Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bound

by grayhaze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: I've uploaded a post-competition version with the random module switching commented out in the code. It makes for a pretty one dimensional game, but at least it allows you to explore the procedurally generated levels without the frustrations of waiting for an exit from each module!

-----------------------------------------------------------

Collect the coins on each level to progress. The connected level 'modules' switch randomly as you play.

Use the arrow keys to move and to stick to walls and ceilings. Press space to jump.

The levels and coin placements are all procedurally generated, with the individual modules being constructed from a pre-defined pool of layouts. There are eight levels of increasing complexity.

I didn't quite manage to finish this on time, but it's still quite enjoyable. The original idea was that the individual level 'modules' would be swapped around by the player in a split screen view to make paths to progress from the green module to the red one. Collecting all coins would have opened a door in the red module to the next level.

Written in Haxe, OpenFL and HaxeFlixel.
Sound effects created with sfxr.

Have fun! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#480Humor2.44
#704Theme3.05
#765Fun2.81
#775Audio2.25
#790Innovation2.84
#850Graphics2.63
#886Mood2.59
#924Overall2.82
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02am

I found it a little hard to know when which world would be connected with which other... Also, I lost track of which level I was...

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03am

Some visualization of the connected rooms would make everything easier, but great concept :)

Kuupu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39am

Great concept!
It's very fun to see how the stage changes while you're playing, however the randomness may be frustrating as you are left waiting for the right connection to move allong.
Nice game, congratz :)

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:14am

Very cool entry! Sometimes there are some gaps between the sprites which makes it look worse for moments. Waiting for the connected rooms took quitelong sometimes as well. However the platformer controls were really well done and the game felt really nice!

grayhaze says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Thanks for the comments! I'm aware that the random switching can be quite frustrating at times. I really put it in there at the last minute to at least hint toward the game I intended to make and so that it was clear that I'd worked on something in line with the theme instead of a generic platformer. In hindsight, with an hour or two extra I could have added a very simple tile switching interface. As usual though I ended up polishing where I should have been adding new things. :)

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Concept is good... Fluid gameplay .. Sound effects .. But sometimes get stuck on some rooms ...And didn't know the destination other than collecting all coins .. :)

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

The world continuous generation seemed very much random and at first I thought the game was bugging. I like the idea but it may need more polish. A bit of challenge would be nice too. Cool graphics and very smooth fast-paced gameplay.

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Really tight controls! Also the multiple sounds for sound effects goes a long way :D

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23am

Fun to play. Good game concept.

stvr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:39am

Unpredictable level transitions made things a bit confusing, but I like the procedural elements.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I've uploaded a very quick post-competition version of the game with the random switching of level modules turned off so you can explore without having to wait for exits. It doesn't really make for a very interesting game, but I realise the randomness was frustrating for some.

I'm currently working on expanding the original idea into a proper game, so I'll post updates when there's something worth seeing!

Gaeel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:53pm

There's something here, but I feel something is missing. Maybe some control over the level spawns, or some kind of platforming challenge(death spikes, precision jump, etc...)?

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:27am

Cool, one thing you did really well was the feel of the character, lots of games made in the time limit understandably have poor control or are too slow or don't bother with jump height depending on the length of the press. So well done for doing well with that, we've avoided making platformers because we know we couldn't manage decent character control! Needs a different method for changing those colours, because as it stands you just have to wait for the right colours to appear. But sounds as if you've got some good ideas moving forward with developing it, good luck!

dunin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:00am

Interresting idea, but for now, the switch thing don't add any challenge (maybe a time attack?)...
(and I freeze the game: I was between two "worlds" during a switch)

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:45am

Nice game :)

Posva says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:31pm

I really like the graphics, they look cool. The gameplay is fun and feels confortable

klianc09 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:06pm

The randomness is really unnecesary. With the static levels it was more enjoyable. Controls felt good, especially liked sticking to walls.
I was just missing some kind of challenge or other elements except collecting coins.

doomista says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:17pm

I like platformers with this kind of control scheme, but waiting for rooms to shuffle and waiting for the last room in the level was very frustrating.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Thanks for the comments guys. I apologise again for the random switching. It seems to have really upset some people. ;) The finished game will use the randomness for good, I promise.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I think this game, when finished, could play quite well on a handheld. When I played I experienced some fps slowdowns, just so you know.
As you can see the rooms appear and disappear around you, maybe one idea could be to let the player rearrange the rooms to his/her liking? Like drag and drop them maybe? :)

Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:22am

Reminds me SMB. One thing that should be mentioned is that feature with "jumping" levels appeared a bit frustrating for me. Nice job anyway!

sol_hsa says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Too bad about the random swapping, the gameplay was rather fun otherwise. If the swapping had some logic to it, the game would feel more "fair"..

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Good game, control was a bit difficult ,but the game is fun

Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I missed some variation in the levels, some traps would make this a much better, still a nice game

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:07am

Boundless fun! The random switching makes it a bit frustrating but more challenging and rewarding to play. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]