Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gingerbread Odyssey

by RookMage - Jam Entry

A generic confusing adventuring gingerbread platformer.

WASD or arrow keys to move
SPACE to interact/stab sword (must gain sword first)

After questing to save candyland from the evil vampire king, you meet him-only to be thrown off a cliff into one of the dark netherworlds. From there, journey upward, through the worlds, connected by portals, back to your homeland. With your newfound blade and dodging power, give the vampire king a taste of his own medicine.

EDIT: for all of you who can't see the theme, play a bit farther into the game. I elected not to use the theme as a mechanic but as instead a part of the story. The portals 'connecting' the 'worlds' are the goals of each level. It's a little unclear, but I suppose that's why I'm making this edit. Cheers!

Programmed with: Haxepunk
Libraries used: Platformer base script (http://forum.haxepunk.com/index.php?topic=820.0)
Art with: Anime studio pro
Masks with: photoshop
Sprite sheets packed with: Sprite sheet packer (http://spritesheetpacker.codeplex.com/)

Thank you to: http://deepnight.net/ for the tutorial on platformer basics and showing haxe can be used to do things.

Updated on 8/25/2014 at 8:58 PM to add one more level. Have fun in Alfheim!

Also, if you die during the first level or are pushed off a cliff, you'll probably lose movement controls due to spawning in the floor. Press space and you'll free yourself. Sorry I can't figure out what causes this bug, but there's a fix. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#221Humor(Jam)2.83
#546Graphics(Jam)2.95
#619Fun(Jam)2.59
#652Audio(Jam)1.52
#664Mood(Jam)2.39
#671Theme(Jam)2.24
#696Overall(Jam)2.68
#749Innovation(Jam)1.92

Comments

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Wow, haxe

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Good job! I like the graphics.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51pm

I claimed revenge. Fun little platformer :D

Cezel_ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51pm

I like the way that the theme is incorporated in to the game.
Also really fun game!

Killbert says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

You get stuck on the level if you don't make it over the first jump.

RookMage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14pm

@Killbert what do you mean? I'm having no problems. Do you have any screenshots?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35am

The art could use some work, but its a neat little platformer. Theres some delay on the jump which makes it a little weird to move around.

RookMage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49am

@theGameingProject What system are you using? I haven't gotten any lag in the jump, but the game is horribly optimized memory-usage-wize. It might just be I've loaded too much at once.

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I realized it was a little easier to just ignore all of the enemies and jump past them. If there were more incentive to make you fight the enemies, it could be a lot more engaging!

I had fun knocking the enemies off the platforms :P. Justice!

RookMage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25pm

@andrewKennedy Yeah, I would have loved to add a wallet and other fun things like that. A store in-between levels would be an awesome way to add new armor, weapons and upgrades... Maybe I'll make a post-compo edition.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I couldn't move after getting pushed off of the cliff at the beginning.

RookMage says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Ah, that does appear to be a bug. Jump and you'll be able to move again.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Good graphics.

nikki93 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:45am

Hilarious stuff! The art is pretty cute. And the sword animation is totally lolz.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:02am

Lovely graphics. Facial expressions are hilarious :D

Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:16pm

nice little platformer, The connection with the theme wasn't that clear tough.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:44pm

cute platformer, well done

jonask says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Good graphics but would have been nice with a bit more challenge and variation.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:44pm

kind of funny game, the guy looks so gay when jumping.

havana24 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Nice art, I don't get the theme but anyway it is a good game! :)

brokenbeach says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Not entirely sure on how it relates to connected worlds (maybe I didn't get far enough) but I had fun. I thought the art was cute, and boy do I love all the pink. With more than a couple days, I think you could expand the idea a lot.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Gingerbread for the win! Nice graphics and animations, good story. Well done!

oakus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:01am

It's quite ok platformer, but I don't see a theme here.

RookMage says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:54pm

To all those confused, I elected to use a mario-like world traveling mechanic. The idea is that the different 'heims' are different worlds connected by portals that you must travel through. It's a bit more obvious if you play through all the levels, I wish I was able to incorporate it more into the ending and such.

George says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Nice platformer! Love the humor in it :p

mikale says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Really nice job getting a complete game made! I enjoyed it a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]