Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Convergence

by skyr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's been 14 years since the convergence. On 1/1/2000 00:01 the portals opened. Portals connected to any world imaginable. And then they came. We run. We hide in the dessert for the last couple of years. But they found us. They are coming for us. I am the first line of defense. It's time to defend ourselves...

Convergence is a tower defense game played with the mouse or on a touch screen. I used Construct 2 for the game and jfxr fir the sound effects.

Instructions: Click/Tap to place turrets. Click/Tap on a turret to upgrade or salvage. Every enemy drops a specific resource when they die. Use these resources before every wave to upgrade the turrets. During the wave Click/Tap to throw grenade. When the enemies reach your base the drop your health and your resources. You loose when your health reached zero.

Always leave a path open for the enemies to follow to the camp. Don't forget to use your grenade.
(You might want to resize your browser window tomake it smaller if you play on a big screen.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#451Fun3.16
#868Audio2.00
#908Mood2.56
#940Overall2.80
#1052Graphics2.26
#1161Theme1.89
#1176Innovation1.89
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00am

Nothing too innovative, but fun for a while.

Sounds would have been awesome!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:29am

A fun little tower defense game. Not much more than that, though. Easy to pick up and play, so you have that going for you. Made it to Wave 10.

phi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:41am

Smooth, simple tower defense experience. The difficulty is okay, but in the beginning there's really only one way to play without losing. The easier you make the game, the more possibilities you give the player to develop his own playing style.
Works well on mobile devices. It's a little bit slow, and only playable well on big screens.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:43am

Very fun, played for a while. Very well done, although sounds would have been great.

reheated says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:48am

A TD game, but with a couple of twists which I like. I like upgrading a tower to customize it instead of building specific types. Also, the grenade mechanic is a nice way to let me interact during the waves without letting me juggle. The game is a little unbalanced but that's part of the fun of tower defence. I'm guessing it goes forever...?

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

Nice game. With a few bugfixes (cannot build in top right) and some balancing tweaks (scrap is useless after filling the map with towers), this could be a fun game.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Very cool game. But I'm pretty sure those are lady bugs and not pirates; also the wizards are jelly fish wizards... ;-) -- would be nice if it was 1.) a little less buggy (with the messages), 2.) had a fast forward button, and 3.) had better menus/in game options (like you can only build during the build phase and not the march phase..., etc.)

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Also the mechs are totally really just part of a larger hive mind centipede... gives me an idea on how to render a bad guy in my game. :D

H1S2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Nice Tower Defense game. Audio would have been nice. The games balancing isn't perfect yet but sure brings fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]