Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trapped Between Worlds

by Tommislav - Jam Entry

2D action platformer. Take control over the square ninja as he tries to fight his way out of this strange place, but be warned: the guardians of the connected worlds will not give up easily!

Original idea was to do a mix between Ripple Dot Zero (www.rippledotzero.com) and Dark Souls. The time limit made it very challenging.

This game is made by me (code and art), and Steve Olofsson (audio). We hope you will enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#107Audio(Jam)3.71
#153Fun(Jam)3.46
#176Overall(Jam)3.53
#197Humor(Jam)2.93
#266Mood(Jam)3.31
#505Graphics(Jam)3.06
#552Theme(Jam)2.74
#588Innovation(Jam)2.65

Comments

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:57am

Well done! I especially liked the large "bosses"!

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

Great! But the first level seems have bug, once you jump out of boundary the game do not restart.
I like dashing combine with jumping!

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30am

Nice game. One of the best ways to explain the controls, I really dig into it! :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Really nice use of particles, some great parallax (really see the Ripple Dot Zero elements there). Tough! Nice work. =)

suppi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09pm

A lot of good stuff in one game. the graphics does not do justice to the gameplay and visual effects. very nice!
Two things that bothered me a little were the controls and the camera speed. they made my head spin a bit.

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16pm

There is a lot of content to explore in this game, good work! Really like the dash mechanic.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:20am

Surprisingly good! especially bosses. Good job!

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:26am

Loved the visual effects, especially the hitting animation. Slick as f&*k. Controls were pretty tight as well, except maybe the jump (too fast). Graphics are limited but that's to be understood of course :P, not so the sound which was awesome.

I liked the mechanics a lot, but still think the theme could have featured a little better. Overall a solid entry :) Good luck!

SilverToad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:29am

Yeah, nice platformer game +)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:14am

Aww Tommy and Steve.
You've done well.
The theme might be a little vague :-)
But the game play makes up for it.

And what hi-fi!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:50am

Great and neat game!

DalsGames says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Liked it a lot, neat gameplay and thigh controls and nice particle effects. Nice.

Tosic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

It is amazing, simple art, but the game is awesome!
Nice work :D

nilstastic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Pros: It has a very nice feel to it, nice graphics and interesting bosses. =)
Cons: It's hard as f**k! =)

Macocco says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Game was okay. I really liked the combat system and the dashing made the movement something really special. But I think having to restart the whole game when you die is a bit too tough. The bosses were pretty difficult anyways.

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Perma-death is rough, i was having a pretty nice run but got impatient with the iron room boss and ended up rushing to my death, starting from scratch did not sound appealing at that point.
Bit buggy at times, but the gameplay is nice, awesome music, and overall it's a solid entry, nice work!

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:02am

Great game, love the graphics and music, Gameplay is also pretty fun, Overall pretty solid game.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:53pm

This game is awesome.

At start it was a bit hard, then I realized I can farmed the lava world to upgrade before meeting the bosses.
On the tutorial level, you can get out of bond if you perform a dash jump to the top left part.

I enjoyed a lot the music, simple and efficient.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Wow. Great level design, visuals and audio. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]