Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hello World

by Rahazan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You must ensure communication between worlds does not have exceedingly high packet loss, because how else can we play farmville?

Thank you for playing!

=======
Instructions in-game too
=======

Draw a line between satellites to set the target.
The blue messages go to the blue circle, and the same for other colors.
Check out the .GIF and you will get it.

6 levels, press R to restart level.
You have a limited amount of satellites per level.

Want a challenge? Place only one satellite per level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#5Theme4.42
#6Overall4.26
#11Innovation4.32
#18Mood4.14
#24Audio4.00
#67Fun3.82
#163Graphics3.82
#219Humor2.96

Comments

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34pm

You weren't lying when you said it was completely different! Awesome game, really fun. I like how you embedded the audio on the page.

SilverToad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47am

Nice entry, bro! +)
I think tutorial can be a little bit understandable.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47am

Cool mechanics. Very nice game, like it.

soyliquid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43am

Very high quality game!
Radio communication sound has effective for mood.
I want information icon to know who is "Sender" , and UI text is recommend to stay camera relative static position for easy to see.

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56am

Delightful game. Very relaxing.

Very unique puzzle mechanic and good execution.

nataku92 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29am

Very polished! I really like the camera zooming, although might be good for it to auto zoom at the start of a level (was a bit confused on a level before I realized I needed to zoom out to see the other planet!).

Also, the radio chatter audio was a neat idea and really helped the mood!

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:15am

Really great game. Super unique and innovative. Difficult too, but I love the audio!

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:31am

Such a sweet entry imo. Smooth gameplay, nice art, and the mechanics managed to be unique yet simple.

slumber says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:34am

nice entry, i really enjoyed the concept as a puzzle game. great job!

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:51am

Great game! Loved the mechanics, very innovative. I agree with the others comments, so I have nothing more to add. Well, the asteroids was so fun and hard. :)

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:53am

Nice-looking game and a cool idea. I thought it was a bit frustrating that the packets started going immediately and couldn't be paused - I wanted some time to look around and figure out what was going on.

marudziik says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:33am

The game is very polished, I really like the mechanics. It could use a pause button and the music could just continue instead of restarting with the beginning of the level when resetting, but otherwise it's pretty much perfect. Love it.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:37am

It's like the part in independence day! Check mate! haha
Played really well, and I got quite in to it after a while.
Visuals suit the gameplay very well

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53am

Really original, I liked it a lot :)

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Beautifully serene, audio fits perfectly (but did you do the audio yourself, or is it more a JAM entry?)
Really great and enjoyable game!

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Nice work, I loved the game mechanic, and the general atmosphere created by the dispatch messages and the music!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Love the parallax, dotted lines with transparency fade. The difficulty curve was nice and there are varying strategies.

You could teach about the data bouncing between satellites earlier. I was overwhelmed on the last level when it's getting destroyed.

The camera could start zoomed out or even make a transition from zoomed out to overview at the start.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:17am

this was a really amazing entry, loved the idea of the police scanner, and overall this game is pretty fun. Excellent job! :)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:37am

Loved it! the mechanics + the ambient theme was really nice :D

OmegaVesko says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Hard as hell, and I love it. One of the best games I've played this LD.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Awesome game! My only complaint is that it needs a longer tutorial. The objective became clear to me in the last level. Other than that, very, very nicely done!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:40am

This is one of the most inventive ideas that I've seen thus far. Great job.

lkr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Unique and fun game mechanic :)
Also loved the visuals and the moody and calm music.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:41pm

- Didn't realise I could zoom out at the beginning, so in one of the firsts level I thought I had to intercept signals from outerspace, and send back the others to the source
- Could be nice to pause the level at the beginning, just to have the time to evaluate the situation


Great job anyway, those are just little details

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Man, this is why there's a "mood" category. So flippin' cool!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]