Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fender Bender

by uchiro - Jam Entry

Controls:
WASD, arrows - movement;
1/space - charge
2 - wrecking ball
3 - shield
4 - ultimate
Esc - pause/menu

//"Use gamepad" options simplifies the mechanics of controls

Cooldowns on abilities are missing, sorry.

Three worlds connected by dimensional cataclysm. Three powerful races started to fight for total domination. Choose your side an join the fight.
Killing enemies raising your level of domination. Get overwhelming level of power and you will win. Travel to your homeland to recharge your health. If you die, or your influence will drop below critical - you will loose.

Killing your faction cars is useless, but you can train a bit :)

Team "Rock it out"

Programming
Anton Tarasov
Alexander Matyunin

Music & sounds
Sergey Ikonnikov

Art
Anton Nikolayev
Nadezhda Shpileva

Game design
Anton Nikolayev


Post-jam UPD: fixed cooldowns.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#263Graphics(Jam)3.66
#337Audio(Jam)3.18
#338Fun(Jam)3.11
#430Humor(Jam)2.32
#441Overall(Jam)3.14
#483Innovation(Jam)2.86
#507Mood(Jam)2.87
#619Theme(Jam)2.48

Comments

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

if you press a direction and boost every time you pass all level

Chris Maire says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22am

I found the driving controls kinda awkward, I think it would handle better with dedicated acceleration/reverse buttons

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:59am

The boost seemed to drive the game wild and leave me uncontrollable.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19am

Hi there. Found your game difficult mainly because couldn't see what was coming up soon enough when moving fast enough to do damage. Great design and smooth movement. Good job!

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32pm

I found your game very well polished but camera really did bug me: its having hard time following the player, still a great game but you guys can improve this a lot

barleyarley says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Polished art-wise, but the controls were a little bit awkward and the skip that the camera does when you hit obstacles was very jarring. Once I understood what I was doing though I quite enjoyed it (even if the boost is maybe overpowered). Overall a great effort! : )

uchiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Thanks everyone for comments! Working on that project was really fun and we planning to finish some features, that wasn't included in present version of the game, as cooldowns on abilities and some balance with domination points. (Anton Nicolayev, artist/gd, sorry for English, not very good at it :) )

DarkUser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21pm

That was really cool. Little bit of twisted metal feel

alangamebot says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Great graphics. I really like the wrecking ball.

Vidd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:33pm

The art's good but the camera seems to have issues when you boost, making it hard to play.

booyaa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Really slick looking presentation, reminds me of what micromachines might be like on a pinball race course.

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Fun game and the graphics look great.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49pm

some realy nice game mechanics with some realy nice art.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Interesting concept, and really liked the art for the 3 cars. Well done. :)

CoolIron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

Really nice!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:26am

Others may not have cared for it, but I thought the driving mechanics were awesome. I love drifting, and I love car combat. Well done!

runvs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:17am

Hahaha, Smashing enemies with the wrecking ball feels like hammerwatch. Great mechanics plus the audio is great too!

Aevek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:22am

Cool mechanics and a great look. Had a lot of fun playing it. I ended up getting bored after about 10 minutes when I couldn't figure out what it was I was trying to do.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Rock it out FTW! Nice take on the theme, a very hectic game. Great job!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:30am

Good solid fun and great graphics! I liked the idea of traveling between worlds to destroy your enemies. Overall a well done game, but could use some more content!

Joona@MooseflyGames

ISG says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Very bad result in "audio" and I really don't understand where trouble/reasons are. I'll be glad to see & read any feedback about "What you didn't like in the music and sound effects". Thank you in advance :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]