cool concept for gameplay as well!

luismb55 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Great concept!

I faced a couple of bugs that made me kill myself in order to restart the level but it didn't affect the experience.

Good job!

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:42am

I have improved the game and solved a few bugs. Thanks for the comments! :-)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:59pm

I didn't immediately get the connection between the two panels, but once I figured it out, it was really fun

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:09am

There kept on being a problem where the RHS turret would get stuck shooting in a particular direction... I was willing to stick it out for a pretty long time, but when it got to the boss it was just too many monsters and too little control over the situation. I liked the music and SFX, though the SFX were too loud in comparison. Really nice, meditative experience, especially when the shuriken came into it, and innovative, too--loved the experience of *trying* to be shot at. Just remove the bugs and tweak the audio balance, and you'll be sterling. Thanks for the game!

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Interesting idea, but bored quite fast, on the 6 level.
Quite good entry, after all.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:27am

Cool innovation, really fun game! Great graphics as well. Fantastic job!

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:08am

Cool game !

MercuryLegba says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Very nice game! Great concept!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]