Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Neon Highway

by francoisvn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Neon Highway is a six-way connected runner. There are 6 different lanes and you control them all at the same time. Fortunately, there are powerups that can lock a lane. If you lock all the lanes you win!


[ABOUT ME]

This is my 2nd Ludum Dare, and my 1st compo (1st Ludum Dare was a jam). I am a game developer at Clockwork Acorn.

My Twitter: @francoisvn
Company Twitter: @clockworkacorn
WWW: http://clockworkacorn.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#40Innovation4.11
#73Overall3.83
#151Theme3.80
#164Fun3.57
#182Audio3.40
#264Mood3.34
#345Graphics3.45
#679Humor2.15

Comments

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34am

loved it, always wondered how a concept like this could be pulled off, and you did it real well. Kudos!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36am

This was good! I expected a bunch of games with the 'move in all the worlds at once' mechanic, but I thought this twist was clever. The execution is nice, too, with the color and music track tie-ins. I found myself kind of randomly making progress, so maybe I thought it was too easy. Won in 72 seconds!

Weaver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37am

Really tough! I like the aesthetic a lot :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38am

Very original! I like it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:42am

Nice visuals and concept. I like it.

remmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43am

really nice and original idea, looking great and it is fun to play :)

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:48am

I really enjoyed the visuals of the game, great job.

dokidoki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

It took me a few minutes, but I beat it. Awesome! My only issue was that occasionally items appeared in impossible-to-reach places. (would have to go backwards to get)

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

this was an awesome game. Really fun from an audio-visual standpoint, and really enjoyable with regards to the multitasking. The game completion felt a little arbitrary, but I had a fun time playing nonetheless.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29am

Great game! Really like this music unlocking chalenge

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03am

61 deaths but I've managed, great idea and execution, hard to stop playing :)

pythong says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36am

great game! talk about hard o.O!

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Interesting concept although it didn't work for me. I found it frustratingly hard to keep track of multiple lanes and just completed one after the other. Also I thought the music didn't quite fit to the style of the game. However I thought the visuals were really cool, especially the wave diplays on the completed games.

malf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Good game!! I have a difficult time with the controls (i was expecting left and right to be "permanent")

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:31pm

This one is innovative indeed! Great gameplay.

I would probably suggest adding some more distinctive view to locked lanes. And this game also needs some dynamic music. Rhythm is crucial here.

Namide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Very fun to play!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Really fun, challenging, cool game! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/ydSxZiryhsI

Jake Coxon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Clever game and nice graphics. I find it too hard though

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Interesting idea! It was hard to see what was happening on all the lanes, but that was kind of the point. :-) Good work!

francoisvn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Thanks for all the positive feedback everyone :)

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51pm

A cool idea, implemented well. Good aesthetic, nice sound, simple but fun gameplay.

A really nice game. Well done!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54am

Nice idea. You catch my mind and my heath with your game. Sure! I am a musician too ++

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:06am

Very fun indeed! Clever concept and nice look and feel.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

Nice game! I liked the idea of multiples lanes, I would see this as a rhythm game. ^^

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:00pm

this is too hard for me XD

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Very original! Enjoyed it a lot. Wasn't super fond of the music but the innovation in it was stellar. Nice one!

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Lovely entry. Fantastic balance, it's easy to keep one or two lanes going, but so tough to unlock all 6. Great, simple but fun ideas on how the pick-ups work.

Very elegant interpretation of the theme, brilliantly executed.

You should take this idea further! Could be some really exciting possibilities if you started pushing the concept further. If you teamed up with a composer on the music, I could really see something like this being a big hit.

Great job!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:51am

Wow, what a great game! Thanks!

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Very difficult, but I managed to win in under a minute (with 11 lives lost I think)

stvr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:49am

Really solid! I like the concept but it was super difficult to keep track of everything.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

Nice visual, also the gameplay felt very good.

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Really awesome and challenging gameplay, and a novel concept. Well done!

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

Until I understood how to play I though it was too difficult
this is pretty great

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Very nice, I wish the music had a bit more oomph though! Highscores would be great if you work on this further, I could see it being quite competitive ;)

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:52am

I can deal with two lanes but 3+ it's so hard.
Hopefully the game is well thought, and even if you lose one lane, you can still have fun, it even become a tactical point.
I liked also how music loops were connected to lanes.

guimonpa says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Insanely hard, but also fun! Love the idea.

Ixeno says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:34am

fantastic game! wow! :D

thedashdude says ...
Sep 17, 2014 @ 1:41am

Its like my game. Except better.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]