Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ShiftKeeper

by egor-idiot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ahoya! Become Shift Keeper, the only who can overcome villainous Invaders. Survive 3 waves to win.

Use WASD to move and mouse to shoot.
Different worlds - different weapons.
So you can hold your machinegun making bullet hell,
but have to click and cast exploding magicballs.
Enjoy!

P.S. Thanks Drifter, Witchmarsh, SuperTimeforce, Broforce, Crawl, Chasm, Terraria for inspiring pixel art. And you for gaming :3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Graphics4.49
#69Theme3.99
#85Overall3.81
#104Mood3.65
#164Fun3.57
#386Humor2.62
#500Innovation3.24
#917Audio1.83

Comments

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

Ahoya! Become Shift Keeper, the only who can overcome villainous Invaders.
Use WASD to move and mouse to shoot.
Different worlds - different weapons.
Survive 3 waves to win.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Very crazy game, graphics are very nice. Just a tip, I saw that is a unity game, so try to export it to the web, so more people will want to play it.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19am

Hyoga-3D, yes, I will make it soon. I just had some sleep after ludum %)

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08pm

The concept was pretty good, and the art was quite phenomenal! However having to repeatedly click was quite annoying, and the difficulty is just too high. Would have loved to see sound to make it even better!

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:55am

Neat concept!
This contrast of different worlds is adorable. Great colours and pixel-art!

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:18am

Very nice game, I especially love the idea and the art.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I love games like this. Just waves of nasty enemies attacking from every side. And you did something very unique with it to make it fit the theme. This was insanely addicting. Too bad there's no sound whatsoever, but I still enjoyed it immensely. Couldn't make it all the way past wave 3, but I'll definitely get back to it later. Really awesome entry, man!

naksrifati says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:08pm

I like those graphics, and the dynamic. Not much of gameplay, but still an awesome game)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:53pm

This is really good. Great mood and concept.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:49am

Nice game. Very challenging. Very good graphics and theme usage. Good job with this one.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:29am

THIS IS REALLY COOL. And the graphics are neat-o! You made some crazy badass monsters for this game (my favorite is the green floaty skeletons), and you did an awesome job at turning the theme into a mechanic. Good stuff!

everystone says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:09am

Cool concept, nice art!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:10am

The way you linked this kind of gameplay with the theme is good. Pixel arts are amazingly great. I just miss a bit of sound, but into 48 hours there is not always time to do everything.

The 3rd wave is hard, I go back to play it.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:10am

Ohh damn! This is fantastic.
I love the style of the game, and smart use of the theme!

dustyroom says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Awesome game, great visual style. I wouldn't be surprised if I saw this on Steam.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:18pm

The art is mindblowing! Looks really awesome!

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Great pixel art, and art design. Good combination of the classic tower defense style gameplay with the Connected Worlds theme. Difficultly is pretty challenging.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

This is fun! Love the graphics and the use of the theme.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:21pm

I love this art style so much! The bullet hose is really fun. I died on the third wave (maybe a bit more of a ramp would be good?) but I really enjoyed playing. Very impressive for 48 hours.

KedumeBits says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Nice graphics and concept. Dificulty curve not very balanced.

01F0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Very nice work! It really has the feeling of a complete game. I hope you will make a post-compo version with music/sound. :) The graphics are great btw, really sets the mood.

Tanser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:48am

This really is one of the best games I have ever seen here! Just I was missing sounds. And this is compo?! I can't believe it!

LeafThief says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:50am

I liked this. Had good art. You probably know this yourself but I liked the right side so much more. It was stylistically (creature silhouettes) and gameplay-wise more interesting (and rapid fire felt so much better :)). So great job on the theme - because the two worlds were so tonally different and connected in a way that made sense. Good job!

Rehacked says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:48am

Good game.

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:49pm

The art is awesome, keeping everything in the dark lets fantasy kick in. Really tough in wave 3.

There's that little annoying gap in the center, where you can't shoot at.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Ohhh very nice art, man! Damn! It looks amazing! Cool concept, too. The enemies designs were pretty good too. Too bad there is no sound. Great job!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Beautiful game, one of the best looking I've played so far. Amazing job !

Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Also, one of the fastest to load for that much graphics, good job on that too, filesize matters !

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Cool game!! The art style is awesome !!

ponk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:21pm

WoOooOw...! This is super well made!
Really beautiful characters

puppymythril says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Third wave was soooooo looooong. I feel like the "connected" part of the theme could've been explored a bit further. as it is, it's more like playing two similar games at the same time, but with no real "connection" between them other than shared health.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:08am

Awesome game! Jumping from one world to the other feels really nice and natural. It becomes really hard real quick.
Graphics are awesome and the game feels really solid and polished. Music would make it perfect!

sephyka says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Graphics and mood are very very cool, 5 stars for both!
What a pity there isn't sound, it might be perfect.

BroCade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Clean and simple, a nice interpretation of the theme with STUNNING graphics! Visual your setting a great mood, would have loved to see it taken through to the sound.

Markavian says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:46am

Gorgeous pixel graphics

anserran says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:56am

Nice! The waves felt a little bit unbalanced quickly, but the gameplay was great overall. Really polished graphics and effects.

Jaloko says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Awesome pixel art, great use of the theme. On the win screen pressing 'k' didn't restart the game. Overall very enjoyable to play.

Naytron says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Great artwork, really liked the effect for the gun blasts. Ace!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Top marks for graphics, absolutely love the pixel art and especially the enemy designs. I think having audio would have helped a lot with the mood, but still a really good entry

Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Really, really nice graphics, save one thing: the enemies should be animated! The backgrounds are beautiful.

Could do with some sound too.

Found the gameplay not to be very varied. Again, sound effects could partially alleviate this problem, along with stuff like screenshake, flashing..

A little buggy though. The mouse handler seemed to prevent me from clicking the x on the tab for the game. I tried maximizing my browser, which caused me to lose some health for some reason, but then I could close the tab. After doing that, the Unity plugin crashed.

someone says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Could definitely do with sound.
Great artwork though.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Fantastic entry. Great style, art, mood and general gameplay. Loved the split screen and different attacks/time periods. Awesome job.

Lythom says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:54pm

hi there, here's some feedback about your game.

What i liked :
- Fully playble game
- pixel art and graphics special effects <3
- Controls are reacting good

What imo could be improved :
- More connections between the worlds (except the player there is no interaction between worlds. There could be alot supporting the gameplay as well, ie bullet transforming when changing worlds, ennemy influencing each other accros world (buffs ?). Deserve a real brainstorm =) )
- Add sound / music
- Add an intro

Good overall, thanks for the game !

bushmango says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Beautiful!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Awesome graphics! Cool innovation, very creative. Good job!

ClownAround says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:35am

Fantastic pixel art! Love the monster designs. I think some music would make it even better. Nice game.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:02am

I like that these two worlds have two differents moods and two differents gameplays, and graphics are superb. With sounds and music, it could be so moody !! Very good job !

Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:45pm

That's a cool entry. The use of the theme is nice and the visuals, too. An idea for a post-compo version would be to let the bullets of both characters fly into the other world and as a consequence enemies which are more vulnerable respective one type of bullet (e.g. an enemy whose shield has to be cracked with the magic bullets and then killed with the gun.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Great entry, I love tough challenges! Everything feels polished and finished, In the end I was so weakned I was terrified another boss could appear.

socks says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:43am

Wonderful art. Unfortunately pressing K to restart on the Windows version doesn't always seem to work.

pythong says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:39am

good game, sound would have been nice

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Great artwork and felt like a fresh use of the theme. Felt tricky towards the end but I managed to balance it enough to win. Good fun!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Good thing there was no sound, my mind wouldn't have been able to handle that much awesomeness at once!

Really liked the graphics and the gameplay, while pretty basic, worked nicely as I had to make some split-second decisions about when to switch worlds. Beat it on first try. Awesome job for a compo entry!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Great graphics and gameplay

Larzan says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:28am

Very good concept and theme interpretation, great gfx}

Managore says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:12am

Wow, really fantastic graphics!

ajopart says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:46am

Badass ! I only wished that the gameplay was totally different once you change dimension. Awesome graphics, the best i saw !!

mechabit says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:52am

cool game, would be cool if your bullets could travel between worlds and have different properties in each e.g. bullets arch but spells don't. also would have been cool if the dimensions moved around.

alpha_rat says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Amazing graphics and very fun to play!

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Incredible graphics and animation, lovely effects and hugely atmospheric backgrounds, a clear and well-implemented idea. Longed for sound to add that final level of polish but was rather taken with this one, I think the best gfx I've seen this LD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]