Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trading Strategy

by Ramperkash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Trading strategy is a turn based game where you have to conquer a galaxy by establishing connections between different systems.

Friendly systems then share resources and automatically improve themselves. Systems (or groups of them) with enough military power can take over hostile connected systems.

Controls:
Click to select
Drag to connect (or disconnect)
Space to skip a turn
R to start a new game
Esc to quit

Font from: http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/amble
Sound effects: http://www.bfxr.net/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#355Theme3.52
#763Innovation2.88
#840Audio2.14
#969Mood2.45
#1055Graphics2.24
#1105Overall2.50
#1154Fun2.04
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43am

Very interesting game but after connecting some planet, as I think, I cannot do anything (except next turn)

Ramperkash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:13am

Try to connect to planets with low red bars at first, to conquer them first. You can also break connections between planets by dragging again.

technocf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:50am

I like the idea behind the game but there does not seem to be very much help and without that I'm not fully sure how to play the game.

x1212 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Nice, it just took me a while to understand what the connections do.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Interesting game. I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/WU8AB6IzBac

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29am

Good game!

I think that more instructions are needed though as far as I know the only important thing is the red upper bar and the "range" of the planet

exoticorn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:26pm

I feel that this is a very interesting idea, but the rules need to be described clearer. I couldn't really figure out how to progress in this game.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Could use some feedback and instructions. Took me a while to realise that the red ressource was what you call 'military power', and I didn't understand how the ressources are generated : they seem to be dispatched between connected planets, but never actually get produced. So I got stuck after conquering a few planets every time I played.

flap says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:15am

Hello,
That was an interresting game, and I pleased to see that you want to keep developping it.

But as most other people commenting here, the lack of info made it really difficult to understand at first. However, with some time and the help of the extra info on your website, I managed to understand most of it.

Some help for other players :
Each planet has 5 characteristics :
- Max link distance
- Military power (in red)
- Production of 3 different goods (yellow, green, purple)

There is also a global valeu for your empire : the max link number.

You own the bleu planets (2 at the beginning), and the target is to conquer the red ones.
Red planets are conquered through linking them to strong enough planets (with high red value in "ressource"), to do that you need to upgrade your planets.

(more later on production and ressources)

flap says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Production and ressources :

You progress in the game through upgrading planets. The possible upgrades for a planet are listed on the bottom part of the right panel :
For example the light blue circle is the "connection" upgrade : you need to have the number of ressources listed to the right of the symbol to upgrade. That connection while add one more possible connection, and increase the radius of connections around this planet.

The production line indicates what the planet can SHARE with other planet : the production a planet can not be used for its own upgrades.
The ressources are list what goods the planet has avaible for its own upgrades. As far as I have understood, the real important figure are the bottom dark ones : it is the number of ressources to which this planet is directly linked. When theses values are higher than the required level for an upgrade, well it upgrades.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]