Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Universe of Color

by Elforama - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Float around in a universe of color. Mix colors, find orbiting colors, enjoy colors. Enjoy!

Note: Incomplete, there is no real objective added yet. Just floating around =]

Controls: Arrow keys or WASD to move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#568Theme3.24
#582Mood2.96
#607Graphics3.03
#763Innovation2.88
#850Fun2.70
#897Overall2.85
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47am

Nice graphics and cool mechanics! Feels a bit aimless though. Also would benefit from sound and art.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47am

It plays like Katamari Damacy.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

Nice and colorful. I wish there was something that "threatened" the number of bodies acquired, like a dark hole kind a thing. Would work for some trippy colorful game.

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51am

Neat!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20am

Wonderful! Loved all the colors and loved the sense of scale you got as you got larger and larger and the camera zoomed up

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21am

I built my ludum dare game using unity 4.6 beta and, im pretty sure, have successfully exported a web player build.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

Definitely feels like Katamari Damacy, but thats not a bad thing. Pretty neat little game. Would have really liked some music with it :)

otresnjak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

Very fun and mesmerizing for such a minimalist idea!

invi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:42am

Neat. More of a tech demo than a game though.

shico says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59am

The web version of the game starts suffering from crippling lag at about 800 bodies on my computer. After 1000 I can't even move the colors anymore they just sit there picking up even more bodies as they spawn. The game continues to run even if you switch tabs, so I bet this game could crash someone's browser if they just left it open for a hour or two while they where doing something else. The game does make pretty shapes and colors though so if you like pretty graphics this game is pretty.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

This was a lot more fun than I expected haha! Got to the low 900's before the frame rate screeched to a halt, but a nice relaxing entry. Good job!

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34am

Do you win when it crashes?
Just kidding it was fun.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46am

Love it! :D

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55am

Finally! A game that rewards you for smashing things together :D nice job. It would be cool with a bit of background music and maybe some sound effects.

hypp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12am

I really enjoyed playing this. I don't think there is a need for an objective! Good idea and well executed.

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13am

Fun! I couldn't stop laughing as I thought about the idea of massing huge celestial bodies together. After collecting a hundred or so though I was hoping for something new to happen. :)

lambomang says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

I made up my own objective, which was to create a mass as big as the playing field :3 However it started to seriously lag out at 900 orbs :(

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03pm

A pleasant little experience. :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49am

No objective, but nice graphics and FX ++

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Very pleasant game, at first I thought that the goal of collection colors would not be fun, but It kept me occupied. After 1200 bodies mark the games started to lag horribly. :)

tatmos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:19pm

I like connection.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Hi there. This is good fun toy... Nice subtle rescaling of the viewport. Katamari in space. Shame no sound. Good job!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:04am

unfinished but a really nice beginning. i actually really enjoyed connecting the 100s of planets together :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]