Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

FlyWheel

by ColdBrain - Jam Entry

Somewhere between the Universes 4 worlds are being created over and over. And the balance should be kept. Each of four worlds has it's own pair - Fire-Water, Earth-Air. Collide worlds and keep the balance of the Universes. It can't handle more than 30 worlds - otherwise it will fall apart.
The Universes has two cycles of life:
- Fire-Water cycle when the Fire and the Water worlds are gaining momentum and it's not possible to collide them. Only the Earth and the Air worlds are collidable at that cycle
- Earth-Air cycle gives a full strength to the respective worlds and it's possible to collide only the Fire and the Water worlds.

Cycles replace each other, be prepared!

There are random fluctuations in the Universes and very rare unique Iron and Ice worlds appears. You should guide them to the ground and sink in the Fire and the Water respectively.

Controls:
Mouse only. Drag and guide a world to it's pair to collide them together. Special type worlds should be guided to the ground of a respective type.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Audio(Jam)3.96
#103Graphics(Jam)4.16
#222Mood(Jam)3.38
#278Innovation(Jam)3.21
#303Overall(Jam)3.33
#315Humor(Jam)2.56
#343Theme(Jam)3.24
#492Fun(Jam)2.84
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

good job, cool mechanics

gatinmnsok says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44am

This looks and sounds awesome. 5/5

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:13pm

I understood this game is cool as soon as I saw main menu :)

I really love art here. And music <3

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Great graphics and audio. Really interesting. Controls feel a little clunky but might just be me.

NMcCoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:53pm

I like the art, though the gameplay does get dull after a few minutes - there's no real pressure to it and it doesn't seem to escalate at all.

Nelly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Amazing "About"))

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Fantastic music!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Nice game, but I actually did not understand what I was supposed to do, I keep picking the balls and the screen turns, but don't know if it turns because of some think that I made or it turns with a timer.
The graphics were very nice, congrats.

ColdBrain says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Hyoga-3D, thanks for the review, cycles of life change each other by nature (or, technically, by timer), if you collide balls quickly enough, you spin the flywheel (and interval of the timer goes down).

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:47am

Unique! Cool implementation and calming music :)

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Nice graphics and good mood. I found the gameplay quite confusing as the instructions said to drag the balls into each other but sometimes I couldn't get them to move at all while other times I could, and I didn't understand what my goal was after dragging a few balls into each other. Still a very beautiful game and great work for just one weekend!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]