Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Other Side

by Raphy - Jam Entry

Don't worry, we'll all meet to the other side!

Arrows to move, space or enter to use the stones.

If you don't know what to do, maybe you should wait for the night :)

Juste a little experiment I wanted to try... it was made in about 24 hours.

Thanks !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#8Mood(Jam)4.27
#30Audio(Jam)4.05
#72Graphics(Jam)4.27
#210Overall(Jam)3.45
#372Theme(Jam)3.18
#522Innovation(Jam)2.79
#555Humor(Jam)1.90
#587Fun(Jam)2.66

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12am

The graphic and audio create an incredible mood ! It was a peaceful and enjoyable experiment, we'd love to see more :)

leafarz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:27am

wow on creating the mood in the game. very nice visuals and audio. would love it as it is even if that's the only mechanic!
would love to see how the story of the game goes.

really enjoyed this game of yours even if it was short (too bad).
good job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18am

It is not really my type of game, but I can appreciate the art and feel. Well done!

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18am

Beautiful and powerful. Narrative was fantastic. Bookmarked for inspiration!

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19am

Linux download only contains a .exe file.

Norgg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23am

Awww. Lovely, short, understated story.

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23am

Hey, thanks for the feedbacks !

MemoryLeek, yes I made a mistake in the Linux URL, now it's normally fixed :)

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:25am

Cool game with a nice, mysterious mood and good graphics/sound. Looks and feels a bit like a 8-bit version of "Journey".
Great job!

Elejdor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:26am

Fantastic visual effects and music plus intriguing story that I will never know :)

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27am

Really nice mood setting you built up, the sound makes it feel amazing, would love to see more of it

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29am

Wow! It was really amazing!
The mood is very particular: mountains, clear sky and clous carried by wind. Great graphics is sound (even there's some issues with its position).
Good work!

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40am

The Linux version (after updated URL) didn't run out of the box. I had to copy files from another Linux Unity game and the Windows version of this game to get it to run.
Once that was done it ran without problems :)

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44am

Oh sorry MemoryLeek, I have nothing to test it on Linux so I just uploaded the Unity meant to build for Linux! Thanks for managing to run it anyway :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:45am

Visuals and mood just beautiful.

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06am

Beautiful graphics / audio / mood. Music reminded me of Chrono Trigger / Final Fantasy, and the game brought memories of Superbrothers: Sword and Sworcery. Hats off to you :)

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:07am

Short but beautiful

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:15am

The mood in this piece is amazing! If I had to describe it in one word, I'd choose: wonderful.

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:16am

Not really a game, but I'd give you 6 mood stars if only I could... Really beautiful graphics and sound!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30am

Pretty nice, reminds me a little of Gods will be watching in terms of style. Game is very climatic. Although I didn't know what to do I beat it eventually. All in all great entry :)

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:42am

A fantastic short game. I love the art and audio, together it creates a very special mood.

Kojan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:46am

Really nice experience, the artistic side is amazing !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Great audio and visuals, short and sweet. Took me a moment to realize what to do, perhaps it could have been shown better which stones had been activated.

sephyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Wonderful mood, atmosphere and graphics. Very inspiring. The changing colors on the landscape are amazing!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Looks beautiful - excellent pixel art, particle effects, glows... Gorgeous work. The music is gentle, ambient. A great little game for a jam!

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Fantastic graphics and mood. Didn't know what to do though, even after reading your tip about the stones.

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Lovely artwork, sound and atmosphere. Managed to solve the stones after the first night.

Nice job.

skiddings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Creates fantastic atmosphere from the art, music and sound effects.
I wish to see what you could do in more than 24 hours!

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Even though I liked the concept and the general feel of the game, it was a bit too short in my my taste. I liked what I played, though. Don't get me wrong. It's not bad. I just wish it was longer :)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46pm

The game mood is powerful. Pitching sounds according to the player direction is a very nice polishing. Overall, the game has an impressive realization. And it intrigued me quite a lot so I was eager to see what would happen.

alvarop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:53am

Nice atmosphere, artwork and audio, but I just couldn't figure out what to do! I waited until the night ;(

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:39am

Wow! It always amazes me when an artist like you manages to create a moving piece of work with so few elements. Especially to smoothly conceive and execute that concept in such a short amount of time. Great work! Audio is great and I love-love the visual style. Very well done!

Have you considered a longer game? Please let me know how to find it if you do create more. I'd love to play it!

iSamurai says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:10am

The game is more like a story, a short but touching love story. The background art of the game is very beautiful, and all of them tells something about the story. Great work!

twintrite says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:16am

I was completely immersed for the past 3-5 minutes I experienced your entry...very well done. Thank you for that :) Great mood, audio and graphics style. Too bad it's so short.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:19am

Great mood.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:24am

5 stars for mood, this game is short but magic ! :)

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:59am

I see the idea here and it looks fine !! The ambience feeling is amazing by the way.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Great atmosphere! I'm off to find a kiwi

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:14am

Loved this. Very atmospheric, perfect colours. Would love to play more but it's a great piece as is.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

Nice art, mood and presentation. Wish there was more game to it, but it's fine as is :)

Satyre says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Great game, there is great potential for more. The graphics and ambient sounds are well polished. Good job for that short working time. I noticed that the first tunes are inspired of a Breath of Fire song ;). Nice message by the way.

Oli says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:08pm

wow I love the art and the feel, great job

local minimum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

As many others say, great audio and graphics. It was a bit short to get immersed in it fully the part that it was, was really great.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

simple but great atmosphere, loved the graphics and audio. Great job! :)

polyboxgames says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:39am

Absolutely beautiful, and (like most everyone else is saying) the sound really adds to it. Super short, but it would awesome to see what you could do with this for something a bit longer - I'd love to play it.

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:51am

Really short. But your graphics, audio and gameplay are flawless. Can't wait to play more of it.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:44am

Quite short but I like the mood. Nice graphics and audio

pa3kc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:03am

Short but powerful!

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:04am

Good mood and nice arts but I think it's a little too short I want some more !!

Toubib says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Is it a dream or a game? :)

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:20pm

This is a nice intro ! I love the mood and will be interested to see more ! Nice job !

unnamed1334 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:45pm

The game does a good job of telling the story and felt very polished. Good job.

Manou says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Lovely.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:20am

Really nice art. It has a great setting. took a while to walk around. would love to see more puzzles or areas to explore.

PixlWalkr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Wow nice pixel art, 5 stars for the mood!

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:18pm

I feel stupid, am I supposed to wait after having activated the stones? I'm activating them as shown in the sky(sky-order, stone-order), but there's probably something more.. :/
The game is really pretty though.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:08pm

So melancholic... I didn't understand what the stones were mean to represent but the atmosphere was really beautiful.

deepnight says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:13am

Nice mood! The game itself is really a bit too slow, especially if you miss the 1st night and have to wait for the next one. I wasn't patient enough and I "brute-forced" the enigm :)

bytegrove says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Got it working this time around, it seemed like the first sign hint hadn't triggered last time I played. (Maybe got to them before dark?)

Sunflower says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Yay, reunion~!
Poor kiwis, though, they're cute birds.

This game's main strength is mood, though story is rather adorable, too. The graphics (people in particular) reminded me somehow of The Last Door.

Overall pretty nice, short entry, though it doesn't stand out much compared to others I played (granted, they do set the bar high). ^^"

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Nice short game. I liked how moody and mysterious it was. Great job!

Linusson says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Can't say it felt like a game but the mood was really great, sound and graphics and everything just melted together into a really nice peace of art. Great job! :)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:12am

Brilliant. If you get a good story and some interesting puzzles to go with this style of artwork and effects/sound and mood, you have a winner. I would pay for something like this, feels like superbrothers before it got famous :)

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:54am

Really nice graphics. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/_5a2Oj9U9sk

TautNerve says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:53am

Beautiful!

Lythom says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:13pm

hi, here's some feedback.

What I liked :
- Atmosphere (lights, day progressing in time, mind-free feeling, sounds)
- A whole pleasing experience
- Visual consistency
- Story telling without text : a lot of things are told in a very short time which makes the game intense, aside the walking phases make it 'long' in the same time and prevent it from being frenetic. in a nutshell : good telling rithm.

What imo could be improved :
- more interactions, it's short and easy without having to do much things.
- walk animation is a bit approximative.

Overall a good experienceI appreciated to have, thanks for the game =)

Sep 16, 2014 @ 8:11am

This was really beautiful. The telling of a story without using words was pretty masterful.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Nov 10, 2014 @ 5:03am

Yeah, ya gotta let experiments live in their own space. So it's about the art and mood, and not about bunches of levels.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]