Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Data-Man

by Hyoga-3D - Jam Entry

Data-Man is a game where you need to acquire data from big companies so your startup can grow. Inspired on Pac-Man this game is our vision of it in a 3D World.

Take care of your data!
Hope you like it!

And please leave a comment, would mean a lot.

Controls:
Mouse On Menu;
WASD Move;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#92Fun(Jam)3.60
#176Overall(Jam)3.53
#181Audio(Jam)3.48
#254Graphics(Jam)3.69
#309Mood(Jam)3.22
#359Innovation(Jam)3.09
#407Humor(Jam)2.37
#645Theme(Jam)2.36

Comments

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

Really neat update on Pac-Man! Feels tense (which is a good thing!), and I really like the art style!

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Fun little game. I really enjoyed the feeling of acceleration as you fly through the worlds, though I don't know if that was actually there or if it just felt like it. However the enemies being the same colour as the collectables was a problem.

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:13pm

This was super funny :) Thanks!

Riocide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

So your instructions say use arrow keys, but the game seems to be WASD? Also, while i was trying to figure out the controls, pressing space did some really weird stuff. Teleported me into columns.

Once I got going tho, the game was fun, I especially enjoyed your slowdown effect.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Sorry for the controls error, I changed on the description already, thanks Riocide!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Very cool, it feels like a mix of Packman and Sonic. Unfortunately I couldn't beat even one of the maps, because my guy kept getting stuck in intersections or randomly turning. It happened more at the high speeds. Not sure it you could even reliably win at those speeds, with human reflexes (although the little 'I'm about to die' slow mo helps a lot).

Very cool reimagining of an old game.

Nanocentury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Very impressive entry

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:42pm

I enjoy it even if it's a bit too hard to see where the enemies are and you always die because you didn't saw it..
Also the "connection" between worlds is only because the levels are like worlds.. Not really a connection..
Except that is still very fun game to play and I like the style.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Very pretty game! Fresh take on a classic genre. Great job!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Nice pac-man update. I really like the speed forgiving slowdown when going too fast and running into a ghost. That was a great design touch.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Awesome riff on pacman - really great graphics and cool sound.

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08pm

really like the speed you move around the worlds. music fits well too.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Great art style as many peoples already say and very fun game ;)
To resume great entry :)

Naytron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Good audio and clean art, as others have said the difficulty comes not from being hunted by the AI but from stumbling into them because they don't stand out enough, but the slowdown from Pacman Championship Edition helps and the sensation of flying around a sphere is fun.

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Very different game! Really nice use of PAC-MAN style!
Great game!

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Most epic pacman under the sun!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18pm

That music is catchy as hell.

Cool adaption of Pacman, with a few minor issues, like hard to make out enemies and some getting stuck in the wall here and there.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Some blocking on intersections occured but generally neat mechanics. Great job :)

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Nice, Sphere Pacman!

Pinqu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Very nice game. Classic arcade in full 3D. A+++

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Never seen anyone trying bring Pacman to 3D! Good job on this one - it looks really great!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Really cool version of pacman, great graphics and music. My only issues are that it's difficult to see enemies and it's easy to get yourself accidentally killed.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I like the graphic style, simple and complex at the same time, it works well.
Regarding the gameplay, the transition to the 3D view brings some more orientation to remember where are the pills, it makes it more nervous maybe.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Nice work, really fun to play. Also the graphic is pretty good.

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04pm

It's an intresting concept with pac-man in a sphere but aside from looking cool it's pretty frustrating to not see that much of the map and plan around it. Also got stuck on terrain a lot...

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I love the pace of this. Audio is neat as well.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Next-gen pacman! Never actually played pacman, so it was very exciting for me!

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Nice game ! The music is great, I like the slow-down effect to avoid collisions

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:55pm

This was really funny and fast game for me! Some glitches with getting stuck but it can be played swiftly anyway. And the best part - the music :D

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Very funny!

PixelMind says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Lovely little game.
Some of the enemies are a bit difficult to see

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Very nice audio, and visuals!

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57pm

The music and sound effects make this game so fun, particularly when you're travelling really fast and you can eat the enemies. The graphics are great too, nice work!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37pm

This game was fun, but it's a little hard to see the enemies because they're the same color as the little collectible bits.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04am

Really nice!
Gameplay worked well and it's a cool take on pacman style gameplay.
The sphere shape makes it annoying to see where enemies are, but this is kinda fixed by how the game plays slower in the beginning.
bookmarked ;)

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:22am

Cool game.

mlabarca says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36am

This was awesome! I really love the music!

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59am

I like it as a game a lot, though it might be disconnected from the theme for me. I especially like how time slows when near enemies.

harko12 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03am

Great twist on pac man. I had some pathing issues, like not able to go where I thought I should be able to, but maybe there is a rule in place I didn't know about. Great job.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:49am

I am not a big fan of pac man but this was pretty enjoyable.

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

cool little version of pacman, it shows how much effort you put into it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04am

Love the music, and it looks great!

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04am

Nice spin on the pac man formula! Loved the slo-mo cam before losing, and the speed changes mid-level. Great job!

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:04am

What a cool take on the pacman style. I like how it slowed down right as you hit an enemy. Nice mechanics, nice style.

J-d-H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:42am

Haven't played pacman for a long time. Was fun.

MoArtis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24am

Nice entry! But this is super hard! :D

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:34am

It has enough going for it to make it more than just a 3D Pac-Man. The slowdown right before hitting an enemy is cool, as is the gradual speed-up. It feels a bit flashy, though, and the main menu is confusing.

spotco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59am

I got stuck in some areas, but overall I had fun, especially when things started speeding up as you eat more dots.

The graphics were very nice and it just felt good flying around each sphere world.

saswat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25am

One Word - Awesome

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53am

This is pretty awesome work! I can totally imagine it as a fully fledged game.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27am

Great take on a dot muncher - great idea and generally well executed ! Wrapping everything round a sphere with variable height walls really changes the dynamics, since planning is harder due to the limited visibility, but not impossible. Sort of puts it somewhere between Pac-man and 3-demon, I guess. Other have mentioned the slowdown feature also - great design. Loved the music - but I don't think it quite fits the visual theme. Glitch-wise, I did find the occasional corner where I got stuck and could turn but not move. Might have been the result of some key mashing (PS, I'd love to play this on my OUYA :) )

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45am

I really like this but I'm totally rubbish at it! I especially like that you gain speed even though because of that I'm incapable of finishing any level :'D Gotta work on the collisions a bit as sometimes I got stuck into corners

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:47am

Cool adaption of an old classic. Great graphics and sound. Bit hard to see the ghosts sometimes when they are the same colour as the pellets. Well done though, really nice game!

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25am

Awesome, fun to play, great mod of the pacman type of game, good gfx, great fitting energetic music + sound, loved it.
The movement is a bit buggy though as i got stuck several times, but thumbs up, good job!

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:42pm

That was really neat actually. I oddly enjoyed the music.

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Nice idea realized on an old game !!!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Hi Hyoga, could you tell me what browser you're running on? I'll have a look into the loading bug then.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Okay, it looks like IE doesn't support ogg audio. I'd recommend you use Chrome or Firefox to run any other HTML5 projects here, since IE is not exactly the best at implementing web standards. If I get a workaround set up I'll post again.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25pm

I've hacked in support for mp3 audio fallback, have fun! :)

Altourus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52pm

This is very impressive. I have no idea who you completed something this complex in such a short time

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53pm

5 stars in Audio- this music is awesome!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Having Pacman-like gameplay on a sphere is brilliant! Love the abstract art style as well. My only issues were that it was a little hard (I've tried many times), and the game seems to slow down a lot when the player is close to an enemy.

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20pm

NiiiiiiiiiIIiiicce..!
I like the slow-motion when you are close to enemies

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33pm

@Jishenaz The slow when you are close to enemies is na effect so you get the chance to run.

To all of you, thanks for your feedback, we are really happy that you enjoyed our game, thanks a lot!

cacciatc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:51am

This is a great entry! I do miss the ability to quickly eyeball the screen and figure out where enemies are like in Pacman cause then I can plan my route. Maybe a mini-map or radar feature would work well here.

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:33am

Very cool take on Pacman. I like it!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:06am

I love this 3D pac man game. Extremely fun. Seemed to lag a bit when I got close to the "ghosts" - not sure if that was intentional or not, but saved my life a few times! Slow-mo time.

ATesh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:13am

Navigating that initial menu didn't make sense, but once I got in game it was fun. I really liked the slow down effect when the enemies got near.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07am

I definitely felt the pacman vibe and playing when you can't see the whole board is definitely an interesting twist.

Demorro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:19am

Gotta mimic the other commenters. Great riff on Pacman, really fun take on it. Love the glow on the character too, looks real nice in general actually.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:06am

Great game. Fun but kind of hard to tell where I'm supposed to go when you can't see the entire board. Also not sure what the main outer board is. Great game all around tho.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:40am

nice clean and neat style!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:11pm

like other's have said it's like a mix between pacman and sonic haha.
it was a little hard noticing the enemies sometimes tho, and there was some unobtainable dots(for me atleast. i think it was a bug tho)

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice reuse of pacman gameplay, good gfx and sounds.

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Nice 3D twist on pacman. Good game, original and fun.

Halfbus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I really enjoy the game. Nice music, but very intrusive sounds.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:02pm

@Hyoga-3D Thanks for telling me. I didn't realize that was an important feature. I can see how that's useful when the player goes really fast.

pLaw says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:54pm

It's like pac-man, but faster and spherical :D
Nice work!

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Pacman is hard. Your game is hard. It's a good version of Pacman.

Tommislav says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46pm

The controls were really good. Fun game, but a bit hard as you don't really have time to react to the enemies. Good thing with the slowdown, but I think it should have slowed down even more.
Great work!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:10am

very nice, the only problem is that the slowdown looks like a bug at first, but then is cool if you realize what it is.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:11am

would you mind, making a linux build?

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:33am

@r0x0r can you answer one question of mine, can't you play the game in a web browser on Linux ? If no I will try to export for Linux.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10am

REALLY lovely - visually interesting, solid gameplay. I could definitely being developed into something bigger! Great work!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:32am

@r0x0r Now you can try it, we made a version for Linux now, but I can't test it since I don't have linux, but I think it should work.

donaldducky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:38am

wasn't sure what was happening at the beginning with the splash screen but fun game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:19am

Nice entry. Very nice take on updating PacMan. Nice visual style and movement. Not sure I like the slowing down when you get near an enemy. I'm sure it was done for fairness and due to speed. I may prefer slower/smaller levels, vs that effect? Great job on this.

mechabit says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

Love the spherical worlds, nice riff on sci-fi pacman. The slow motion effect when near an enemy is a nice idea but I don't think it's smooth enough or long enough to react and dodge.

lasagnegames says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Dammit, such a good entry! Good work, really addictive.

akymos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Lol... Pac-man on a sphere.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

fantastic art style, I really like the level select screen

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Frenetic. Good rhythm game, good music! Good job!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:21am

The perspective kind of made me dizzy a little, but it was fun overall. I liked that it slowed down time when the enemies got too close so that you could make last-minute saves!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:27am

Really fun, maybe a life system would be nice, kinda sucks to have to start over after a death...

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:55pm

a fun challenge really polished and wel executed, my only pet peeve is that the wolrd being round, the enemies are really hard to spot in time, I think the game should have more visibility to give more time to evade enemies.

01F0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:13pm

I like the dark, retro feel the levels have. The music is upbeat and matches the gameplay in a great way. It sure is a complete game! Good work! :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

A refreshing revisit of pac-man. The controls felt nice and the graphics were quite good considering the time constraints. Great work!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

That was intense!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:13am

Wow! Planetaary packman looking very and very intersting! Buggy movement, but this one pretty cool!

varun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:28am

Interesting take on Pac-man! Loved the aesthetic!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:03am

Impressive aesthetic and super fun to play!

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Pretty nice update on pac-man. The bullet time when you're about to hit a ghost was a very neat detail. It gave you time to escape and looked cool.

I just had a minor grip with the controls. They didn't seem very responsive and I seem to have got stuck a couple of times.

Great job overall.

doomista says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Great update of classic game. Controls are not responding properly, sometimes it is impossible to turn on some junctions or just cannot commence movement in some direction when stopped

arzi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Spherical variation of Pac-Man is quite a neat idea. Like the art style too.

bytegrove says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:14pm

I love how fast paced it is! This is simply a very fun game with cool music! As it is such an uptempo and happy game, I'd love to see it with some more colours. The slow-motion effect was a nice touch for making it possible to avoid enemies, but as it only increased the delay between frames it could be mistaken for an fps drop. Consider making it smoother by actually slowing everything down, not just increasing frametime.
Nice work, this game put me in a good mood! :D

CatOnMars says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:24am

HaHaHa~ Nice use of the theme,there are too many "big-data" startup these days. The gameplay is fun, innovate upon pac-man in a spherical environment. Well done!

Managore says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:47am

Wonderful style! I found it pretty hard to see enemies coming, especially at high speed, so the gameplay became fairly reaction-based.

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:54am

Really weird, I've been imagining a 3D pacman but I haven't imagined it like this :) Super super fun, nicely executed.

The connected worlds thing feels a bit bolted-on, but I'll forgive that; I love it!

Birke says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:03am

I quite enjoyed it but it lacked some challenge. Interesting look though. Could be cool to play on touch devices with swipe controls.

S0rax says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:36pm

It's a very good pacman-like in 3d. It's really funny

mcapraro says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:00pm

wow, great take on pacman, very smootha nd fast paced, great entry!

ninjascript says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:28pm

I like the creativity of the concept, though it's much harder than the original due to the difficulty of seeing the "ghosts" in time to react.

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:28pm

3D pacman <3 like the graphics...

EMAK says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:17pm

nice undate of pacworld! cool entry!

The Lag Pack says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Great game, reminded me of the hours I used to spend playing Pac-Man.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Cool game! I loved the graphics. Definitely a nice update to Pac-Man. The ghosts rarely seemed to chase me but maybe I just didn't notice. I also loved the music! Good job!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nice take on a classic. My only complaints are the difficulty, the characters getting stuck in the corners and the near-death-slowdown feeling laggy.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

sephyka says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:19am

Very good entry. Very dynamic.
It might be better also with arrows keyboard control because I have a French keyboard... impossible to play correctly.

ehtd says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:48am

Very cool game, great looking and quite enjoyable. The only thing I noticed that can be improved is that is hard to see the enemies, and they may be already on you with no escape options, because of the spherical world

Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:17pm

I get some Pac-man vibes from this. Not bad ^^.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Nice to play

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:42am

I love the concept, but the close camera angle make it hard to react, and some parts of the spheres are all in shadow / gray so you can't tell where the walls are. The slow motion is cool.

01010111 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Awesome take on pacman, love the slowdown when you're near an enemy, makes it way easier to evade. Nice work!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Super cool take! I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/hvOt_bkuFkM

mactinite says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Cool take on the Pac-man formula. Was a little confused first time through on what would kill me or not. Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]