Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Gift Exchange

by zazery - Jam Entry

Post-Jam version: A minor combat tweak was made to made to combat to reduce enemy health and rate at which Earth is devastated. It's now actually beatable.

It's the 1950's and The Agency has just made first contact. First contact did not go well and they are launching a full scale assault. It's up to you, agent, to befriend other alien races in hopes to acquire advanced alien technology to survive the attack.

Instructions:
- Select a gift and press send gift, if you match them up with the right gift you will get a better item. Match poorly and they may turn against you.
- Clicking on aliens gives you additional text.
- Refill your earthly gifts by clicking Restock, but it costs a day to do.

HOW IT WORKS
Aliens have preferences for these attributes: military, technology, entertainment, and food. Each gift has a value for those attributes as well. Look at an alien portrait and read the text clues to figure out what to give them. Food preferences are the easiest to figure out based on the alien portraits.

In combat
- Click on Doomsday Gifts to boost Earth's stats. The better they are the longer and more powerful they are.
- Strength speeds up their destruction
- Defense slows Earth's devastation
- Culture weakens enemy morale and causes them to leave.

Programming & Balancing - Eric Raue (@ericraue)
Illustration & Concept - Fellipe Martins (@fell_martins)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Humor(Jam)3.90
#46Theme(Jam)3.95
#66Graphics(Jam)4.30
#140Innovation(Jam)3.52
#214Fun(Jam)3.33
#282Mood(Jam)3.29
#294Overall(Jam)3.35
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:08am

One thing is sure : you're game is both thematic and original. The arts helped to create a nice mood and convinced me to pay attention to dialogues. Plus the idea of giving gifts to some random aliens to gain protection is quite fun. After that the game turns quickly into a click-click, give random gift, click again, etc. If there was a specific strategy to apply, I fail to find it out. Also I'm not sure why I keep getting told 'WAIT' but it breaks a bit the game feel. Then the war begun, I used all my amazing gift to buff the earth like hell... and it was devastated xD Didn't get the hang of it was kind of fun.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:33am

I really like it but sometimes it was unclear what gift an alien want's and even then sometimes you don't have it. The combat phase was also a little unclear and by the time I was clicking on doomsday gifts the fight was pretty much over.
Otherwise I really like the art style and use of the theme. Good work.

sikosis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:27am

Very cool graphics and nice effects. Fun to play too.

zazery says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Absolutely agree we could have done a better job communicating what aliens desire. I updated the entry description with an explanation of how the underlying system works.

Also made a minor tweak (post jam version) to the combat system to actually make it beatable. Enemies deal less devastation and have slightly less (hidden) health per enemy.

Lastly I remove the Wait message, which was to prevent players from interacting before the alien dialogue sequence was finished. Clicking too fast might break things but it feels better without it.

Thanks for the feedback!

-Eric

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:29am

Very cool idea! It was really fun to play! Good job!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:59am

Love the character designs. I'm a bad gift giver it seems. Didn't take long for me to be in war with the majority of aliens. Really good game :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:18am

Good work on this one!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:22am

This is some snazzy stuff
the art was nice and smooth and the "cryptic" language was also cool

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:36am

Had difficulties seeing what they were interested in but had a great time anyway.
The art and presentation is just top notch and the idea is super original!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Funny game. I feel it would be better with some music though. What the aliens want isn't very clear so it's mostly choosing at random.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:07am

Really great. I loved the alien portraits and humor. At first it's hard to figure out what to give aliens, but it makes more sense as you play. Enjoyed it!

t4u says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Fun idea. Great graphics+ humour. It was unclear to me even if I made a good choice of gift or not. I lost combat before even I read instruction.

01101101 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:31am

Really cool idea !!! ... love this hkind of humor and ambiance. so really sad there is no sound no music no sfx ! ... it could be a great value !

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:03am

Liaising with aliens turns out to be pretty fun! The designs are all really solid, and I love the washed-out 60s tech aesthetic. I totally get why you did a rebalanced post-jam version - combat is pretty frantic and confusing at first glance.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:34am

Took me awhile to figure out I could click the aliens to get more clues. Ended up saving earth my third time around. Nice art work and the text for the aliens speaking was a nice touch.

xandy says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:07pm

very cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]