Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Keep your color

by albertnez - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi, this is my first 48 Hour entry, Keep your color.

A very simple game. You are the square on the left, and your goal is to stay in the zone that shares your color. There are two colored zones, and when they merge, you can change your color there to switch from one color zone to another.

Controls
Move: Arrow Keys UP/DOWN
Switch: Space

Made with C++ and SFML.

To compile it you need SFML 2.0 or higher.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#524Innovation3.19
#600Theme3.20
#868Overall2.89
#943Fun2.59
#1132Graphics2.06
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:33am

Can't test...why only linux build?

albertnez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26am

I've just added Windows build :)

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54pm

One has to be so careful with the edges! Cool concept.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Interesting concept, gets pretty tough a points. I enjoy this interpretation of the games theme though!

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Very cool! This reminds me alot of my game High Flyer: http://gamegrapestudios.blogspot.com
and Lilt Line by Different Cloth:
http://liltline.com/

Good job! :D

Razoric says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Cool idea, I enjoyed it. :)

Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Good entry. The collisions on the edge is maybe a little hard. But i like the game over and the 3 seconds before game start, well designed.

Simon says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Pretty cool idea but clearly not the easiest game in the world. It could have used a little difficulty progression :) Well done!

kidando says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Interesting concept. But it was hard. Great job on completing the game

Aglavra says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I liked the concept, but for me the square moves up and down too fast. It would be nice to add some rhythm to the game with some music...

silentlamb says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:45pm

I really like this concept, it's really enjoyable! I only got two minor issues with the game: if the direction change got some inertia the game would be much more fun to play. Current movement is to discreet to be fully controlled. The second issue is path generator. I got a path when there was no velvet color between red and blue and the red path got hidden and only blue path was visible. So I could do nothing. Nevertheless, the game is really fun, thanks for the entry!

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:08pm

It is nice, but the movement is hard, maybe you could set levels of difficulty and smoother movement, anyway i loved it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]