Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connector

by TeamEagle - Jam Entry

Bring the internet to everyone in the galaxy by connecting the different planets via ethernet cables. Use asteroids as forward hubs. Beware of the intergalactic turrets aiming to destroy your highway of bits and bytes, make them your own!

And most of all, complete your job within the deadline.

HOW TO PLAY
WASD - move in that direction (regardless of ship orientation)
left mouse button - fire cable
mouse - aim ship
L - restart
Escape - quit game :)

TEAM EAGLE IS
Programming - Fedor Jutte (@fejuto)
Programming - Benjamin de Jager (@m0rph3v5)
Art - Sander van Houdt (@dokonimo)
Music - Bram Stege (@fubaruba)
Sound FX - freesound.org

TOOLS
Unity
Fireworks
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#7Theme(Jam)4.35
#13Overall(Jam)4.21
#15Fun(Jam)4.13
#24Innovation(Jam)4.14
#24Graphics(Jam)4.51
#51Mood(Jam)3.92
#66Audio(Jam)3.84
#273Humor(Jam)2.68

Comments

lucienpro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34am

Wow, this was really interesting. Good take on the theme. The physics was really effective and smooth which just added to the fun exploration and the overall awesome minimalist graphics. Well Done.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16pm

I was waiting for this game! :)

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Nice game, though the gameplay was confusing at first. Loved the art!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Actually really enjoyed this one. Takes me back haha!
Great art style!

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Really fun game. The only thing that bothered me were the keyboard controls, the ship is just waaaay to fast :D
nice Graphics, nice audio, overall a very polished game.

NikB says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Being absolutely honest, I can state you have a real gem here!

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01pm

The best LD#30 game I've played so far. Great job.

The gameplay was interesting but what made the game really great was the really fun controls and amazing art. I really love how the wires looked.

Well done!

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Really great game. I liked the minimalist graphics. The sound was great as well especially the "you did it" music. :)

Robotic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Nice, the wire physics felt very good.

Andro Dars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10pm

This is excellent. Everything does what it's supposed to. If this game was a transaction, it would be a smoooothhhh one.

Shmackson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Great game all around, nice job!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Fantastic game! Liked having to figure out how to stop turrets , and the polish was on a very high level in terms of graphics, audio and gameplay!

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Great game :)
The physics gave it a really nice gameplay, being able to fling asteroids around and such.
After a while the cables got all jumbled and that was a bit annoying. The WASD to move felt a little weird at first as I was always expecting the ship to move according to it's orientation.
Radio communications on the background was a nice touch :)

zkenshin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Really loved the wire physics, and the art style. Great entry. :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Cool! I made quit a mess in outer space....

KiAn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Nice idea and physis :D

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:08pm

this is amazing loved the art and the sound!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Wow, super polished and good! Hard to get the hang of, but once you do, it's some great fun! Excellent job!

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:33pm

To be honest at first I thought this was a wonderful looking not so great game (ship was moving unrealisticly fast and I didn't know I could shoot).
Then I tried it again after reading the HOWTO and realized that this basically turned me into spiderman in space! :P
I really like the physics and the game in general.

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46pm

What a addicting game ! Great work!

Slikker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Wow this was a lot of fun to play. Great work man!

kikito says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:59pm

The best game I've played so far: nice looking, nice sound, fun, humorous, and on-theme. One small thing: Add an obvious option to exit the game! I tried all the usual invocations, I had to manually kill it!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01pm

16:15. Took me a while to get it, but got goin' fine eventually. Love the cable physics, nice simple goal and even some nifty enemies. Nice job!

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Amazing game. Really fun! This needs to be made into a mobile game I think :P

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Really enjoyed this game. The only thing I can tell is putting a button to quit or restart the game. But that's really the only bad thing I can see about the game. Great job !

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Great entry! Loved the art and rope physics.

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:57pm

100 meg, wow...
Anyways, everything about this entry feels very good. It's not very challenging, but still very fun.
You've got my fives. I can easily see this entry winning.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I really like the graphics, the atmosphere, the physics, it's a very interesting game to play. I do feel like I was sunk the first time I played, because I accidentally connected a turret to a random planet and could not get it unstuck, and it shot down any attempt I made at connecting it or the nearby planet. If there's a way to un-connect cables, I don't know about it. Otherwise, a rather nice entry!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:59pm

That was a lot of fun!
The physics and graphics really made it fun the fly around

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:20pm

awesome graphics! and interesting gameplay. good job

DrCicero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:27am

We should totally connect out solar system in real life!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:06am

This was a really good game. Nice take on the theme and well executed. Great job.

Carduus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Niiiiiice! Internet baby!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I really enjoyed this game! :D Had to repeat it once to beat it due to those damn turrets! XD Excellent game, dudes! :D

mrjohnson22 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:36pm

This is a lot of fun! It's one of those games that you can really play with, if you know what I mean. The mechanics were simple enough to be quickly understood but open-ended enough to feel fun. And the on-screen reminder that enemy ships can be hijacked is a great help; as soon as I saw a ship, I immediately thought, "Uh oh! What do I do?" followed by "Oh, okay, I better do that". It was a good decision to keep that bit of info out of the main tutorial text near the home planet.

If I have to complain about something, it'd be the difficulty: there's not much challenge to be found here. The enemy ships aren't enough of a threat due to the abundance of asteroids to repair connections with, and the time limit is so large that the game can be beaten 4-5 times in the same session.

So great concept, great execution, and great game!

Forever.derpy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Really good game, simple and fun.

Skyfish says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:18pm

wonderful art style! Simple yet effective.

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:39am

Found this one to be a lot of fun! Well done :)

Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Hey! You are on today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3kmJ2DDWPE

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:42pm

oh man.. what an awesome entry.. got sucked in and the base kick at the finish was epic.. great job guys

mechabit says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:16am

wow, love the art style and physics in this, well done!

BroCade says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:19am

Beautiful graphics, fun gameplay and good us of the theme. So well executed in such limited time, great job!

Rialgar says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:47pm

there is really nothing not to love in this game

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:47am

Wow! This is excellent game!
Like your theme interpretation and gameplay mechanics. Game needs more levels to be awesome one =)

SiMouth says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:35am

This is really great! Well done

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:44pm

From Ludum Dare 21 to 30 this has to be one of my favorite Ludum Dare games of all time! I simply love it. The artstyle is really cool, and connecting the planets is really satisfying. The enemies added enough challenge to the game for it to be not frustrating, but not too easy.

Great job! Awesome game!

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:27am

Great game! Really like the simplistic graphics and dragging everything around.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:28pm

this is one of the top games i have played in the jam, WOW! really great mechanic you have going on here, so satisfying and sort of zen too. you have a really great game on your hands here, congrats!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Absolutely beautiful game! As the artist of our game, the aesthetic the game really spoke to me. The game itself was really fun with great polish, and it was definitely such a pleasure to play! Your team did a great job! :)

psychomonster says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:33am

AMAZING ARTWORK... in caps ;) No really. Nice piece of work. Controlls are okay for me... physics are cool... nice entry!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:41pm

It's a really impressive work !
Excellent game !

MiscEtc says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:58pm

This needs to be made into a full game

Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Really nice graphics! I included it in part 27 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/DOSk1bi234E

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Excellent entry! Very thematic, nice visuals, and I liked the background sounds a lot.

Game explained me what to do. I had fun time reaching my goals. The enemies were a nice addition, exactly on the right moment.

The game did became unplayable on my computer after I connected tons of planet, framerate dropped to something very low.

I can imagine this could have tons of potential for various different things. Collecting stuff to build better shuttle. Different enemies. Planets that have different gravity. Solar storms, meteorites...

Very well done, liked a lot. I'd say one of the best entries I've played in LD30.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:59pm

This one's a 5/5 for me, beautiful game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]