Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

GET Connected

by sephyka - Jam Entry

Hi, my name is Sephy and I'm a French 2D designer (www.sephyka.com)!

This is the first time I participate to the Ludum Dare alone because my friends aren't available.

I'm not a developer, I'm so bad at using code. I'm only able to use the old ActionScript 2 language in a strange way (using only timeline, clips, gotoAndPlay/Stop and simple functions)... so I decided to design a Point and Click short hack story in a prison spaceship.

__________
THE STORY:
"Hi Commandant, you infiltrated the enemy prison ship. You can't move but you have the capacity to hack connexions. First step, get out of your cell! Be carefull."

__________
CONTROLS:
Just use your mouse.

__________
POST-COMPO:
As time lapse was very short, I also updated a post-Ludum version of the game with more contents. Stay connected!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#32Innovation(Jam)4.05
#32Humor(Jam)3.89
#54Overall(Jam)3.90
#61Graphics(Jam)4.31
#71Mood(Jam)3.83
#81Theme(Jam)3.81
#85Fun(Jam)3.62
#154Audio(Jam)3.55

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Link broken :(

TheBlade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15pm

links broken, looks interesting though from the burger pic

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16am

Pretty. UPLOAD MOAR :)

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56am

This is a cool game, well polished. I really hope you continue with it beyond the jam, I'd love to see the complete game.

nataku92 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02am

Very cool. It makes me want to play a longer version.

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05am

Pretty good entry!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13am

great one!!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:16am

it's just too short, yelling for more.

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27am

This game is so damn amazing. I had fun reading everybody's little bio / chat log. Would play a full game like this :)

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47am

Pretty awesome entry!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Really cool use of the theme and great visuals. Listening everyones conversations and jumping from place to place through them was neat. Hope you make a full, longer version of this. It ended way too early!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Really nice entry, I had some small performance issues and the game was getting out of focus but the idea is nice and execution very good. Great job :)

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Even if coding isn't your strong point, you've made a very solid game! I love the style, and even with no instructions, I quickly worked out how to play. I'll definitely play a post-jam version if you continue with this!

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:45pm

The mechanic to this game is just awesome! Animation is fab, artwork is fab. I was so into it, and I actually felt sad when I saw how short this version was! I'll be anxiously waiting for an extended release!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28am

Wow, this is really great stuff!
I played quite a way through this one and will come back later to finish it
I love the hacking
I love the cats name.. hint hint
And visually beautiful.

Great work

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:29am

to be continued..... WHAAAAAT!!!???
finish it please

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Very cool game, I loved all the details like the expedition guy! ^^
I hope you continue working on this game. :)

kill0u says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Need moar! :(

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Really fun game. Loved all the chat logs. Hope you go on to complete this :)

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:53am

"Yes I stole your potatoes, and I stole your wife too." hahaha hilarious!

Beard says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

I really liked the way you have to follow all the stories to get information that you are looking for.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:43pm

This is really polished, well done! At first a bit confused, but then realized what a nice sequence of things is set out.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:44pm

I would like to see more.

abeing says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:53pm

how do you find the first password?!?!? why are you all so intelligent and I not?

Yword says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Very interesting and intriguing gameplay! Well done!

Simon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:57pm

That's actually a very good concept and the art and sounds are gorgeous. Too bad it does not last longer :) Great job!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Definitely one of the most creative takes on the theme around, giving rather new meaning to the "connecting people" slogan. However, it took me a while to figure out how it works at all. ^^" Still, the whole system seemed pretty polished, same goes for visuals.

I'm not quite fond of language at some places, but the game itself doesn't take place in environment where everyone uses sophisticated and pure English; it's more a matter of personal preference, if anything. >.<

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Cool game. At first it felt strange, but once learnt the hacking system, the puzzles were a lot of fun. It was very short, but intense.

Mase says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:11pm

It's great that the various characters are all drawn and not just text. The characters are introduced very effectively, despite the game's short duration.

Bronson is one bad dude.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:30pm

This not only looks pretty it has interesting story and dialogue as well. I love the hacking mechanics. A very creative way of telling a story. Looking forward for the whole experience in the post ludum dare version!

doomista says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

That's the way Watch Dogs should be done!

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Wawawaw :P Loved the voyeurism in this... the dead brother in space was hilarious, and some other tidbits here and there. Excellent entry! The only thing that could be improved is sounds IMO. Mega-liked it!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:45am

A really really exceptional entry!

The time-limit was a bit imposing, and I'd have enjoyed being able to slowly plod my way through; sometimes I was just clicking in desperation and got a bit lost in my wanderings...

But what an excellent polished finished little game :)

H03N says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:46am

Awesome game! Wanna see more :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:48am

That was super cool! Really liked the hacking

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Great game. Enjoyed a lot! 5/5 definatelly.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:37am

Well polished game! Great, clean and intuitive 2D graphics! I loved the funny jokes like the guy dead in space. :) It's the the kind of game that requires concentration.

Stending says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Amazing!
One of the best entry this LD!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:47am

Short but great, well done :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Cool, another French dev ^^. I really liked your entry, it felt a bit like Ghost in the Shell, was it one of your inspirations ?

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:26pm

I think the idea is so innovative and could be expanded. Pity that it's short. Hope you plan to go for a full release version.

sephyka says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:00pm

@HIGHLY INTERACTIVE ► The game is now published.

@THE BLADE ► Burger power! :p

@PIXEL OAKS, @BUDDA, @NATAKU92, @TMPXYZ, @LVYN, @H03N, @XAYCHRU01, @KILL0U, @BLUEMAROO3, @SNEEUWPOPSNEEUW, @SIMON, @BLURRYROOTS, @WILL ADWARDS ► Thanks to all of you. True, the 'GET CONNECTED' Ludum 72h version is really too short because I was lacking time. It is my first Ludum Dare experience alone and it was very hard to do everything at the same time : graphics, code, gameplay, level-design, cinematic, user interface, sounds, music, story, debug, test, etc.
I'm currently working on a post-Ludum version with more contents and features... I would like to close the first chapter of the game : "The escape". :)

@SCPTT BAKER ► Hehe. I have to implement other characters to write other dialogs like this!

@BLINDFOX ► Thank you, this is a simple but efficient gameplay mechanic. I have so much ideas to improve it. And I spent most of my time to polish the game because I am much more a graphic designer than a developer.

@LIQUIDMINDUK ► Hehe cool. About the cat name, I hesitated between that and Schrodinger. :p

@BEARD, @YWORD ► Thank you. I did it with my available means. The game is like a mix between Point and Click, Puzzle and Investigation game. 'not very dynamic but everything takes place in your mind. :)

@DUSTY STYLUS, @THE COLOR HACKER ► Yes right, it's a bit complicated and "strange" kind of game because it is based on a lot of user interfaces. I would like to improve it by adding more explainations and feedbacks.

@DOOMISTA ► Ehe really ? I didn't play at Watch dogs at the moment, maybe one day.

@ESAYITCH ► Yes you are right. About the sounds. Flash is good to optimize them but at the end, sounds are in very low quality. And I hadn't time to compose huge musics with several samples.

@WILL ADWARDS ► Yes, thera are a lot of details hidden everywhere. I love details. :p

@ABEING ► Hehe don't be afraid, it's not you. In fact, I hadn't time to implement the first password.

@TANNER, @TMPXYZ, @JET33T ► Thank you!

@SUNFLOWER ► Thanks a lot. Wow. Yeah, "connecting people" is like the Nokia's baseline. :p
Sorry for the languages, I'm not very good at English, I'm asking friend to help me, I'm not able to write sophisticated and pure English. Then, it is a prison, a very bad environment. I think my dialogs may have been worst.

@MASE ► Yeah, Bronson is really a bad guy. :p

@ADAM THOMPSON, @ADVENTURE ISLANDS ► Yes, it was very fun to write all the conversations and biographies. I have too many ideas and themes for a full game version... even if I'm not sure I will achieve to develop a full game by myself.

@GROOVE MAN ► In fact, the Flash Action Script 2 programming language is not too bad for game prototypes; however, it's not optimal for full games, mainly because you cannot use it for other devices as mobiles and tablets...

@STENDING ► Thank you very much. I appreciate that you like the game very much.

@DICKPOELEN ► Thank you. I also really like the hacking mechanic, I have many ideas for the next gameplay features... even if I don't know if I will continue the game for a long.

@EGOR-IDIOT ► Woawawa, thank you very much. I'm very proud if you rate my Entry with 5 stars!!

@HBOCAO ► Yes you are right. I'm not able to create dynamic games, as arcade games with hits and collisions, I only used my simple skills in programming to design a good and well polished Point and Click game with the beginning of a story.

@TRAUMENDES MADCHEN ► To tell you the truth, Ghost in the Shell wasn't really my inspiration at the beginning of the project. I was more inspired by social medias.
But now it is, with little robots and other stuff. From earlier, I was walking on the street and I was thinking about Ghost in the Shell. En aparte de mon parfait frenglish, tu esdonc un designer français ? :D

@COMMODORE KID ► I'm very happy about your feedback ; you said there was a good part of innovation in my entry, this makes me feel very proud. It was not easy because, as I said, it was the first time I tried to design a game... it is already a miracle that I achieve something like that (AS2 is like a dead programming language).

Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Amazing concept and presentation. I want to play more!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:22pm

really well done, congrats on a great entry! i like the premise of hacking your way through a lot. i could see this being blown out into a bigger narrative for sure

Knowledge says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:31am

Great game.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:31pm

That's a very interesting and innovative concept! I also like the humor (that expedition joke xD).

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:56am

Wow, I loved it! It was just so short, though.

DrCicero says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Clever idea - Yes, point and click games have less programming, but there is no reason to apologize for anything. Just think of visual novels, they are games, too. :)

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:32pm

These are just about the best flash graphics I ever saw! Amazing job!

TimtheBo says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Interesting idea and well polished, this should really be continued!

Larzan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Awesome, great idea, great implementation, love it!

Dohan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:03pm

A pity the game is so short, because I was getting really hooked. The hacking mechanic is pretty cool, the art is very nice and I really like the way the story is shown.

Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Great graphics and the sounds worked well. Loved the hacking mechanic thought it was really well executed. Took me a second to realise I could hack the guard but once I noticed that it all started making sense and I enjoyed figuring out what I needed to do. Would like to see this expanded even further.

Katamori says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Original was way too short, but basically, the concept is great! I love everything related to hacing anyway.

0x0961h says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Amazing entry. I love the visuals. Top-level graphics, great job. :)

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Very interesting entry, good job. I felt the game was a bit confusing at times, but it was very cool nonetheless.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Pretty awesome game! Although you said you're not a developer, your game has a nice gameplay and it's really gorgeous. Congrats! I'll be tuned for the next updates :D

mechabit says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:18pm

This game is amazing, please finish it and put it on mobile. Not loving the time limit though, seems a bit pointless.

sephyka says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:03am

@CROCANTI DE POLLA -> Thank you. Me too, I would like to play more my own game... but I should create the rest of the story.

@MCAPRARO -> Sure. I hadn't time to expand the story during the Ludum. For a full version, I could work a bigger narration.

@KNOWLEDGE -> Thank you.

@STEVEN COLLING -> Thank you. You are not the first to speak about 'innovation'... I'm surprised because AS2 is an obsolete programming language ; but I tried to create an unusual gameplay in spite of this.

@DIETRICH EPP -> Yes, too short because too long to implement all the contents with my system of development (which isn't optimized) . As I am not a developer, I implemented element by element... it took too many time. For a full production, it would need a better dev'tools to automate most of the features.

@DR CICERA -> Thank you. In my life, I avorted more than 10 games because I hadn't good and faithful developers with me. It is the first time I try to make a full game (it is more a prototype) by myself. I'm very happy of the result.

@X-0R -> It is because I'm working in a video game studio which uses Flash a lot. I have many vector art on my website : http://www.sephyka.com/one-page-book .

@TIMTHEBO -> Thank you. I don't know if I will pursue the game. It might be a good idea.

@LARZAN -> Thank you!

@DOHAN -> Yes true. I would like to create a longer story, with more characters, more biographies, more rooms, more backgrounds on other planets. But with the lake of time, I had to make some choices: I choiced to polish the game a lot.

@FRANKLIN GHOST -> Yes, I would like the player to discover the gameplay by himself. I don't know if it's a good idea. In a second time (for the post-Ludum version), I added some tutorial feedbacks. Maybe should I add some more?

@KATAMORI -> Thank you. It is more like a well-polished prototype... impossible to finish a kind of game like that in 72h.

@0x0961h -> Thank you, I appreciate.

@MARLIJNVH -> Thank you. You are right, I think this is a very particular game, not very clever at the beginning. The player needs time to discover the gameplay mechanics.

@IGORAMENDOLA -> Thank you, it is very encouraging for me to hear that.

@MECHABIT -> Yes I would really love it. I am thinking about changing the technology because AS2 is a too obsolete language... maybe Unity but I know nothing about this software. To put the game on mobile might be great !! Or I could try a small crowdfunding campaign.

dunin says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:42am

Fun (and little pervert) game.
Good concept, maybe for a bigger game, more interactions would be fine (something like Ghost Trick)...

(et sympa la photo du bureau...)

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Nice idea.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:09pm

HI, thx for your comment. I like your game too! Graphics art great and the story is good too. The system where you hack object in chain is a very good idea. I think doing LD alone is better cause you need to be creative to do things you can't normaly do. good job.

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Wow. This is awesome! It's a shame we don't get to see any of those big robot guards! The graphical style was amazing, the audio was perfect, it was amazingly innovative, the puzzle mechanics were brilliant, and the humour was dark and twisted, just the way I like it! 5/5!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:25am

What a neat gameplay mechanic! Left me wanting to see the next exciting installment.. Top-notch graphics, great sound, funny - awesome game all around. xD

someone says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:21am

Interesting idea, Shame it is so short.

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:53pm

This was very impressive. I really want to play more! :) Can't say anything bad about it, I was hooked from the beginning. Bravo :)

InfectionTeam says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Nice mood, nice art and idea, the only thing this game need is more sound and musics, one of the best Ludum dare 30 games!

Split82 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:21pm

I love visuals and idea. Really nice!

sbarrio says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Really interesting idea!, I liked the graphics and mood of it. Would be fun to know where the rest of the story goes. Great work!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Great hacking mechanics :)

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Really a great game here. Good graphics, nice gameplay…
The only minus point: too short!
(also, sometimes, it is quite difficult to remember who's who. Maybe with different faces/clothes?)

Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:08am

That was brilliant. I hope you do continue and make a full game. It's beautiful, enigmatic and there is so much detail and humour.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:05am

"To be continued"... nice game, great graphics and interesting gameplay. A different take on the theme, well done!

brookman says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:49pm

My jaw dropped. I'm honestly impressed. So awesome!!

AkirAssasin says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Nice Watch Dogs style game!

hadesfury says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Bien joué mec !

goerp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Wow, great game. I really don't have anything bad or good to say that hasn't been said before.
Love it.

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice entry. I feel there was tad bit too much clicking around, but I have a feeling this could be developed further (which, you have already done! :). I played only LD version, not the post-combo, so here's some thoughts:


While i think the hacking mechanism was interesting way to connect the dots so to speak, it also become bit repetive. More story twists (like "dead guy in space"... that was excellent) would make the game more fun to explore.

I was wondering if there could also be some sort of limitation, to force choices (so that you couldnt just randomly click and see what happens next). For example, maybe there's a module and oxygen running low. You'd need to choose which persons to hack in order to get vital info before it's too late.

Enjoyable entry, well done.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Even though it was quite short, it was still pretty enjoyable. As @dunin already mentioned, it had a nice Ghost Trick-vibe to it, which is always a nice thing. I also liked the way you incorporated humour into your story in unexpected ways. The only problems I had was that I needed to click on the textfield in the terminal before being able to input anything in there. Also for some reason Bronson(?) didn't escape after I hacked his terminal, but only after I had also hacked mine.

TL;DR: Fun and funny game!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

rogueNoodle says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Great entry - excellent core mechanic. Disappointingly short, which oddly enough is a good thing ;)

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Very short, but great art and a very nice idea behind the game! I loved the little bit of characterization here and there. :) Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]