Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Portal Patrol

by Dana Alcala - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I attempted a text adventure for my first Ludum Dare entry. I wrote it completely in C#. The game is technically unfinished, but it is playable to a point and ends in a "To Be Continued".

You are a member of the Inter-Dimensional Law Enforcement Agency. You will be chasing a criminal across dimensions through portals.

Current status of game: Final entry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Humor3.11
#562Theme3.25
#721Mood2.80
#811Fun2.75
#862Overall2.90
#1062Innovation2.37
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:06pm

The idea is brilliant, but when it came to the first choice, the game exited ;d.
Waiting for the finished version ^^

Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:49pm

fcpfoof - Thanks for the feedback! I like the idea also. I hope to move forward with it. I updated the links with my final entry. However, although I put as much work into it as I could, it's still very short and ends in a "to be continued" really before the action starts. Take a peek at my code to see all the different things it allows you to do! I tried to keep it very open-ended. It's just too bad I have to submit an unfinished product; but at least it shouldn't crash on you anymore.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

I couldn't keep track of all the colored portal stuff, so when I got to the first hallway I decided to turn right and quit. :P Just kidding. I actually fumbled around with my uniform for a while, not quite sure how to "put it on", or even what that phrase means, before stumbling into the portal and dying horribly. In any case, I like the sense of humor here, and hope you continue working on the game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22am

CogentInvalid - Thank you for your feedback! Haha yeah I tried to include as many phrases as possible to leave it open-ended. A few things I forgot to include are "change clothes", "change uniform" and probably many others. If you take a look at my code, you can see all the possibilities I included.

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13am

This game brought me back to my early days of gaming. Great work on the story and tying in the theme.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32pm

I need .NET to make this work, and my computer told me to ask you for the correct version.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:23am

"The programmer of this game didn't prepare anything for: yes"
Best response to "do you have any questions" I think I've ever seen.

It wasn't necessarily bad in any way, just very short. I was expecting something along the lines of Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego, but the game stopped before it even got to that point. It was a promising start, but there just isn't enough there.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:30am

DarkCart - Sorry about that! I just checked and it says Target Framework is .NET Framework 4 Client Profile.

Empyrealhell - Yes. You are 100% correct. It's funny because my overall plan was for a Carmen San Diego ish game. I think this is a matter of me being a novice programmer with little time. Quite honestly... I hate to say it but it's also a mirror of my dedication. I will get better!

Thank you both for playing my game (or at least attempting to).

Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Great humour, loved it, a shame it was so short.

I did have a lot of fun reading through all of the potential phrases you allowed to perform actions, I'd love to play more!

Dana Alcala says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Thank you everyone for trying out my game, and also for your responses!

Note: I changed my nickname to reflect my real name. Doing a little online-identity change to have a more professional profile.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]